We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“service,information,management”
Review of Bunibon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bunibon Lodge
kuala lumpur
1 review
“service,information,management”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

i was here to stay since a month before alone and i was facing a lot of travel problem,information and the lodge provide a lot of optional and solution,and they was so kind and polite people that i never expected just pay for just a rm25 per night and i can get a perfect service and good smile face every workers,room was really clean,and the breakfast always ready early for us because that incharged person call fizzy was told me a lot of traveller cant get food early easier,morning flight problem,and he so care about us, if next time i was here kk again i will choose the same place and i was feeling hard to leave because they was take care me here.thanks again that to the boss call victor because of the hard job for management for us. :-)

Room Tip: no need to choose anyway all perfect for me ,why don't u ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jung g, General Manager at Bunibon Lodge, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate you taking time to share your feedback on the hostel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. All rooms have access to free WiFi, serving complimentary breakfast and all of our rooms comes with air condition. Also,thank you for the comments about the service from my team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team members Jane,Helen and Ros. Especially our owners of our Lodge Mr.Victor Suan.

Again, thank you for the feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Bunibon Lodge Kota Kinabalu when your next return to Sabah.

Best regards,
Fizzy Ezwan Bin Jeffery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    28
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
2
22
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and found it a very friendly and welcoming place. I met like minded people in my dorm, as well as friendly locals - namely Prince who is a star, he showed me around KK, made me being homesick and introduced me to lots of locals. The staff were all part of a family who were helpful and very generous - they helped me book tours and picked me up from the airport with a funky VW beetle. I was there for Christmas Day and was fed with barbeque and beer :) The dorm had air conditioning, comfy beds and the lounge area is very sociable and nicely set out. I would recommend this backpackers to anyone, especially single travellers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrschubby_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Hi everyone!

If you are going to KK - You have to visit BUNIBON LODGE! It's the best place to stay. Very clean, nice tv-lounge area, the best STAFF. Staff are really helpful and friendly (PRINCE is the best - actually like a PRINCE - ask for him!!) You can rent motorbikes here (one of only two places in all sabah) very pleasant stay, we been here twice and if we are coming back to KK, we will of course come back to BUNIBON LODGE! they care about every single guest and they make you feel like at home at BUNIBON LODGE.

WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOSTEL!!!!!!!! WE <3 BUNIBON !!!!!! So nice place to stay! Victor and Josephine (the owners) have done such a good job with this hostel... High five!!!!!

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter - but the dorms is sooo good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank p0ttel0tte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. Genis Pouilly
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The dorm room is clean, but very small. The room on the side of lounge can be noisy when there is a party at night.
I took10 days, all include private tour, with their tour guide, Putra. Very bad organization, nothing is prepared in advance (The car was brokend 3 times on the way to Sandaken). Never follow the travel plan that he proposed me, Always skip my lunch or tell me that the meal is not included in the tour just before I eat. Always find excuses to leave me alone or drop me to other person, just for not doing his job.
The worst is the last 3 days, he told me that the camping is cancelled just 10 min. before leaving. and kind of forcing me to accept another home stay plan (as I didn't have other choices). At the end of these 3 days, the driver and the homestay family claimed money to me. Hoever, I had already paid the total somme to Putra!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiun17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Staff are really helpful and friendly, rooms are nice and cheap. They threw a party for the guests on xmas day. Had a great time here. Would definitely recommend it and would probably stay here again, great value for money!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thecarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

good value for money. rooms are clean, beds and breakfast like all over malaysia. cozy lounge with tv. wifi is very good.
big PLUS: the stuff! if u have any questions or need to organize something: they will help u and let u experience the real sabah! they also offer trips kinabatangan for rainforest experience, to sepilok orang utan sanctuary and trips to the mount kinabalu nationalpark. their tourguide putra is very competent, no question about sabah and its wildlife he couldn't answer.
victor and josephine care about every single guest and they make u feel like at home at bunibon!
I highly recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank julizz1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

BUNIBON LODGE was a very good hostel to stay(budget stay). It very cheap!!,
awesome staff(very kind and friendly),the most i like about BUNIBON LODGE are the lounge and kitchen(you can cook also the rest area very wide).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CoCoAdvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#17 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Borneo Backpackers
Borneo Backpackers
#17 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bunk Gaya Street
The Bunk Gaya Street
#15 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#3 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
#20 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.4 mi away
D' Beach Street Lodge
D' Beach Street Lodge
#29 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunibon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunibon Lodge

Property: Bunibon Lodge
Address: Lot 21 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bunibon Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Started by 2 pairs of couple... Victor Suan and Josephen.. and Petronella Suan and Nenad Zrnic... together this Lodge happen and the birth of this Lodge was then named .. Bunibon .. a combination of Nick Names of Vic and Jo's children.. Bubu Nia and Bonbon.. this idea was from Nenad. Bunibon Lodge is located right in the heart of Kota Kinabalu City (on the Island of Borneo, Sabah, Malaysia). It is surrounded by other backpackers lodge, automatically puts it in the backpackers lodging "HOTSPOT" A stone throw away is the famous Atkinson Clock Tower. Built in 1903, this all-wood, no-nails structure was built in memory of Francis George Atkinson, the First District Officer of Jesselton during the British North Borneo Chartered Company Administration, who had succumbed to a tropical disease at the young age of 28. While staying in Kota Kinabalu City, a short hike to Signal Hill is not to be missed. It gives you the best view of Kota Kinabalu City. Photos of sunsets and Bright lights in the night often comes out splendid. If you are somebody who is in touch with nature, Jesselton Point which is 10 minutes walk away offers you boat services to go our nearby islands, mainly Gaya, Sapi, Manukan and Mamutik. It would only take about 10 minutes to reach any of these islands.Bunibon lodge not only accommodate you with affordable price but we also provide you with transportation and guidance to assist you during your stay in Kota Kinabalu City. Feel free to liase with our receptionist for car rental or tours.All rooms are fully air-conditioned, we basically have dorm and private room. Come and stay with us!! Luxury in a small scale... :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bunibon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunibon Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing