We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - lovely staff”
Review of Hotel Eden54

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Eden54
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2010

This is a great hotel with incredibly welcoming, happy staff who do their utmost to help. They helped us with luggage, even gave up their parking space to allow us to park in front of hotel and arranged for laundry to be done with minimum fuss and quickly. Any questions we had on things to do such as trips to Turku Abdul Rahman National Park were answered helpfully and easily. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and there is a communal area where you can sit and make tea, coffee and simple food like toast. There is a fantastic restaurant along the road from the hotel - can't remember the name but beside the very, very busy Chinese restaurant and with a sign saying 'No MSG'. The hot butter prawns, crispy pork and gedongdon juice are the best! Would definitely recommend to others. Worth knowing if you have small children that you can pay for a day's use of the swimming pool facilities at the Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort Hotel about 30 minutes drive from Hotel Eden.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferginkii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

933 - 939 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2010

The hotel is very, very clean. Rooms are also quiet at night. Location is very good, it's between the city center and Jesselton ferry terminal.

One can not dispute the excellent quality of their service--even better than any 5-star hotel I've been. Ms. Rosanne and Ms. Ling Ling were so accommodating. Once you stay in front of their desk, they would pause whatever their doing and answer all your queries. We told them that they should build another hotel in a different city, but as their guests are their number one priority, they declined saying that service would be different if they are not there.

I would never find a hotel as good as this one. When I go back to KK, I will definitely stay in Hotel Eden54!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlizzQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

like the rest of guests, we chose Eden54 for our accommodation in KK as a result of it being being #1 in tripadvisor and also the photos uploaded attracted us too. however, to be the honest, the low cost did leave us wondering if the photos were deceiving and it was going to be the worst hotel, esp when we were given the "rooms with no windows".

but of course to our pleasant surprise, the rooms were really clean and well furnished. not really big, but it has all the basic necessities. Towels were changed everyday! Room was made up everyday! It also has a reception area which is warm and welcoming and a small "bar lookalike" kitchen with utensils, microwave etc.
The overall design concept of the hotel is also very pleasing, that looks like a 5-star hotel.

and we have to mention the great service provided by the frendly staff. the moment we stepped into the hotel, they welcomed us with a warm friendly smile. When we arrived in KK, they immediately went to arrange for a car rental service for us as we requested. They were ever ready to answer all our queries, provide us with the cheaper alternatives to various atractions and will ask us how our trips went at the end of the day!

If you are in for a value for $$$ hotel w/o all the extra frills, Hotel Eden54 is definitely for you with the 6 STAR services!!!

Thank you Rosanne / Ling Ling , we'll still stay @ eden if we are going back there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParistheDogSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Eden for four nights on the basis of it being extra good value as well as #1 on Trip Advisor! And it lived up to expectations. There were no budget rooms with windows available so we had to go in the 'inner' non-window rooms, which although very small, had everything you need and were trendily decorated. There is a very communal feel to this place, a large lounge you can chill in, even a kitchen available for use. And of course, Rosanne and Ling Ling were worth their weight in gold as far as advice went. We also took advantage of their recommendations for cheaper trips to island beaches and cafes. They know their town/area inside out and are so willing to share that knowledge. When they took our laundry, they even dried our beach towels (before washing) to make them lighter so it cost less (we didn't ask for that of course). This is typical of their pro-active helpful attitude. Totally recommend for budget travellers who can hack the small rooms and stairs - everything else is great!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatAdorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights and i must say that this hotel have alot to offer. We tried to book the Family Plus room for 2 nights but was informed that the room is only available on our 2nd night. Ms Ling Ling mentioned that she will give us the Family Plus room if anyone cancel their reservation. Guess what? Ms Ling Ling called us 1 day before our trip to inform us that there is a Family Plus room available for our 1st night. It should be noted that Ms Ling Ling was keeping to her promise and gave us a Family Plus room. We arrived earlier than the check in time but was allowed to check in. Ms Ling Ling was very helpful by telling us places we should go for our lunch and dinner. Also, the free internet service was good. The room was simple and nice. However, only setback is that they do not provide hairdryer but we have our own. Housekeeping was good and i think that the location of the hotel is good too. It is merely 5 mins walk from Jesselton point(ferry), 1 min walk to Suria Sabah (new shopping mall) and alot of food stall nearby.

I will definitely stay here again if i travel to KK.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We booked this hotel on the basis of other reviews which praised the helpfulness of Ling Ling and other staff. They were absolutely right; they took a pleasure in directing us to the cheapest water taxi to the islands for snorkelling (30 RM - compared to 150 RM from a 'specialist' tour operator) and were particularly good on local cafes, restaurants and food courts (try the Hua Hing 'live fish'). Good central location - 5 mins from Jesselton pier ferries, 5 mins from waterfront markets. The rooms were clean and well equipped; they keep the price down by having no frills - no bar, no breakfast, etc but plenty of nearby cafes.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Century_cottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

This is a real haven for travellers, excellent staff, wi-fi in rooms which are clean and fresh. There is a supermarket next door where they will even cook you breakfast! Easy walk to night markets and the jetty for trips to the islands.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobynBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
699 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
469 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,482 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden54

Address: 54 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $32 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eden54 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden54 is a budget boutique hotel located in the city center of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, near major shopping malls, banks, supermarket, restaurants, tourism offices and jetty to Labuan and other famous islands in Sabah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Eden54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden54 Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing