We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in Nature”
Review of J Residence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J Residence
Certificate of Excellence
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Staying in Nature”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I love my J. Residence experience.

We were a group of 16 adults. We booked the Villa for the 3 couples, while the rest stayed in unit 5A, 3A and 3B. The Villa has a very spacious living hall and dining area. The kitchen is fully equipped with all necessary utensils, pots and pans, a rice cooker, a microwave, a refrigerator, a 2-hole gas stove etc. We bought a lot of local fresh vegetables and cooked in the villa. At House 3, there is also a dining table, a gas stove, a sink and a kettle. There are BBQ pits at common area and at House 3 too.

The service was good and the workers are very friendly and helpful. We managed to get some cooking oil and seasoning sauces from them for our cooking purposes. Their service was very prompt too when we provided feedback.

We enjoyed the fact that we are extremely close to nature. House 3 and House 5 have great view of the hills and villages. Most of us woke up early in the morning for the sunrise, and for some tranquil moment. The room has huge glass door so you can even enjoy the greenery even lying on your bed.

Room Tip: House 5 has the best view. House 3 view also not bad. House 1 and 2 are at the quieter side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnderBigHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    131
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
89
81
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

3 days 2 night there, awesome place and accomodation. The service was good and the worker so friendly to us. To stay there was to stay and back to nature.. my wife and i had a great time there spending the holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddyjohnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hidden residence which was located 96km away from Kota Kinabalu, exactly one hour and 45 minutes drive up to Mount Kinabalu Park area, where it was windy and simply green! This hotel has been getting quite a good number of visitors but luckily we managed to book for a one night stay for our road trip in Kota Kinabalu.

For more review & stories on J Residence go to www.travelchameleon.net

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelChameleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place is located a walking distance away from Kinabalu National Park. Location wise it is very good. You will be met with a very steep entrance but its all good.
This place is surely has a very ideal location. It has indeed a peaceful, calm and serene surroundings. We took four cabins since there are 12 of us (extended family with small kids). ( side by side) The view from our balcony is an unobstructed spreads of the hills, villages and greenery.For someone that lived in the city most of my life, this is surely something that I cherish .The cabin has a huge glass door so waking up in the morning with such view is indeed priceless.

Our cabin has 2 beds ( queen + single bed) The balcony is spacious and it has dining table, barbecue pit, gas stove ,kitchen sink and a kettle.

While I truly love the view and the idea of this unique cabin, there are certain issues that could be improved.
The room smells so mouldy/musty, I could not sleep the whole night cause of the strong smell.Because the place is damp all the time, I guess molds grow easily here but I feel this could have been rectified.
The bathroom has no partition for the shower area, hence the whole floor is constantly wet and cold. I find it rather unappealing to step on it ( no slipper provided)and I think for most travellers or holidaymakers, bathroom is very important. J residence certainly does not think this is the case. There are a lot of room for improvement . The other cabin taken by my mom was even worst as it has no tiles, so its bare cement for shower!
You get free wireless but basic luxury such as iron, hair dryer are not provided.

While this place is not for travel primadona, the view, the price is worth paying.

Tips: bring your own pots and pans if you would like to cook your own breakfast.

Room Tip: There is another villa that you could rent. But it does not give you the outdoor experience such as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracefulgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Fantastic location, rooms and reasonable prices. Helpful onsite staff altho limited English.
Responsive booking and very helpful emails with all questions answered.
Thanks, Joshua for a wonderful stay !
We stayed there 2 nights - pre and post climb. And had 2 different types of rooms. Will be great if every room has an electric kettle, as the shared kettle the second night was used all the time by the neighbouring unit.
Will definitely want to stay there again when I go back to Mt Kinabalu.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 5 have great views. Room 1 has a nice bathroom :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpringRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

it was simply so beautiful!!!
if you plan to climb the Mt. Kinabalu, this is definitely the place you stay overnight the day before!
they have less than 10 rooms of different sizes, twin bed rooms, villas, huge room with kitchen, all surrounded by beatiful mountains.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HippyXu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I am very satisfied with the service provided and the environment in which the rooms were set up in. This place has a very close connection to nature. The rooms were good and customer service was ok too.. Price is cheap & reasonable. The owner, Joshua was a great help to guide us through the itinerary in Kundasang/Ranau area. Recommended stay. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: 5A & 5B provide the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g_inderjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
2.8 mi away
The Cottage Hotel Kundasang
0.9 mi away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#3 of 10 in Kundasang
100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kundasang
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ayana Holiday Resort
Ayana Holiday Resort
#1 of 34 in Ranau
69 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kinabalu Pine Resort
Kinabalu Pine Resort
#1 of 2 in Kundasang
346 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kinabalu Park
Kinabalu Park
#3 of 27 in Ranau
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Residence

Property: J Residence
Address: Along Tuaran Road | 300 meters from Mount Kinabalu Park, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 300 metres away from the entrance of Kinabalu Park Headquarters, J Residence is the nearest lodge outside Mount Kinabalu National Park, and with rooms price three times lower than those chalets and lodges inside Kinabalu Park. J Residence was built in the year 2010 and our lodge are partially hidden by trees and plants from the main road. Our lodge overlook the Bundu Tuhan dwelling & farming community while the back is decorated with rows of tall matured pine trees. Temperature here ranges from 19°C to 17°C at night. Truly a great place to seek refuge from the hot equatorial climate of the other major cities of Sabah. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
j Residence Hotel Kota Kinabalu
J Residence Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing