We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Ocean Seafood Village - CLOSED

Ocean Seafood Village
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Brilliant, fresh, cooked to our liking, lobster overpriced but barbed swordfish and butter king prawns outstanding, washed down with beer...perfect

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrsK121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    55
    22
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We went here not sure how good the meal was going to be based on the last few reviews. I must say it was excellent. The black pepper crab brought back memories of the same dish in the Red House East Coast Highway in Singapore - it was very very good, We had prawns with butter sauce and with garlic both were excellent. Slipper lobster in salt and pepper was lovely too. They have a lovely 'green bean' dish that is a Malaysian version called Sabah Vegetable well worth trying. Our meal for two with beer came to RM325 which is propbly our most expensive meal in Malaysia (photo of bill breakdown attached) however when you have lobster, huge prawns and Australian crab all on the same bill you cannot expect it to be cheap. We will go back again tonight. The selection of fish and shell fish is huge and you pick your own and it is lifted out in front of you so you know what you are eating. We were the only expats eating there. Staff were frendly and took time to give advice and went out on to the road to call us down a taxi.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EddieOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood with wide variety”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Love the variety of fresh seafood. Price is a bit more steep than other restaurants in the area. Service was rather good. The place is clean and is cool. Perfect place for an enjoyable seafood dinner!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Purplicious_sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“seafood of the havean”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

heard there is good seafood restaurant in ocean seafood village, named suang tain seafood rest. we ordered lobster, crabs and clams, very delicious, and cheap compares to singapore. in this village, there serveal restaurants, suang tian is the biggest, recommand you to try. other restaurants perhaps good too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetripthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“best ever aquarium”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

i luv their aquarium. i luv the way they cook. spacious.

my 6 year old niece from Australia luved watching the fishes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vivienateng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Seafood Village also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing