We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WORST!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel
Ranked #31 of 78 Kota Kinabalu B&B and Inns
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
“WORST!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

i just back from this hotel and what i can said is this hotel is very worst!

the lift can't effort to handle 4 person,somehow the lift has a sign with "680 Kg"
the lift is very creepy,few fingerprints on the mirror like there are nobody clean it before.
the lift need some lube,not smooth..

i wonder it there are any janitor works at this hotel? nobody clean the plates and the glasses at the lounge..

the light is flashing makes this hotel even creepy and i thought this hotel is haunted..

no hair dryer,no water in my room,no free wifi,the price is not reasonable..
i found few hair strands on the drainage hole,the bed sheet with hole!
blood spots on the wall! dirty pillow! and there are nails on the carpet!

slow room service..one word "worst"..

Good outside and bad inside. will never stay at this hotel anymore..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley8185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    33
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
20
23
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kangaroo Island, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

For the price, this hotel is fantastic. First I hated staying in downtown KK. Too hot, noisy and congested and expensive. Here you catch the breezes from Tanjong Aru Beach within 4 minutes walking distance and on the other side, is the open air entertainment area set on a lagoon where music is played at night and people come to enjoy themselves on weekends. Either way you can watch the sun go down and the moon come up at the same time. There are eateries and bars all round. The hotel is quiet and peaceful. We asked for a quiet room facing the trees and this was cool and pleasant. Best thing ever, this hotel has balconies. OK so the corridor and lift carpets are in sore need of repair or relay but there was no smell apart from the ubiquitous tobacco smoke . breakfast was "american" and adequate. Meals are cheap in the hotel eatery.
As far as refurbishment of rooms, we found are room freshly painted, with newish looking decor and furniture, the bathroom passable and the carpet only a little stained - not that bad!! Free transport to the airport is an added bonus.

Room Tip: Tree view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NibbanAh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Value for the money, grey for backpackers... Clean enough. The hotel is pretty old and the building and the rooms definitively need to be refurbished but this is discounted on the price and you pay almost nothing but stay at a decent place. Free transport to the airport and beach nearby. Suggested to backpackers and similar... It is 20 ringgit of cub far from the centre though.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donpanzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

It could be a nice hotel if only they changed the following :
1. Terrible STAFF - all of staff members were very unpleasant , never smiling , we always felt like they were doing us a favor being there / answering questions / serving breakfast or lunch
2. Rooms itself are quite ok , but cleaning standard is very poor + our room had very strong cigarette smell
3. We've seen dirty plates / glasses sitting next to the elevator door for three days ( !!!!) It was over 30 degrees celcius , so the smell was horrible ....

It is a real shame for owner / management of this hotel, as it is a nice building in a good location .... I think if they changed staff + cleaning standard it could become a nice place to stay

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pekinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.2 mi away
Asiana Hotel
Asiana Hotel
#40 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.6 mi away
Megah D'Aru Hotel
Megah D'Aru Hotel
#33 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crown Borneo Hotel
The Crown Borneo Hotel
#70 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Zara's Boutique Hotel
Zara's Boutique Hotel
#45 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
3.8 mi away
Putatan Platinum Hotel
Putatan Platinum Hotel
#2 of 2 in Putatan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.6 mi away
Goldenhill Hotel
Goldenhill Hotel
#10 of 78 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel

Property: Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel
Address: Lorong Ikan Lais | Jalan Mat Salleh, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing