We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel, great price, sincere and friendly service ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Eden54

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Eden54
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great little hotel, great price, sincere and friendly service ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Eden54 for 4 nights. The hotel is at a really good location, close to the mall, right in between to 2 supermarkets, 10 min walk from the pier that takes you to the islands, right on the street call Jalan Gaya, which is where you will find yummy local food. The owner of the hotel is always at the front desk ready to help with anything. We ask her almost every meal for directions or where we should go and she always meets us with friendly advice. The only thing I would complain is that the internet was sometimes unstable (mostly at night.) Walking around Kota Kinabalu I feel that most budget hotels are very rundown. So I'm really happy with what I get at Eden 54 with the price they offered. It was new, clean, friendly, convenient, and inexpensive. I will definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sombiebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    381
    92
    12
    1
See reviews for
182
528
103
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed six nights at Hotel Eden 54 from June 25, 2014. There are many things I like about this hotel.
1. Booking is not difficult. They reply to our emails fast. The details are clearly stated in the email.
2. We arrived in Kota Kinabalu at 1am. In the email they said they will expect us at 1:30am. True enough, Mr. Dennis was waiting for us downstairs to welcome us.
3. The rooms look exactly like how they appear in pictures in their website. There's no false advertising there.
4. The location is very convenient. It's just a walking distance to everything! Jesselton point, Suria Sabah, Signal Hill, Old Town White Coffee, Sunday Market, and many more! There's even a grocery store and a fruit stall downstairs! We saved a lot in taxi fare!
5. Last, but definitely not the least, the hotel is comprised by a great staff! We like Ms. LingLing and Mr. Dennis a lot! It feels like they are just relatives who let us stay in their home. The personal connection and rapport they had with us gives the hotel a homey feel. They are also very considerate with our requests.

If you're ever going to Kota Kinabalu, you don't have to think twice in booking with Hotel Eden 54. It has relatively cheaper price than other hotels, but the location is very convenient and the service is superb!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie Sheridan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

This place was excellent value for money! The staff were friendly, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the price could have been double what we paid. They even have a laundry service for 6rm per kg (we paid 9rm for express).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nos21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights during our KK visit. To be honest, the room was slightly smaller than we have expected but the size is good enough for 2 people with a huge suitcase (and for the price given we are satisfied).

Check-in process was a breeze. Although there is no fridge inside the room, there is a common fridge which we could use. The bed and the pillow were comfy and we were able to have many nights of good sleep. The room is cleaned daily with daily replacement of towels and 2 bottles of water.

Location is also great. Right next to a supermarket and behind Suria Sabah, a large shopping mall in KK which has plenty of food options and another huge supermarket. As KK is a very small town, everything is within walking distance and it takes around 15-20 minutes walk from the hotel to the "Bar street" and Warisan square.

The staff are nice and they know at least 4 languages, English, Malay, Cantonese and Mandarin so communication is easy and efficient. They were also nice enough to lend me their phone for reaching my day-tour guy and airport pick-up.

However, the water pressure in the room was so weak that when I was having a shower, half of my body was actually cold as the water was just lukewarm with weak pressure. We communicated this with the staff and they tried to fix it but no significant improvement was noted.

Besides, the wifi connection is definitely the SLOWEST I have ever seen in many years. You have to wait for at least 2-3 minutes for an email with just a few lines (without any attachments) to be sent. Uploading 70kB document took me 3 minutes! It did became faster at the non-peak area (based on my experience, after 1am, or around 2-3pm) but I consider this is unacceptable in these days as wifi is just a basic necessity for travellers.

Overall, as a great shower and good wifi connection are just important as a comfy bed and pillow to me, I just had an OK experience. I would however recommend this hotel to those who are on budget and want to have a good night of sleep at a convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica_C_BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

A nice boutique hotel along Jalan Gaya, conveniently located within 5 minutes walk to Suria Sabah shopping mall, various diniing options (cheap & expensive) with lots of travel companies just located nearby. The hotel is very clean and the staff service is excellent.

Room Tip: My room was 102 and I was pretty happy with it. King size bed with a window facing main road but co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keet516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed in the Family Room for 2 nights in June 2014. One night before heading to Mesilau Nature Resort and another night after our Mt KK hike.

Pros:
1) The hotel manager knows her visitors by name. We were warmly welcomed.
2) She helped us to arrange transport to the Kinabalu Park (RM200 for a 12-seater van) and taxi to the airport (RM30).
3) Recommended good food around the town.
4) When we were back from our Mt KK climb, our extra luggages which we left behind were already in our rooms.
5) Comfortable beds. Fresh linens. Clean bathroom. Complimentary drinking water.
6) Very good location. Nearby to Sunday Gaya Market, supermarket, restaurants, shopping mall.

Cons:
1) Small room.
2) No telephone. No fridge. (Not really a concern to us)
3) About 28 steps of stairs to the lobby. I believe the hotel staff would be able to help if you are carrying heavy luggages. Anyway, we almost cried in silence when we see stairs after the climb. On another note, well, what are those little stairs if you have conquered Mt KK.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pegwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

As others have said, what makes Eden54 so easy to like is the friendly service - the proprietor was easy to talk too and pleased to help with any request, including lending us towels for a day's snorkelling. Our room was nothing spectacular, but had a window onto the inner courtyard, and all the facilities we needed. The location is convenient for central KK, so there are lots of shops, banks and restaurants within walking distance, including a well-stocked supermarket right next door - so having no breakfast available at the hotel is hardly an issue. The wifi, while generally fine, did stop working on one night we were there, as a previous reviewer has noted, but this blemish hardly impacted upon our experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJFlinward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden54

Property: Hotel Eden54
Address: 54 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eden54 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden54 is a budget boutique hotel located in the city center of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, near major shopping malls, banks, supermarket, restaurants, tourism offices and jetty to Labuan and other famous islands in Sabah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Eden54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden54 Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing