We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly”
Review of Masada Backpacker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Masada Backpacker
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Clean and Friendly”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This place has a really good location, it's friendly and inviting with really helpful staff. Storage facility for all your gear and a really quaint social area which is wonderful in the rain.
We stayed in two different rooms during our mammoth stay in Borneo and both rooms were clean and comfortable. There's also good wi-fi and a pretty decent breakfast. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I_am_de_La_Condamine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    79
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
72
108
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good location = quiet street but walking distance to night markets. nice communal area [bit brightly lit!] and really clean. My only complaint would be that the walls are super thin and you are disturbed by late-nighters and early-risers off to walk up the mountain.

Room Tip: I had a double room off the main lounge area - noisy but like a hotel room with bedside lamps for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnelynnelynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place is perfect! Very good beds and the bathroom and toilets are clean. The staff is friendly to help and answer your questions. The best hostel I stayed so far, it's more like a hotel with the hostel prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place is wonderful. Kota Kinabalu is not my favorite city but this hostel gives you the warm and friendly feeling a real traveler needs.
The beds are like 4 star hotel beds and they even make up the sheeds every day.
Shower are basic but very clean.
staff is extreme helpfull.

if you want to make your stay in KK a good one, book a dormroom (or private) at Masada Backpacker in KK!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reijemtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Lots of praise for this hostel very clean and friendly and very nice rooms .the owners are extremely kind. When I arrived I was quite unwell and Peter and his staff were so kind. He picked me up from the airport and took me on a tour of Kota Kinabalu and even went out of his way to get up at 5am in the morning to take me to the airport fro a flight to Sandakan. This hostel is very clean and close to everything you need. Loved the all day breakfast especially the bananas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sueriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here twice and both times it was a pleasant experience. Dorm beds are cheap and comfortable, although just off the common area so can be a bit loud (though it's a quiet hostel overall.) Private rooms are very nice and large. Staff are very helpful and there's free wifi and treats to snack on all day!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sha43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

At first was a bit hesitant when they say shared bathrooms on the website.. Well they proved me wrong. Best hostel I've ever stayed. On the second day of my stay there was shocked when I came back to my room as they've cleaned my messy room (now that was embarrassing). Most of the hostels I've been never provide housekeeping! Location is superb and the fact that I can have my breakfast anytime is really convenient. Two thumbs up for Masada! Would definitely recommend to friends/ relatives.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank milaliyana87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masada Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masada Backpacker

Property: Masada Backpacker
Address: Ground & 1st Floor, Lot 9, Jalan Masjid | Mosque Valley, Kota Kinabalu 88800, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Masada Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masada Backpacker Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Masada Backpacker Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing