We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel that punches above its class”
Review of Hotel Eden54

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Eden54
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
170 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great value hotel that punches above its class”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Based on all the wonderful reviews on trip advisor, we booked the hotel for a short holiday in KK. And we were not disappointed. The welcome was warm and the room was great. Location is really good. Supermarkets nearby to get whatever you want and lots of food joints on Gaya Street not more than a few minutes walk away. Mall just a few minutes walk. Hotel manager is as good as everyone makes her out to be . She can arrange most things for you. Really can't go wrong with this great value hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lowsweeheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    384
    92
    12
    1
See reviews for
184
536
104
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The hotel is located in the center, easy to access.

Staff: helpful and friendly. They provided the info we inquired for.

Room: Clean and basic. However, the corridor carpet is smelly which deteriorates the quality in a whole.

Cost: Value for money

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aunatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Since this is my first trip to Kota Kinabalu, I browsed for many budget hotels and finally selected this hotel. After I booked this hotel, I had other suggestions from others but my hunches told me to keep this selection...glad I did.

This hotel is situated at the heart of town and is well maintained. My friends and I stayed in the family room with 2 queen sized beds which are clean and comfortable for a reasonable price. We had fun enjoying the set up in the hotel area as it was nicely decorated. The management did a good job making it cosy and comfortable.
The staffs are very helpful and especially Rosanne who was very nice and accommodating as we were quite "cheeky" but not "destructive".

You can take a 5-minutes walk to the upmarket shopping mall, walk along Jalan Gaya (same street as the hotel) to many delicious food outlets. The Sunday market is also another 5-minutes walk from the hotel.
I strongly recommend this hotel to any travellers who are planning to stay in Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

On my last 2 trips to KK, I made sure that I stayed at Eden54 as this hotel is in the heart of KK and is close to the financial facilities. There is a convenience store downstairs and even a few Kopitiam shops. Just behind the hotel there is a Japanese restaurant and you will be amazed with the choise of Italian, French and local cusines. The seafront is not too far off and you can have a huge choise of Malay seafood stalls. But I must compliment Ling Ling and her team who made my last stay a pleasant one. The next trip to KK will surely be Eden54.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Nets55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Eden54 for 5 days recently - mainly as a resting point for doing the 2-day hike up beautiful Mt Kinabalu. I had read the superb reviews for the hotel and the recommendation from Lonely Planet, and I can say without a doubt that this hotel deserves all the credit it receives.

It looks modest from the outside, but as soon as you arrive and are welcomed by Ling-Ling the hotel should be rated 5-star. The rooms are immaculate (I had a studio room with ensuite bathroom), clean, modern, colourful - and cool (air-con was a must for this time of year). Its location in Kota Kinabalu makes it within walking distance of everything important, plus having a supermarket next door is very handy - although don't be fooled into having breakfast at the supermarket cafe(not good!), head to the OldTown White Coffee a few blocks down, half the price twice as good.

Cannot endorse Ling-Ling's service enough - she is polite, friendly, welcoming, informative, and nothing is too much trouble for her. Laundry is easy to organise and cheap, and if you need any ideas, prices, taxis, or information about Sabah - she's exactly who to ask.

Don't overlook this hotel - it's outstanding and I hope other hotels in KK aspire to the service and standards at Eden54.

Room Tip: Get a window room if you're staying for more than a few nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Durban61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Eden54 is my favourite place to stay in KK. Unbeatable location within walking distance of everything. Ling Ling is the best hotel manager in the world, she's super helpful and very friendly. She can help you book tours and give advice. The rooms are a very good price and have everything - a comfy bed, free WiFi, in-room mini fridge, safety lock storage box, arm chair, cupboard, work desk, and even an Australian power plug. Water pressure is good. They have a great laundry service too. I love Eden54 and will be coming back. It will exceed your expectations. For the price you pay it's the best value hotel you will ever stay in.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Deseto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The hotel has a home-liked feeling! The basic facilities are complete! Strategic location, easily accessible to the nearby cafe & local authentic kopitiam. However, it would be even better if the hotel rate can be lower.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kguan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden54

Property: Hotel Eden54
Address: 54 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eden54 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden54 is a budget boutique hotel located in the city center of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, near major shopping malls, banks, supermarket, restaurants, tourism offices and jetty to Labuan and other famous islands in Sabah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Eden54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden54 Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing