We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but comfortable”
Review of KK Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
KK Suites Hotel
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed August 3, 2012

One of the main reasons for choosing this hotel was that it had connecting rooms for us and our children. We found the hotel to be very conveniently located. Although not luxurious, it was very comfortable and clean with paintings of the exotic birds of Borneo on the walls. A disadvantage is that they dont serve food, but there are many restaurants closeby.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanjeewiE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for KK Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 126 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

i was traveling alone early this year, i found this little place along gaya street. i was shocked to see the price was only rm90 per night during peak season! i took single room which was just enough for me. the room is small and comfortable for one pax only. the room is clean, toilet is clean and has flat screen tv attached beside the bed. there's no cafe in the hotel but cheap restaurants and cafe available 2 minutes walking distance. about 5 minutes walking distance to suria mall and 10 minutes to the jetty. it was a perfect hotel for me, because i was traveling alone, with no transport and on budget short holiday. on sunday, gaya street will be just a step away.

Room Tip: ask for room with window
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheilamran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I was looking forward to stay here as I was excited about going to the famous Gaya Street Market. The market is just in front of the hotel. The decor of this hotel is unique. Apart from that, I was a bit disappointed. The room was quite small. The air-con was not working well. The room was not cold enough even though it was on for several hours. Not the mention the television. The picture was not clear. And the toilet was not clean. There were stains on the mirrors and the shower glass. With the price I paid, I could get a much more comfortable room at another hotel which includes breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulipz765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I "splurged" on this hotel (would usually stay in a hostel) and wasn't impressed. The reviews which mention the bathroom issues are correct: my first room had a shower that wouldn't drain and flooded the bathroom and I asked to be switched to another room, which was fine although had no remotes for the TV or aircon and the safe didn't work. The room was clean, the bed was comfy, and it wasn't terribly noisy for being in a busy area of town, but it certainly wasn't as nice as the pictures. For half the price I got a private room with aircon and private bathroom in a hostel a couple blocks down. The only real difference was the bird pictures!

Room Tip: Make sure your shower drains!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

It's a good location and good value for the money, but still it feels like an ugly person with a lot of make up. Fine design and style, but you can see the humidity marks everywhere. The windows felt like they had never been cleaned. The staff not really helpful. We were gonna climb Mt Kinabalu and come back to Sarangnova. We asked if it would be possible to keep our luggage there during one night, the answer was a simple "no". In the end we decided to stay at another hotel in the return. The people that climbed Kinabalu with us all left their luggage att the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucaBrasi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Sarangnova Hotel. It was perfect for what we wanted. The rooms are small, but big enough, the bed is comfy, and the aircon is amazing!! The location is great. There are many restaurants and a couple of bars close by. About a 10 minute walk to the handicarft market.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biddiebride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

room small but price is affordable. You can find good food at the next door restaurant and nearby shops. Air con works and cool, every one can stay

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bert210853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 mi away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#26 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#29 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lucky 11 Hotel
Lucky 11 Hotel
#56 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#16 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#49 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KK Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KK Suites Hotel

Address: 98-100 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly Sarangnova Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $21 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — KK Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your KK Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
KK Suites Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing