We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Location Purpose Only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crown Borneo Hotel
Ranked #71 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Like most people, we stayed there one night because of the late night flight. The double room without breakfast was just about average for its price. Its located in a small community. Quite convenient for restaurants, supplies and a post office where can send post card. However, there're only one bus (#16) you can take to go to downtown KK or by taxi (around 20RM). It's still about 20-25 mins of walking distance to the airport or seeing the famous sunset by the ocean.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 147 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

My friends and I arrived at mid night after the free-transfer period, but they offer us reasonable price for the airport transfer. We choose this hotel because we have to transit to early fight on the next morning. The hotel is close to the airport, provide free transfer from early morning to 11pm. It is good for transit travelers like us.

The room is clean and basic, which is good enough for a few hours stay. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bibu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We came in a big group on our way to the interiors and stayed a few nights while in transit. Manager Edison and staff were very helpful from the time of booking till check out. Location is out of town but van transfers are available for small charge. Rooms are small (hotel is converted shophouses) but clean and neat. Breakfast is provided, and good food, laundry & convenience stores are within walking distance from the hotel. Homemade scones, eclaires, profiteroles etc are VERY NICE and not to be missed!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BZmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed there for one night while waiting for our connecting flight. I had booked an standard room but they had upgraded me to a executive freely. The executive was clean and comfortable with 6 beds and two bathroom. Clean and toiletries.

The hotel provides free shuttle service. I had made an airport pick-up and had confirmation but nobody was there waiting therefore I came to outside and found the hotel shuttle car. However, the hotel management should pay more attention to this for new comers.

Room Tip: There have no lift services and you can put your luggage at reception counter. Overdue charge for 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camenlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We only stayed one night, but had a good stay at the crown borneo hotel.
The free shuttle to and from the airport was great, and they also charged less than a taxi for a drive into town. Airport shuttles take priority they told us, but we were able to take advantage :)
Breakfast was included, and pretty good. They had a few selections to chose from.
Walls were very thin, so we heard people in the hallway often. If you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs! Bathroom was nice enough, plenty of hot water in the shower.
Also there are lots of good little restaurants around, and a 24hr convenience store.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The staffs are very helpful. Especially for traveller who is in difficulty. The good thing for this hotel is it's near to the airport and airport transfer is available, but there will be a surcharge if your flight is the early morning flight.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEng2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I booked this hotel due to it's location near to the airport.

Pros : Friendly and helpful staffs, 5mins drive to airport, clean rooms, provide free shuttle(within certain time period),quiet rooms

Cons : No lifts, small rooms, transparent bathrooms,small pillows

As I only checked in late at night, the cons does'nt bother me at all. Sleep well through whole night. I expected noise from the shops below or the departing flights nearby,but gladly there are not much of a disturbance to me.

Recommended hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellove_602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Megah D'Aru Hotel
Megah D'Aru Hotel
#40 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
55 reviews
12.9 mi away
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
2.4 mi away
Eminent Hotel
Eminent Hotel
#32 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Asiana Hotel
Asiana Hotel
#48 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
18 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#24 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
190 reviews
2.4 mi away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#27 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Borneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Borneo Hotel

Address: 23 Jalan Pinang | Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $21 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Borneo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Borneo Hotel is centrally located within the Tanjung Aru town just minutes away from the city centre. The Crown Borneo has 28 rooms, offering queen bedroom and twin bedroom and comes with an attached bathroom with shower. All rooms are air-conditioned with an individual control, features a 32" LCD TV with selected satellite channels and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Crown Borneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing