We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crown Borneo Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$227
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$385
$316
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Horizon Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
$105
$61
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Klagan Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
$47
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
$98
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sixty3(Kota Kinabalu)
$131
$79
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Grandis(Kota Kinabalu)
$100
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Eden54(Kota Kinabalu)(Great Value!)
$36
$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
18
64
36
21
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
64
36
21
11
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 150 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed here for one night between flights in Kota Kinabalu. Free pick up and set down from the airport, and super close to the airport too (5 mins drive), make it an ideal hotel for short trips. Rooms are clean and small but perfectly adequate for stopovers. Breakfast was even thrown in even though our flight was at 6 am.

Great service and value for money exceptional.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bc1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a 1 night stop over here, and this was a really good place. They were there to pick us up at the airport on time.
The room was very modern and very clean. It was a bit small but fine. The bathroom was a little weird in that it had glass walls, so that you could see the person inside from the bedroom.
The price is very reasonable and they provided a basic breakfast which was nice. Its not the closest hotel to town but they were able to give us a ride at a small cost.
They dropped us off early in the morning to the airport.
The staff were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Booked on Internet based on trip advisor comments and was not disappointed. The place is clean and tidy, the room is small but has all it needs, tv, air conditioner, it's own bathroom and nice bed. The let down was noisy toilet and distance from KK's attractions (such as they are). In summary it's a good place to stay.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank emilia07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

WE stayed only one night as we were flying to Sipadan the next morning.

The Hotel:
Located about 15 minutes from the airport. Rooms are small but our room was clean and the AC worked fine. The airport pickup worked perfectly and the also the dop off back to the airport. We did not try the restaurant at the hotel as it was already closed when we arrived but it was also closed in the early morning when we left. The room also had Wifi access for free which is great.

The area:
Like I mentioned it is close to the airport. There is a 24hrs restaurant right next door to the Hotel that serves good local food. But there is not much else in the area that we could see.

I recomend the hotel especially for a short stopover.

Room Tip: Get a low floor as there is no elevator.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big_Chilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here for our first two nights in KK just to be close to the airport after a long travel from the uk. We used the hotel to get our bearings and to settle in before deciding where to go next (apart from the two nights here we had not booked anything else for onward travel). For this purpose the hotel was perfect.

We got a free airport transfer, the staff are really friendly and helpful, good breakfast included and free wifi (although we couldn't get it to work in the room).

The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean, there are tea and coffee facilities and the shower was powerful and good supply of hot water. The room was very small though.

The location is quite remote. There isn't much to do around here but for the purpose of a stopover to find your feet it worked well. There is the Tangjung Aru Plaza which had a few bars and restaurants in it which was about a 5/10 minute walk away and a bit further than that is First Beach. A small beach with a few bars and a hot food market along the front. We walked this no problem but the hotel will drop you off for 10 ringgit.

We walked into KK centre during the day but it was really far and we had to walk along main roads that weren't really designed for pedestrians (not really advisable). A taxi back was about 20 ringgit.

All in all this was a nice little hotel for the purposes we used it for. We couldn't fault the staff on anything and would be the main reason we would return or recommend the place.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladougz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews