We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing amazing amazing! ”
Review of Masada Backpacker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Masada Backpacker
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing amazing amazing! ”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

This place is so lovely feels like home away from home. The rooms are all spotless as are the bathrooms (we stayed in the double room.) The breakfast is basic toast and cereal as is standard for most hostels in Malaysia, but they do offer free milo and coffee all day from real machines! Bonus!
Excellent value for money.
The staff are all wonderful and so friendly.
My only complaint is that they didn't have any rooms left for us in 2 weeks time when we return to Kota Kinabalu! :(

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nayohmyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    81
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
72
109
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The staff here is nice~
And the refreshment corner is highly appreciate~!!

The bed is clean and nice,
which made me always stay on bed~!

However,
it is a little bit noisy~
May be disturbing to someone who would like to have a quite environment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wing1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed a few days in a private room. It was definetely good, although the room didn't have a window that looks outside, the room was nice and clean with a good airco and good beds
The guys and girls at the reception were helpfull and showed good hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kees v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I chose this place on it's ratings and was not dissapointed. The staff are all excellent and the coffee is real coffee and all day. The facilities are superb and clean, one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at.
Part of the hostel experience is the atmosphere and this venue attracts the informed so it sparkles.
Good design and good staff make for a great hostel.
Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: I was in a dorm and the whole place will not dissapoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hostel is really good value for the money. Both dorms and private rooms are spacious and clean. They have good breakfast included and the staff is very helpful. They can recommend trips and will help you with any questions you might have.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 399Tamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed in Masada for 5 nights with my friends (we picked 3 beds in male dorm and 2 beds in female dorm). Heard that the male dorm is bit small while the female dorm is spacious enough.

Apart from lockers, there are also shelves for backpacks that you can put your bathing kit and sports accessories etc. on it without bothering the locker all the time. The bed is really comfy (with 2 pillows!!) and the staff changed the bedsheets everyday! However if you sleep on bunk beds you have to expect the very little sound produced when someone tosses on his/her bed. Will also be great if there can be a small bedlight on every bedside.

The common area is very homey, though stuffy sometimes (as both of the 2 air-conditioners are installed on the dinning area and reception side). Love the breakfast provided - bananas, bread, butter, jam, milk, cereal plus toaster, coffee machine and A MILO MACHINE! All-day coffee and Milo for free. :D

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Atmosphere here is also good, guests will hang around together and share useful experience. Soundproof here is not that good but guests are considerate to keep their voice down at night.

KK City is actually really small so I'm absolutely fine with Masada's location - just a couple of minutes walk you will be in the Waterfront, Asia City, Gaya Street or the Jesselton Pier. There are KFC (24h), MarryBrown (another fast food shop, tastes nice too, closes at 1am), 7-11, Orange (another 24h convenient store). Easy access to everything.

No complaints at all, except that some guests forgot to/didn't take off their shoes/sandals and the staff was not aware of it. The floor was very clean but when we saw people walking around with their shoes on, we doubted if we should put on ours too... :(

Room Tip: If you wanna avoid the tossing sound of bunk beds, choose the 3-bed female dorm or the mixed dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Pound for pound possibly the best hostel I've ever stayed in.

Some quick hits:
-Excellent location right near restaurants and the minibus station which can take you all over from the Tips of Borneo area to Kinabalu Park.
-A fantastic, real coffee machine that is free to use and requires you to simply put your cup underneath and press a button. Lifesaver. Oh, and real milk in the fridge. Also a Milo machine.
-A more genuine breakfast than most hostels offer with some cold cereals, toast, REAL jam (not sugary jelly with no fruit), etc.
-Cheap beer and other drinks.
-Purified water dispenser.
-More than enough hot showers so you never have to wait around.
-Very clean and comfortable, convenient outlets for electronics and large cubby holes for big bags.
-Great AC.
-Quiet.
-Good, knowledgeable, and friendly staff.

Quite honestly, I am more inclined to go back to KK because of this place. I already loved Sabah and the people there seem a lot happier than West Malaysia but Masada provides the perfect spot to rest your head while there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dljonesaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masada Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masada Backpacker

Property: Masada Backpacker
Address: Ground & 1st Floor, Lot 9, Jalan Masjid | Mosque Valley, Kota Kinabalu 88800, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Masada Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masada Backpacker Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Masada Backpacker Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing