We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Climbing up the stairs is a hard task!”
Review of City Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Park Lodge
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Climbing up the stairs is a hard task!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Good things about staying here :
- The air conditioning at Room 403 (Queen bed with window) was very powerful. It chilled the room within a jiffy!
- The hot shower was blissful. It was very powerful, as good as a body massage but could be quite pain. The temperature control was great as I couldn't tolerate much heat while my another half could.
- The boss is very friendly and helpful. There was once we checked out to change our stay to Le Meridien for two nights and he extended our check out time to 2pm. That was very considerate of him.
- You are allowed to pay after you stay.
- You are allowed to deposit your valuable with the lodge.
- You are allowed to deposit your luggages with the lodge in their store rooms.

Bad things about staying here :
- The bedding, perhaps, had dusty smell on it but it was tolerable.
- The space of walking was very limited. We carried two luggages weighing around 25kg and I had to jump over when I needed to go toilet or go out.
- The reception floor has no air conditioning. Imagine checking in and out in the afternoons.
- There was no lift or help given to carry our luggages. Imagine carrying 25kg luggages up 3 floors! My another half felt like dying especially after our climb of Mount Kinabalu and both of us were suffering from body ache.
- There was this old lady in charge of the counter couldn't hear properly and being adamant about registering my name and details even though I offered to write it myself (which the previous guy in charge of the counter did). Annoying much.
- Room 203 (Queen bed without window) air conditioning wasn't working fast enough. It took perhaps 5 times of the time to chill Room 403.

Room Tip: Ensure the air conditioning is power enough, the heater is hot and strong, the bed does not smell fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitomi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
8
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh city
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The location was great.
The price was cheap.

The room was really really small. It was just enough for 2 twin beds, which were placed very close to each other. No other furniture in the room, and with our luggage having no place to put in, there was barely enough room for us to walk.

Toilet was clean. Shower only. There was hot water.

After I had fallen asleep, I thought someone was trying to open the door which I already blocked with our luggage. When I got to the door, the door was closed, but I could swear the luggage was not "touching" the door as I placed it before I went to bed.

But the rest of the night went uneventful.

We just spent the night there to fly to Semporna the next day, so that was ok.
But if I come back to Kota Kinabalu again to explore the west side of Sabah, I will not stay in that lodge.

I don't need luxurious hotel, but I need space to unpack my luggage and feel not suffocated.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Van N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

The staff is friendly. There is a provision of food you can use for a breakfast. Rooms are small, but clean. Stairs are steep, no lifts, a bit uncomfortable with heavy luggage.
The organization of events by the hotel (rafting, Mt Kinabalu) was ok.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadwiga_berbeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

After a dissapointing hostel i turned up unnanounced at CPL, they were more than happy to put me up for 3 nights and were extremely friendly. The hostel is clean, you have access to a computer, the bathrooms are a good size and you are central to kk. As lone female traveller who had had some less than savoury accommodations over two weeks in kk, this place was a dream! They speak good english and will go all out to assist you. Excellant!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellant although some dont have windows it made no differance, just ask for a window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bosamkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangshuo County, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in total almost 2 weeks, we had 3 different rooms. The rooms were basic, but okay! The staff was very friendly and the storageroom convient, because we did a lot of trips around Kota Kinabalu with our daypacks.

Room Tip: When you stay on a sunday and you want to sleep late, don't choose a room on the backsite, becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed there for one night after the Mt Kinabalu hike and just needed a place to sleep and rest. So we were quite undemanding.
Still, the room (204) was in terrible condition - dirty on the walls, moldy smell, aircon only working lousy, sheets clean but old. All in all the worst was the smell and in existent cleanness which was all we actually wanted!
The lady at the reception was not interested in us, unfriendly and only speaking very limited English - or let's say in a dialect hard to understand.
Only go there if you don't find anything better, Horizon Hotel just besides looks quite good.
Only real benefit was the location - very central, a good lounge/bar (SugarBun) just besides and some nice massage parlours for relaxing after the hike.

Room Tip: Don't get 204!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texmex81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed at City Park Lodge for 3 days and we can definitely recommend it! The location is central, very close to nigh market and everything else. The bed was comfortable, shower with good water pressure, the price for the room was reasonable. The staff were very friendly, it felt like coming home every day.
Guesthouses on that street face a noisy karaoke place, so if you want it to be more quite, ask for a room that faces backyard. They stop singing around midnight anyway.
In total, we think that this lodge provides very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina_Andreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Check Inn KK
Check Inn KK
#42 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lodge 58
Lodge 58
#5 of 80 in Kota Kinabalu
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
#11 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jesselton Cabin
Jesselton Cabin
#22 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tourist
Hotel Tourist
#29 of 80 in Kota Kinabalu
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
X-Plorer Backpackers
X-Plorer Backpackers
#56 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Park Lodge

Property: City Park Lodge
Address: 49 Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your City Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Park Hotel Kota Kinabalu
City Park Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing