We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Eden54
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

After reading all the reviews in tripadvisor about this hotel, we decided to give this hotel a try. We were not let down. Everything went on smoothly. Its a small but clean and functional boutique hotel. Pillows and linens are clean. Bathroom has no sight of molds and of course very clean.
We took a family room with 2 queen bed as there are 2 kids and 2 adults. It was more than spacious. Our room was facing the hill and main road. Its not noisy but feels rather cosy ( you can open the window too)
Supermarket , restaurant, cafe are just downstairs so you have everything you need within walking distance.
Loved it.
Ling-Ling was very friendly. We chatted in the living hall and she even gave us tips on Sandakan as we were heading there next day.
Will come back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gracefulgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

Hotel Eden 54 is very chic and cozy hotel. Once you enter the room you will feel relaxed because of the proper lighting and smell of the room. Fresh bed linen and pillows are given to you. One cons is the carpet is quite smelly outside the room heading to the lobby area. Ling-ling the store owner/ supervisor is very helpful from day 1 to the end of our stay. You can ask her anything about KK and will may your trip easier.She introduced us to Alex who became our tour guide and shuttle service during our stay. All of them were helpful and treated us like a family. Hotel location is really good it is very near to the biggest mall Suria Sabah, walking distance to Gaya St. where the Sunday flea market is located and fook yuen fast food- serves cheap and delicious dimsum. Definetely, I will recommend this hotel for all the travelers who will have a vacation in Kota Kinabalu. Oh by the way the conditioning shampoo they serve is really nice and smells great :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NinHera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

The 3 of us checked into the Studio Plus room which is basically equipped. Despite the basic amenities, I have to say they hv clean bedsheets and smell free pillows! I have stayed in 5 stars hotel before and some of them have smelly pillows that irks me. Anyway, the hotel is well located, 5 mins walk to a new shopping mall Suria Sabah, and all other good things you can read about from other reviewers. But I like to share particularly the friendliness of the staff there, the reception supervisor Ling Ling helped us made arrangements for day tours and taxi transfers and I am pretty sure she doesn't get any commission for doing that. And what was worth commending is that we supposed to stay for 4 nights but during the booking we were told that only 3 nights were available as they were fully booked on the last night of our stay. I almost booked Le Meridien because about every nearby hotels were fully booked too. I was quite daring to just went without booking a hotel on our last night trying our luck to see if there's a cancellation in Hotel Eden54. What she did was, upon our arrival, she checked if we needed help to book with another hotel and she just handled that nicely for us. We were booked in Hotel Sixty3 which is just 5 mins walk away and she even helped us with our transfer. Even though Hotel Sixty3 is a much bigger and comfortable hotel, we were impressed and Ling Ling sure win our hearts and should next time when anyone asked for a hotel recommendation in KK. It's gonna be Hotel Eden!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Twocents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

It is true that sometimes, good things come in small measure. Despite its small stature, Eden54 is an oasis that I look forward to return to after a hard day outside. Boutique hotel is an apt description of it. The décor is restful with earthy and soothing colour, with the right combination of textures and contrasts. You have everything you need inside your room. There's a flat screen that I never use, air-con, bathroom that comes with all amenities. Water pressure is a tad weak but it's perfectly workable. Gaya Street is the Chinatown of Kota Kinabalu and you have many eateries (kopi tiams) nearby. The large department store, Suria is only one minute walk away. Mind you, department store here is not of the same calibre as you would find in Singapore but for amenities, they are convenient. Taxis can be found there too. And that's also where the waterfront is but you may find it to be abandoned the whole time. On the top floor of Suria is a cinema and for MYR$8 per movie, you would be a fool not to catch some movies when you're here! If you want to restock your supplies, don't fret. Supermarket is literally just downstairs from Eden54. The constant presence of Eden54 is the ever-resourceful and amiable Ling-Ling (owner/manager). Nothing is too difficult for her and she's forever obliging to ensure the stay is an enjoyable one. There's a sign written on the ground floor stating that if you need help with luggage, just press the bell and the Front Office person would come to your aid. As for me, the moment I stepped through the door, the Front Office person was already by my side and that's what I called Exceptional in Customer Service. And for that, I would have to say, Eden54 won the People's Vote, hands down! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiredfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Eden54 twice on our trip to Sabah in September. I booked online due to the reviews and I have to say we were not disappointed.

The main selling selling point for this hotel was fantastic staff especially the owner/manager Ling Ling. from the moment we arrived she was on hand and made sure that we had everything that we needed. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. She was especially helpful with recommendations on what to do and where to go and once we decided she organised everything for us. It was like having our own personal tour manager.

The hotel itself was immaculate. Very clean with good facilities for the price. On our second stay we had the internal windowless rooms which was very good value for money and quieter than the road facing rooms. It's a few minutes walk to the city centre and all the main sites and just round the corner is the ferry port.

This hotel is recommended for those on a mid-range budget who are using it as a base to travel around the area.

Room Tip: Traffic can heard in the rooms facing the road but the cheaper windowless rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed there with my parents for 4 days 3 nights.

Let's start with the cons. You need to climb out 1 flight of stairs to reach the lobby and rooms. If you have huge luggage or will have difficulty climbing stairs, this would not be the place for you.
It's further away from the food shops, markets and tourist spots. Again, if you are with older folks who cannot walk much, you will need to take a taxi around, which in Kota Kinabalu is not cheap. Taxi rides are usually RM12 to anywhere within town area. If you don't mind walking, the spots are about 20 mins away with a leisurely walk.

The pros: The room is cozy and clean. The staff is friendly, especially the owner. She suggested many good spots and even arranged for us to visit the yearly Tamu Kota Belut. You just have to ask for help and she can arrange tours or cars for you.
The hotel is also near to the jetty so it's convenient if you plan to go to the islands.

In short, if you want cozy and clean with a personal touch at an good price, this would be the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharonyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Yes this is a nice clean little "Motel"
for the not so well off travelers to overnight
But to say that it is better then some of the 5 star hotels and resorts. ..well that's an opinion of some very happy people! !!
Maybe some of the management of Sabah s
5 star hotels should look into and find out why.this little Motel is so liked by all its fans.
Then they might learn something about how to run a hotel or resort so it can rate so high on Tripadvisor. ..!!"

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank brown656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
721 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden54

Address: 54 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $34 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eden54 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden54 is a budget boutique hotel located in the city center of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, near major shopping malls, banks, supermarket, restaurants, tourism offices and jetty to Labuan and other famous islands in Sabah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Eden54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden54 Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing