We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow what a selection”
Review of Ocean Seafood Village - CLOSED

Ocean Seafood Village
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“wow what a selection”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you like your seafood up close and personal then this is the place for you. There are rows and rows of tnks with live seafood and yiu just point to what you want, they weigh it, give yiu the price and then cook it however you want. For the not so brave, they do great chicken dumplings as well

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Agentwookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    55
    22
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Good food. So less assistant.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Food was great but quite hard to order because they did not give a menu. Besides there were few crews working there compared to quantity of customers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Freemolecricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Food but on the Pricey side”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Have a large selection of 'Live' seafood. This restaurant is patronized by tourists or locals entertaining clients as it is considered 'pricey' by local standard. No doubt the quality of food served at this restaurant is excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great seafood, good ambiance.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I read the other reviews after I had been to ocean seafood and I'm somewhat confused. I found the place to be quite reasonably priced (except the wine- but that is understandable), and my parents and I were the only westerners and surrounded by what I thought to be locals.

It is a little odd that you go up and the 'captain' takes you to select your seafood and ask how you like it prepared.

The food was so fresh and delicious I was sad to be going there on our last night!

I would definitely go back there and recommend it to my friends. I don't know what others are whinging about.

A good tip- send back the nuts and other goodies they bring to the table when you sit down. I've been stung by this before in Singapore, they will add them to the bill and usually at exorbitant prices!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brest
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good sea food but expensive”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The location is nice, the service is in the average.
The seafood are very fresh ans tasty but the price is very high.
Better to eat the chinese food and try the seafood in another place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank peronma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Seafood Village also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing