We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Villa from Air
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa from Air
Villa at Dusk Front of Villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Villa from Air
Villa at Dusk
Front of Villa
Pool from Gazebo
Pool 4
Pool
Pool 2
Entrance Hall
Living Area Downstairs
Living Area Upstairs
Living Area Mezzanine
Bedroom 2
Bedroom Master
Kitchen
Dining Area 2
Dining Area
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
Pool and Entrance Hall at Night
BBQ and Dining Gazebos
Sea from Upstairs Living Area
Pool 3
Villa and Beach from Air
Coastline
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District, West Coast Division, Sabah

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
clareafha...
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just got back from a 10 day stay at the lovely Hibiscus villa with our 5 children and can't rate it highly enough. Having spent 4 nights in the jungle at Sandakan, we were looking forward to some down time. The villa is lovely and well worth the drive from Kota Kinabalu airport (approx 3 hours). We were greeted at the door of this very impressive and beautiful villa by James and his lovely staff and things just got better and better. The villa is set in a lovely part of Borneo - 3 mins walk to a white sand beach and snorkelling. Unfortunately, the sea was a bit too choppy to snorkel off the beach while we were there, but James organised 2 very good snorkelling day trips for us which were not that expensive and we saw some amazing sea life. There is no wifi at the villa, but that can easily be remedied by a quick visit to Tommy's bar (3 min drive). I wondered if the children (24-9) would feel bereft, but there was so much to see and do, they just got on with it and Tommy's was our go to first drink every night, which kept everyone happy. The staff were the perfect combination of being in and around, without being intrusive and the 3 girls cooked lovely breakfasts every morning even coming in early on the two days we went on the snorkelling trips. Joe was on hand to answer any questions we had and James was always on the end of the phone to organise anything we needed, shopping, day's out etc. We ate in a couple of nights with the Chef (very good food Steamboat recommended) and also drove up the road to Tip Top restaurant. Puddings! All in all we had an amazing time here.

Date of stay: August 2016
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
681lukej
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Secluded and relaxing”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in Hibiscus Villa with ours and one other family (8 people). It is a beautiful and secluded location just near the tip of Borneo. The house is massive with plenty of places to sit and relax. There is no phone or Internet reception in the house and I personally found that fantastic (you could get reception close by if required). The staff do a great job and aren't intrusive at all. We got Chef J in on 2 occasions but there are also good places to eat nearby as well. You can be as adventurous as you like or just sit around and relax. This is a fantastic place to recharge your batteries!

Date of stay: July 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBC6
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed here with some of our visiting family from the UK and had such a fantastic weekend. The villa is absolute luxury and set in the most wonderful spot just back from the beach, which is easily accessible via a private path. The beach itself is very quiet but you can walk to a local beach-side cafe and the very cool La Playa beach bar, which are both just around the bend on the left. From the villa, there is a lovely view of palm trees and blue ocean (including from 2 of the bedrooms). There were plenty of sun loungers in the gardens and books available to borrow. There were helpful and friendly staff on hand who prepared breakfast for us each morning, and we also made use of the private chef who cooked us a delicious BBQ meal. There was ample space for our group, inside and outside and we all had the most perfect weekend. We will definitely be returning in the future.

Date of stay: June 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2016
Thanks for the review Sam - I'm glad you and your family had a great weekend and I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulrusse...
Kota Kinabalu
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unspoilt Peaceful Luxury at the northernmost tip of Borneo”
Reviewed March 22, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed with my wife and 2 sons (aged 7 and 10) and had a fantastic peaceful experience. This is a special location at the northern tip of Borneo which we drove to easily on good roads in under 3 hours from Kota Kinabalu enjoying the scenery along the way.
The communication and overall management by the British owner was easy, quick, professional and personalised, much nicer than dealing with a large company. Not being in a over-busy tourist area (a very good thing for us) and having kids, we asked lots of questions beforehand and listened to the owner and took all his advice/recommendations. We took advantage of both the pre-shopping service for food and drink (to make life easy with the kids) and decided to use the private chef who came into the villa to cook for us using locally sourced super fresh ingredients (a real treat having a private chef). Villa space was large, spacious and airy, bedrooms were cool, well air-conditioned with comfortable big beds to sleep deeply.
Would recommend this for a peaceful quiet space to relax and recharge and explore the local area/culture. My boys were kept occupied with the amazing large t-shaped infinity pool that comes into the main reception area whilst adults relaxed on comfy daybeds in the gazebo overlooking the pool and gardens. Boys had lots of TV channels and DVD player when they were tired from playing. We walked down to the beach in front of the property (effectively a private bay as we saw no-one else on it and all swam in the sea.
In the evenings sunsets were stunning (from the beach or from the 1st floor lounge area especially) and because of little light pollution the stars came out very brightly.
Staff at the villa were very helpful and friendly, with lots of staff to look after the villa quietly without disturbing our holiday (housekeeping, maintenance and access). The British villa manager was always easily contactable, but all our questions had already been answered really before we arrived and from the photos/website/reviews etc.
We drove up to small local cafes at the northernmost tip of Borneo a short distance from the villa. Bikes and paddleboards were available.
Hope we have the opportunity to repeat this experience in the future to switch off and have a real holiday. Would recommend visiting this special private peaceful place before too many others do! Thank you from myself, wife and boys

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and Private Luxury
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper K
1 review
“Most Amazing Family Vacation”
Reviewed March 17, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This Villa is like a Palace. Super friendly and helpful staff. My family really loves the T shape large pool, we spend way too much time in it in the evening. Superb beach and interesting jungle too. James the host was really helpful, especially doing our shopping for our barbeque including my favourite chashu pork. Staff were great, just the right balance of help and privacy with perfect breakfast for us and chef when we used him was great too. We'll be back next year for sure.

Date of stay: March 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorovaAn...
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Budapesr, Hungary”
Reviewed March 8, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We stayd for 8 night in Villa Hibiscus (Tip of Borneo).
Based on website and comments we had expected a 5 star butik hotel. We have been disappointed : the view and the villa itself is beautiful, but the promissed service is almost complitelly missing. The stuff is helpful, but undertrained. Their job is just to sweep out the million of bugs from the villa. They don't change towels, just on special request, they don't clean the saniters. They have to prepare the breakfast, but they can't cook ( my husband made the egg-meals ). The owner, James met us once and explained the rules. We were not told that no one normal shop is available in this area. So we had no chance to get cold cuts, sausage, cheese, joghurt or anything else you used to have for breakfast.
The only 5 star service we got from the owner of a restaurant located nearby the villa, who came twice a day and carried the well done local food. The stuff went home at 5 pm and after that time we had had full selfservice.
James hadn't called us at all...
The beach is great, but ther is plenty of sand flies. Their bites are terrible. Although James had mentioned these insects, no any protection rules or medicines were stored in the villa as it use to be in tropical hotels.
So we suggest to everybody who likse real luxury to buy all the necessary items in Kota Kinabalu.
In summary : we dont't want to blame the stuff, the owner must train them after he aknowledged the 5 star service e.g. of Elite Havens villa-chain.

Date of stay: March 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“True Malaysian unspoilt paradise hidden away on the tip of Borneo”
Reviewed January 2, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

What a treat to only have to make a relatively short and rather pleasant 3 hour drive outside of the city of Kota Kinabalu and actually find paradise instead of having to step on a plane and fly for several hours in order to discover it.
The photos of Hibiscus villa do the place justice in that it is indeed stylishly furnished, well appointed with a fabulous pool and truly spacious enough to allow guests and staff space to find peace and quiet without feeling any intrusion.
However what truly makes the villa paradise is of course the location, Kudat, the tip of Borneo. The accommodation is nestled amongst the rainforest trees just steps away from one of the most beautiful beaches you are likely to find in Malaysia. Crystal clear waters, white sandy beach, amazing snorkelling and not a soul around to disturb the feeling of privacy and exclusivity, except perhaps the odd crab or two, or a local fisherman.
Unspoilt, undeveloped with no fancy resorts or high end restaurants is what makes the place feel special and true. It is a real gem and I do hope it remains fairly well undiscovered.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The day bed next to the pool
Liked least: The Borneo sandflies
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2016
Hi Cindy, I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you again in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing