We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just for spending the night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Borneo Hotel
Ranked #68 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My son and I were spent a couple of nights here during our recent trip to the Seaventures rig in East Borneo; as our flight from Singapore arrived too late to catch the onward flight to Tawau.

While the location close to the airport and the included transfers are great; the rooms themselves are nothing to write home about. It's evident that they don't spend too much in the upkeep of the hotel, and the surrounding area of Tanjung Aru is just as unkempt.

Facilities are very limited in the hotel; apart from air-conditioning, cable TV with a few channels and hot water, there is no other modern conveniences. There's not even a lift in the building.

Having "breakfast included" in the price is a rip-off: "breakfast" is a couple of cold pieces of toast, some instant coffee and a a bowl of mushy cereal (seriously, how difficult is to get cereal right?) - you're much better off having a local Teh Tarik in any of the eateries around the hotel.

Said that, the convenience of the airport transfers makes this hotel a choice if you are just staying overnight.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlos-Mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 148 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

The main reason I chose to stay at this hotel is that they offer free shuttle to the Airport. Even you need to leave as early as 5am, they do not have extra charge for that. I guess that is the main good thing about this place and many guests do choose this place for the same reason.

There are also a few restaurants nearby and some of them even open 24 hours.

It is walking distance to Tanjung Aru Public Beach. However, it is a long walk. There is a bus stop around the corner (16A I believe). For 1 MYR, it can take you to city center.

The room is small. And there was a blackout for my room the night I stayed and it took them more than 1 and 1/2 hours to fix that. As mentioned in many other reviews, the water pressure is problematic and at the daytime it is almost unusable. I have read a lot of negative reviews about this place and I think these are all true. If I did not need to catch an early flight out of the Kota Kinabalu, I would never stay at this place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saricie_Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our planned stay was to be just 12 hours, but due to late arrival of our Cebu Pacific flight from Manila, and being held on board for 40 minutes after landing, the actual stay was even shorter.
Having arranged the airport pick up for approx 12 midnight, it was 2 a.m. before we made it out to the van and very patient, friendly driver. (his comments about meeting Cebu Pacific flights were not complimentary).

On arrival we were given a 5 bed room on the 3rd floor, not an easy climb when you're over 70), but I am sure we would have been able to get a more convenient twin room if we had arrived at a more sensible time. As it was, the room was acceptable for such a short stay.
All in all, bearing in mind the cost, and the free airport transfer (except after 11 p.m.) I don't feel inclined to criticise this hotel in any way.

Recommended for a short stopover between flights.

Room Tip: Nolift so unless you are young and fit you may want to avoid the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Having stayed at this budget hotel in Tanjung Aru no less than 4 times in the past, and have also arranged accomodations on at least 3 occassions for friends who were participating in the annual marathon in Kinabalu, this was probably the most bizzare experince I have had with a hotel anywhere thus far in the world.

-Staff do NOT check nor reply to email enquiries when asking for quotes. Customers are emailing them and giving them business but they have a 'can't be bothered' attitude towards checking and replying to emails in a reasonable period of time.

I had to call them TWICE to check if they had got my emails within the space of a month and on both occassions, I was given the same line of "we will check and contact you." And on both occassions, it was a no action situation.

Having got fed up for the third time, I called up again and finally got something done and someone to actually bother to reply with a quotation.

This is where things get worse.

-This hotel has 4/5 bed rooms for guests. They have ONE rate for the room to cater for 3 guests for a 4/5 bed room. Then they charge you by the person for more than 3 guests. I don't know how they came about calculating this or coming up with this formula but on one occassion, it was without breakfast. When I queried them again, I got a different set of 'rules' from a different member of staff.

-Having called them AGAIN (forth time), I spent 15 minutes on the phone getting absolutely confused as to how many rooms they actually had on the day I wanted to book rooms for my friends and also what the room configurations were. It was just so confusing and so badly organized that you just waste so much time dealing with the staff at this hotel.

I have not had bad experinces at this hotel in the past. Everything was straight forward and nicely organized. Emails were replied to. Bookings paid for and confirmed months in advance.

However, it is obvious the owner and senior staff are not overseeing the actions of the current staff handling bookings and emails.

I have no idea how this budget hotel thinks it can rip customers off by charging for 3 pax in a 4 or 5 bed room without even breakfast, and then charge extra for additional guests when the room I wanted to book was catered for 4/5 guests.

Avoid this hotel if you really can...Mega D'Aru next door is easier to deal with and without the hassles and stress. Alternatively, D'Chaya Hotel across the road which just opened is also easier to book and deal with.

How a hotel can shoot itself in the foot and then insult returning guests and expect it to be alright is beyond me.

THUMBS DOWN!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diving-Addiction00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The room looked perfect when we arrived at 1 am and was picked up by our driver, no hassle get on with business quick transfer to the hotel was what we needed that night.
The hotel was ok with our 5 bed room 308. It was a bargain, way bigger than we needed for our family and 2 toilets for express get to bed after a quick bath.
The breakfast was un rushed and all carte with 4 healthy choices.

With a travel desk, massage center, bakery and car rental all connected to the hotel- it's all round service provided.

We ended up getting a great deal on our rented cars and transport transfers.

Good for what you pay got. Great airport transfers, 5 mins from hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a window if you have an extended stay.,big rooms are like giant dorm rooms with 5 be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chow tien w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

The room we checked in was only one rooms with 5 single bed. Actually the hotels must be prepared laundry bag for us so that easily to keep dirty clothes and more about it. Then not more choices for the breakfast... must be improve again....

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Common C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We ha e just checked in and instead of giving us 2 rooms (a couple and a shared) as booked and PAID FOR we have been given a 5-person shared room. No mention of a partial refund or any apologies, they even acted like they were doing us a favour. A hotel that can't keep a PAID reservation is no good to me.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomeRandomAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0 mi away
Megah D'Aru Hotel
Megah D'Aru Hotel
#45 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
57 reviews
12.9 mi away
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
0.1 mi away
Winner Hotel
Winner Hotel
#76 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#40 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
132 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#20 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
543 reviews
3.9 mi away
Celyn Hotel City Mall
Celyn Hotel City Mall
#81 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Borneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Borneo Hotel

Address: 23 Jalan Pinang | Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $20 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Borneo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Borneo Hotel is centrally located within the Tanjung Aru town just minutes away from the city centre. The Crown Borneo has 28 rooms, offering queen bedroom and twin bedroom and comes with an attached bathroom with shower. All rooms are air-conditioned with an individual control, features a 32" LCD TV with selected satellite channels and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Crown Borneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing