We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two pillows per bunk. amazing.”
Review of Masada Backpacker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Masada Backpacker
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

spacious and cozy. stayed in a dorm room for the first half and really enjoyed the beds. there's also private lockers provided, and the front desk has battery adapters to loan for free. the bathrooms are out back, but there are enough showers that i never had to wait for one. pretty awesome for all the mt. kinabalu hikers passing through! stayed in a private twin room for the second half, which was much closer to the bathrooms. sometimes we could hear people walking by or speaking, but the walls weren't so thin that it was a huge bother.

there's food around the clock - bread and jam and usually fruit! the crowd that comes here is amazeballs; we met several people from taiwan and had dinner with some others, and it was cool to swap stories or advice about the mt. k hike.

oh and the hostel lets you store your luggage there while you're off hiking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 332 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

I don't know why but this place was comfortable to stay . During my stay I met many friendly backpackers here. When I climbed the mountain I didn't stay this hotel but I could keep my
luggage here. Staff are kind and helpful and price is reasonable. If I came K.K again I would select this hotel. I'm really satisfied with my staying here. Thanks so much!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cokomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and we were in room 6 both times (private twin). Unfortunately the room had no soundproofing at all and you could hear every noise from the busy street and hostel as well as everyone taking a shower. Really let down what was an otherwise great place.

Breakfast was good and the coffee machine a real treat. Also the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADS20092009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Spent 3 nights here and loved the place. Didn't feel like a backpackers at all but rather a 5 star hotel!. I stayed in a 3 person dorm and shared with one other girl. There are small lockers in the room to store your valuables, racks to hang your cloths, plenty of space for your pack, air-conditioning and kind-sized single beds (not bunks) with 2 pillows! Never have I slept so comfortably.
The communal area comes equipped with foxtel, comfortable lounges and real coffee maker, drinking water and other various treats and snacks they put out on the table for the guests to enjoy.
Bathroom is large and plentiful with an area to hang your belongings without them getting wet. Also shampoo and shower gel is provided.
Staff are friendly and provided me with a map on arrival. There is a cheap place to do your laundry called "mega laundry' located a short walk (near the Kampung Air). It is cheaper to get it done by the kilo (must be 2+ kg) rather than individual items so this is a great place to take all your muddy jungle gear you have been trekking with. Its also walking distance to Gaya street and Warrison Sq. Ticked all the boxes for me, initially I did think it was a tad expensive, but for what you get I think it is worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zeg81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The place is quite clean and the location great (minbus for mount kinabalu just around the corner; restaurants, atms and convenience stores within short walking distance); but at least the double rooms are too small, have no windows and are (compared to other places in KK) overpriced. Furthermore, the common area is rather small and the included breakfast consists of toast and jam (good thing is, that you can eat it all day long, without time limit)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at Masada backpackers. Everything you need. Most importantly, as a female I felt safe and secure. No sleaze, just genuine, kind people. Breakfast available 24/7, clean bathrooms. Walking distance to everywhere you might need. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Su M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We spent five nights over two visits (before and after some tours) and found this place to be comfortable and welcoming. We had a private twin room the first time, and the private double the second stay and preferred the double room with queen bed. It has a nice common area with comfy couches and a large flat screen TV with English programs. There is an excellent espresso coffee machine that is available anytime, along with tea, biscuits, and bananas. Breakfast is included, but is the basic white bread, toast, and bananas that is typical in Malaysia. Location is good, with lots of restaurants and shopping and the waterfront within a ten minute walk. Bathrooms are all shared. Some showers are separate from the toilets and are quite spacious. Good water pressure and lots of hot water. The staff are very helpful in organizing tours, etc. We enjoyed our stay, and would stay again.

Check out our travel blog for more info:
http://www.chrisandchrisbreakfree.com/2012/11/15/shop-and-eating-our-way-through-malaysia/

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristinaAndChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
729 reviews
0.8 mi away
SKYPOD Hostel
SKYPOD Hostel
#1 of 110 in Kota Kinabalu
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#7 of 110 in Kota Kinabalu
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
PODs The Backpackers Home
PODs The Backpackers Home
#6 of 110 in Kota Kinabalu
118 reviews
3.2 mi away
B&B@21
B&B@21
#3 of 110 in Kota Kinabalu
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masada Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masada Backpacker

Address: Ground & 1st Floor, Lot 9, Jalan Masjid | Mosque Valley, Kota Kinabalu 88800, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $15 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Masada Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masada Backpacker Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Masada Backpacker Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing