We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gaya Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gaya Centre Hotel
Ranked #19 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I have usually stayed with relatives when visiting KK but this time around, as we were travelling with a one year old, we thought it would be more convenient to stay in a hotel.

I knew for the price we were paying that we weren't to expect Gaya Center to be luxurious. However, I was still a little worried about the cleanliness of the rooms. Turns out the rooms weren't too bad. The only thing I could fault were stained bedsheets (likely to be from mangosteen I think). The furniture and carpet might have been a little worn out but we weren't too fussed with that.

Breakfast was good for the price we paid for the room (it was better than the breakfast we had at Nexus resort). There were always tables and food was constantly replenished despite the hotel being so busy.

We picked the hotel based on location. It is very centrally located, with Suria and Wisma Merdeka right next door.

We didn't require much from the staff but they were courteous and friendly each time we did speak to them.

I would stay with them again if we returned to KK.

Room Tip: The suites at the top have a lovely view of either the city or the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kumquattraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    281
    135
    36
    26
See reviews for
135
149
46
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Stay for 2 night and booking for a superior room via phoned. During our check-in the counter staff informed us that there will be an additional charges of RM30 due to school holiday now but they didnt inform us early or when you make a booking. If we know that we got to pay such room rate, it can be stayed in a better star hotel. Not only this after that they said all children will have a changes for breakfast. What!! Then i ask why all these while i stayed is no charges at all. Well, they answer you this is recently hotel policy, started from now onward. Not honest and did not tell the truth. Those who wants to stay in this hotel must think about it otherwise...

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Ho L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We were there to attend my niece wedding. As my family of 15 pax were staying there, we decided to stay there too much as we were not keen to after looking at the photo.

We stayed for 4 nights between 28.11 to 1.12

Service - Average. The staff who attended to us upon our arrival was friendly. However when I approached the receptionist for a copy of map 2 days later, she was rather unfriendly. Took her 20 minutes to hand a copy to me.

Location - Was good. Sandwiched between 2 malls. Walking distance to Filipino market, and night food stalls. Night food stall sells very fresh cheap seafood.

Rooms - Carpet were very dirty. Stained all over the room, corridor. As such, my partner dare not walk bare footed in the room. Room were small, bed comfortable though. Water pressure from shower was very strong. Bathroom smells mouldy. We didn't asked for an exchange as we arrived late at night and were too tired to notice. By the time we discovered that, we have already unpacked. So what I did was to spray the bathroom with perfume.

Breakfast - Limited selection. There were about 8 trays. Some of the food were changed on a daily basis. Though selection were limited, they were tasty. Staff took a long time to replenish the food. As such, there were 2 occasions whereby there was nothing in the tray ( out of 8 trays, 5 were empty ) when we came down at 9 am.

There was no pool, no gym. Was told that the building was previously a commercial building which has been around for 30 yrs. and just 3 years ago, converted to a hotel.

Will I go back there again? NO!! As there are plenty of better hotels there with similar pricing.

Room Tip: High floor as it overlooks the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memory001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We took a risk on picking this hotel without further research besides reading reviews on TripAdvisor and did not regret it.

Apart from the great location, the staff were very helpful. WiFi connection was excellent and TV channels did not suck whenever we felt like spending a few hours in our room. Breakfast was included but wasn't all that great though the picturesque view every morning at the G Cafe made up for it.

Asked for a sea view room but got a city view instead, but it wasn't a problem. Bed was comfy. Shower heater worked wonders and toilet was fairly clean except for this awful stench that comes and goes.

We enjoyed our stay. Entrance needs a smoking area, though. Just my two cents.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dudette024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester, england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Lovely hotel in KK near to shopping malls and harbour for getting boats to the islands. Staff very friendly and helpful, large room was excellent with sea view no complaints about cleanliness. Service was excellent in the bar/café as was also the staff in the travel agents in the foyer.
late review due to other engagements.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fox01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

There is a Gaya Hotel in Kota Kinabalu, and the Gaya Centre Hotel. Don't get them confused because the other is semi-dilapidated and scary on the outside. This place has large comfortable rooms with fabulous views, if you're lucky to get a room facing the sea. The rooms are clean and comfortable - although, for some strange reason, have been part-fitted with stone-beige nylon carpet which the housekeepers must loath because it shows every mark and stain. Consequently my initial impression was that the room was grubby; it wasn't, just this awful slab of carpet dragged it down!

The staff were friendly and polite, always brandishing a Sabahan smile and happy to help. There's a nice bar (really dreadful live music, but you can sit on a terrace outside to deaden the pain) and a decent restaurant with abundant buffet breakfast.

This hotel is in a great location with the shopping malls, markets and restaurants of Kota Kinabalu at its feet and Jesselton Harbour a short walk away for trips to the stunning islands for beaches and snorkelling. It's a perfect stopping place to thoroughly explore this lovely city - and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AIian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night, thought to spoil ourselves with the kingsuite with ocean views, what we got was mega shopping complex with tiny bit of ocean view in corner. This was also on top floor btw! So lower floors would be even worse! It was not only that. Carpet was very dirty grey marks where obviously hundreds of guests have walked before and obviously with dirty shoes! Honestly I kept my shoes on the whole time as carpet looked about as clean as a KK outside footpath! Of course windows were grubby but thats often the case in malaysia, tile and paint was also of very poor job but sometimes we can overlook that if the place is nice to stay at. Staff were also unbelievably unhelpful, though nice and relaxed as all malays are - it was as if they were hanging out in their loungeroom and not at work. Everytime we wanted to do something simple eg to pay, pick up luggage or check out it would take about 5 min for a staff member to come to counter, and even then it was minimal service. We checked out asap and moved to Cititel Express which was a million times cleaner!! And also cheaper! Though here room was smaller it was clean n staff were more then welcoming! Oh only thing ok at Gaya was the buffet breakfast - it was fine but nothing to write home about.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SpecialK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaya Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaya Centre Hotel

Property: Gaya Centre Hotel
Address: Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | PO Box 13751, Kota Kinabalu 88843, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaya Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaya Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaya Centre Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing