We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money !”
Review of J Residence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J Residence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights. the price charged was reasonable; rooms are clean with no moss detected. the girls at the office are ever helpful with our endless requests. really appreciate it.
must say that the location is quite convenient, being located just 5 min walk from kinabalu park and between 2 good eateries.

the only setback is the steep road leading from the main road to the chalets. we were not comfortable in driving the rental car down the road leading to chalet and had to park them at the restaurant nearby. luckily, the helpers at the residence were willing to carry our luggages down the steeps road as it is not possible to use the rollers. we do notice later that the taxi drivers could drive up and down the road without much problem. tried to walk to the Kinabalu national park but failed as there were dogs on the way and senior and juniors were too frightened as well..

despite the road problem, we would still recommend this place

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 300 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

I spent 3 nights at J Residence with eight of my friends. We booked the villa and one of the smaller guest houses. It was great to have the villa as a gathering place; we brought food up with us from KK and the kitchen there was fantastic for self-preparing our evening meals. During the day we took half-day hikes along the trails at the Park HQ - being walking distance from there was quite convenient. Beds were comfortable, rooms were tasteful, and the view of the surrounding valleys was simply stunning. If you plan to go to Mount Kinabalu with several friends, this place is definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingRock33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

J Residence is a nice place to stay before or after you klimb Mt. Kinabalu. This place is right by the The rooms are big - like suites, with a sofa, coffee table, big bed and TV/DVD. The bathrooms are also big and clean. And there's free wifi. There's no food/breakfast available though, but there are restaurants near by. It can be pretty cold there. Go for the rooms with the view (we didn't have a room with a view, but they looked amazing!). The price is very reasonable for this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrederikHelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed in room 2B, for two night, It a cozy room with interesting bathroom, the room was built around a big granite stone and the tip of the stone it in the bathroom. the room are clean and come with a LCD tv with 3 dvd provided for you entertainment, It has a BBQ facility which we have use and with early arrangement with the owner they have prepared all the necessary utensil for us. The water source however may nee to improve, our room have water pressure problem hence the hot water flow is very low

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgesim98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

It's so conveniently situated near Kinabalu National Park, so there was no problem getting there. Although it's right off the main road, the chalets are snugly situated down a steep little path away from the main road so noise and dust are down to a minimum. I stayed at House 3a with my family, and returned again to stay at 5b with my boyfriend. Both stays were fantastic. the 3a and 3b unit comes with a deck equipped with a little stove, sink, and barbecue pit, so it was very convenient for my family to start cooking up an awesome barbecue feast amid the cold mountain mist! For a small fee, they provide charcoal, fire starters, cooking utensils, cups and plates - so all you have to do is bring your food and start cooking! It was a great experience. If you are not planning to bring food to cook here, there is a quaint little restaurant right at the entrance of the place on the main road, or you can always hop by the restaurant near Kinabalu Park. I'd advise to bring some snacks tho! Later when i returned with my boyfriend, we again booked the barbecue facility, this time it was situated a little away from our room, at a spacious deck with tables and chairs, a great place for a barbecue gathering of a large group of friends! The rooms were spacious and comfortable (though the pillows were quite flat, gave us all sore necks in the mornings), the toilet at 5b was nice, with glass window at the shower so you have an awesome view while taking a hot shower (don't worry, privacy not compromised)! Also, the price was reasonable and staff were courteous. Definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice quiet stay in the highlands!

Room Tip: Room 5b in my opinion has the best unobstructed view of the luscious valley below! Extra magical to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrysFernandez88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is an extraodinary hotel! The rooms (and bathrooms) were meticulously clean, modern, reasonable spacious, with a lovely large deck and georgous surroundings. The price is very reasonable for the area. It's conveniently located with restaurants on either side, and its less than 5 minutes walk to the park headquarters. The only thing preventing me from wholeheartedly giving this hotel the full 5 star (or circle in the case of trip advisor) rating was the difficulty I had in communicating with the staff when trying to get information about the local surroundings. The staff were lovely and tried to be helpful but there was a language barrier. Small point, if I could have given 4 1/2 I would have.

Room Tip: There's no bad choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was there with hubby and a group of friends during our recent trip to KK. Nestled amongst nature, this place definitely gives you all you need for a getaway from the hustle and bustle of city. A retreat indeed! We stayed in room 2B; though not fronting any stunning view, it's nonetheless lovely with a rattan swing at the verandah which is surely a good spot to sip a cup of tea or coffee and enjoy the fresh crisp air. The room is comfy and clean, but the shower was not working well where the flow was too slow. We did not bother to walk all the way up to the reception to complain and just made do with it. We had BBQ at night (perfect activity on a chilly night) and were glad that we were provided with all the necessary utensils (though early notification is required as they seem to have only one set of utensils apart from the BBQ stove).Perhaps, the management may look into improving the facility. Apart from that, it is a perfect getaway! (And yeah, it was pretty challenging to maneuver the vehicle through the steep and narrow path to and from guesthouse.)

Room Tip: Choose room 5a and 5b if you wish for a view down the valley; otherwise the other rooms are equally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cecilia98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
0.3 mi away
Ayana Holiday Resort
Ayana Holiday Resort
#1 of 34 in Ranau
71 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kinabalu Pine Resort
Kinabalu Pine Resort
#1 of 2 in Kundasang
370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#3 of 14 in Kundasang
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
#5 of 12 in Kundasang
170 reviews
3 mi away
Nabalu Kundasang
Nabalu Kundasang
#10 of 33 in Ranau
16 reviews
34.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Residence

Address: Along Tuaran Road | 300 meters from Mount Kinabalu Park, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $30 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 300 metres away from the entrance of Kinabalu Park Headquarters, J Residence is the nearest lodge outside Mount Kinabalu National Park, and with rooms price three times lower than those chalets and lodges inside Kinabalu Park. J Residence was built in the year 2010 and our lodge are partially hidden by trees and plants from the main road. Our lodge overlook the Bundu Tuhan dwelling & farming community while the back is decorated with rows of tall matured pine trees. Temperature here ranges from 19°C to 17°C at night. Truly a great place to seek refuge from the hot equatorial climate of the other major cities of Sabah. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
j Residence Hotel Kota Kinabalu
J Residence Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing