We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The incarnation of serenity”
other travelers have booked this property
Villa from Air
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa from Air
Villa at Dusk Front of Villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Villa from Air
Villa at Dusk
Front of Villa
Pool from Gazebo
Pool 4
Pool
Pool 2
Entrance Hall
Living Area Downstairs
Living Area Upstairs
Living Area Mezzanine
Bedroom 2
Bedroom Master
Kitchen
Dining Area 2
Dining Area
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
Pool and Entrance Hall at Night
BBQ and Dining Gazebos
Sea from Upstairs Living Area
Pool 3
Villa and Beach from Air
Coastline
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District, West Coast Division, Sabah

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
moleps
kenya
2 reviews
“The incarnation of serenity”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our family of five arrived after driving up from KK. Despite lacking GPS and maps we found the place quite easy. The place is just absolutely stunning - the view from the pool, the interior of the house, the beach - just about everything was perfect. We were fortunate enough to experience blue skies and sunny days during our entire stay. The beach was wonderful, however the coral was not at its best when we visited. I can only think of one minor disappointment of the estate - the mosquitos (though we had forgotten repellents which probably would have helped). Also, we found the unconnectedness of the place with regards to both wifi and cell-phones very relaxing.
All in all - a fantastic stay and whole-heartedly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Serene environment without wifi our phone
Liked least: Mosquitos
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlMcDermo...
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa with stunning views in a peaceful location”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The villa is even better in real life than the pictures. The view across the gardens to the sea is beautiful and the sunsets are to die for. A very peaceful and tranquil location. We loved the infinity pool. The breakfast served each day was great and all of the staff were kind and spoke decent English. The host James could not have been more helpful and made us all feel very welcome. The local area is underdeveloped, but there is a lovely beach bar and an internet café in close proximity. Hire a car to explore the Northernmost Tip of Borneo , or just enjoy the villa and its lush surroundings. The beach is walking distance and pretty much private. Safe and clean for children with good snorkeling. Overall, a lovely place to stay. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, views, tranquility, service
Liked least: Lack of wifi - but also a blessing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffobi
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“WOW photos don't do it justice :)”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in the Villa for two nights. James and team were awesome and let us have a super late check out.

The Villa is amazing.. everything about it is luxurious. We had pretty average weather, however as the villa has so many entertaining areas we were not phased and enjoyed the sunshine when it poked its head out briefly.

Staff were are great and friendly, James, Joe & team organised a massuse to come in for a day to massage our sore legs from the hike. Chef was amazing too!!

Would highly recommend!!!

P.S. Hire a car to get there, the drive was super easy and we did a couple of quick trips to the tip of borneo and the town.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ywan C
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kudat at its best”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

It really is a lovely lovely villa, and the whole thing just comes together so nicely with bike rides, some watersports, some swimming, a dinner party, some music etc.

The villa is magic. The staff, and management are spot on. Thank you James and all, it was a wonderful stay.

The beach is one of the most beautiful in Malaysia, the sea water clear like a swimming pool during our time. We were also very fortunate to be there during a release of 70 hatchling turtles by the Kudat Turtle Conservation Society. How lucky were we to see the turtles? Awesome.

Kudat at its best...

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Privacy to stay and the best infinity pool view in Sabah
Liked least: Evening with bats hanging around the villa
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 5, 2015
Hi Jacob, I'm really pleased you had a great stay. Yes, the stars are amazing at the Tip of Borneo, especially from the swimming pool! I look forward to welcoming you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tinamcgur...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury in an undeveloped area of Borneo”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a fantastic time staying here with our friends. The villa is far better than the pictures show. It is huge with great big living spaces for relaxing as a group, or finding a quiet area to yourself. We loved the fact that we could walk to Tip Top for a relaxed lunch and drinks, and enjoy fabulous dinners in the villa prepared by the local chef. Walking and running in the area, while hot and sweaty, was a real pleasure as the locals were friendly and we got to see a bit of the countryside. We can recommend the jungle walk with Howard. Really informative but in a very interesting way. If you like luxury, in a real local environment, then this place is for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanessaEr...
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxury at the tip of Borneo”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous stay in this luxury villa at the tip of Borneo. Be prepared to get away from it all whilst exploring this amazing part of Borneo. Villa Hibiscus has its own private beach and great staff who do not interfere with your daily activities. There is no wifi or cellphone connection at the villa but this ensured we were not glued to work and enjoyed some great family time (4 adults and 4 children). Fantastic dinners at the nearby Howard's bar and we also booked some scuba diving. You must have your own car as the villa is around 3.5 hours from KK airport. James is very helpful and happy to answer all questions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing