We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel near Mount Kinabalu Park”
Review of J Residence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J Residence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We chose this hotel as our base before and after the climb at Mount Kinabalu. It is located in walking distance outside the park premises. The hotel itself is "hiden" below the main road and thanks to this it is surprisingly a quiet place. The rooms are spacious and very tidy. The design is really exceptional and made us feel like at home. I can recommend the hotel to anyone who wants to stay close to park premises and at the same time wants to relax in a quiet atmosphere after hard climb :-)

Room Tip: We spent 3 nights at House 1 and we were fully satisfied (2 persons).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 300 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel I've been to in my entire life , the whole place is just mystical.we had a campfire around the dining area midnight the view was mesmerizing ! And best of all it's very clean! Bravo! Definately would recommend anyone to stay here ! Not to mention the price is appropriate and is suitable for backpackers as well!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kentwoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here the nights before and after our summit climb of Mount Kinabalu. It was absolutely perfect for this purpose. It's a quiet hideaway at the bottom of a busy road - and arguably the most accessible 'outside the park' accommodation. You can walk there in 10 minutes. The view from the units overlooking the Crocker Range is stunning and the air was clean and cool when we were there. The rooms have a rustic, yet tidy feel. The staff are friendly and helpful and let us leave our packs behind while we were climbing. Free dvds, free wifi. We ate all meals at the restaurant across from the park entrance, which was also easy, cheap and good. If you are passing through Mount Kinabalu and want to stop and enjoy this amazing locale, this is a really good inexpensive place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluesky104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I was looking for a place to stay for our trip away from the city and came across this place,so i booked online & not to mention the price is very much cheaper!. During our arrival the place is really quiet & had the nicest view (not to mention friendly staff). Being near to Kinabalu Park is a credit,so it won't be that much of a hustle to get transport instead it's like 10 min walk there. We stay in room 3B,it's quite spacious & a nice view from the window. I like how quiet it is even tho the Villa & room 3A,5A & 5B is occupied,the place is very cold all the time,so be sure to bring thick cloths & socks. It was rainy during our stay & we didn't have umbrella with us,the staff don't have it either (maybe they can have this in the office so it's easy to borrow) good thing is our neighbor lend us their.
They have a big dining area that overlook the nicest view & it's really mind relaxing. they have BBQ pit, sink where you can clean your dishes with & they also provide the dishwasher liquid,which is very convenient. If you prefer to stay in the room & relax,they have DVD player or maybe you can bring board games. My daughter enjoy her stay there & didn't want to leave. We really love the stay there even tho it's just for a night. Won't hesitate to have another stay in J residence soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

When I first saw this place on Tripadvisor, I already loving it. I managed to book for 4 rooms on the very last minute (for last minute booking just call the reception ;p) as we were on a family trip. We had 2A, 2B, 3A & 3B. The rooms were spacious. I really love the interior and exterior is simply beautiful with amazing views. The staffs were friendly and helpful. And the location, just perfect as I just have to walk to the park & restaurant for 5-10 minutes. I walked slowly to enjoy the views and fresh air. Wished I had more time to stay here. Definitely will come back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaaaaa156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I love my J. Residence experience.

We were a group of 16 adults. We booked the Villa for the 3 couples, while the rest stayed in unit 5A, 3A and 3B. The Villa has a very spacious living hall and dining area. The kitchen is fully equipped with all necessary utensils, pots and pans, a rice cooker, a microwave, a refrigerator, a 2-hole gas stove etc. We bought a lot of local fresh vegetables and cooked in the villa. At House 3, there is also a dining table, a gas stove, a sink and a kettle. There are BBQ pits at common area and at House 3 too.

The service was good and the workers are very friendly and helpful. We managed to get some cooking oil and seasoning sauces from them for our cooking purposes. Their service was very prompt too when we provided feedback.

We enjoyed the fact that we are extremely close to nature. House 3 and House 5 have great view of the hills and villages. Most of us woke up early in the morning for the sunrise, and for some tranquil moment. The room has huge glass door so you can even enjoy the greenery even lying on your bed.

Room Tip: House 5 has the best view. House 3 view also not bad. House 1 and 2 are at the quieter side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UnderBigHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

3 days 2 night there, awesome place and accomodation. The service was good and the worker so friendly to us. To stay there was to stay and back to nature.. my wife and i had a great time there spending the holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddyjohnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
31.9 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ayana Holiday Resort
Ayana Holiday Resort
#1 of 34 in Ranau
71 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kinabalu Pine Resort
Kinabalu Pine Resort
#1 of 2 in Kundasang
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#3 of 14 in Kundasang
114 reviews
4.7 mi away
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
#5 of 12 in Kundasang
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kinabalu Park
Kinabalu Park
#3 of 33 in Ranau
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Residence

Address: Along Tuaran Road | 300 meters from Mount Kinabalu Park, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $30 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 300 metres away from the entrance of Kinabalu Park Headquarters, J Residence is the nearest lodge outside Mount Kinabalu National Park, and with rooms price three times lower than those chalets and lodges inside Kinabalu Park. J Residence was built in the year 2010 and our lodge are partially hidden by trees and plants from the main road. Our lodge overlook the Bundu Tuhan dwelling & farming community while the back is decorated with rows of tall matured pine trees. Temperature here ranges from 19°C to 17°C at night. Truly a great place to seek refuge from the hot equatorial climate of the other major cities of Sabah. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
j Residence Hotel Kota Kinabalu
J Residence Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing