We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So sorry to leave.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Eden54

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Eden54
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So sorry to leave.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel a number of times throughout April 2013, so I got to sleep in a variety of rooms, each one was great!

The rooms do vary in size/price - but even the smallest was plenty big enough for a solo traveller (although that room did only have an internal window); the largest comfortably accommodated two huge king beds. All the rooms were safe, secure,modern (recently refurbished), spotlessly clean, had efficient showers and a/c, and the free wi-fi was strong every time.

It's location is at the end of town, just beyond the end of Gaya Street (great for the Sunday market); shopping mall, restos and banks are all on the doorstep. Little walk down to the night market and the mini-bus station (15 mins).

What really makes this hotel stand out is it's staff - each time I returned I was greeted like an old friend and anything I had left with them in storage (provided free) was already in my room.

Any request I had was dealt with quickly and nothing was too much to ask but, best of all, they completely made me feel at home - such a special experience to receive from a hotel!

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were great. Even the smallest/cheapest room still had a double bed, it would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    380
    91
    12
    1
See reviews for
182
526
103
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Princesa, Philippines
Level Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Well actually I won't repeat all that has already been written. The ratings (over 90% "excellent or "very good") don't lie. Most days we were there the hotel was full.
It just shows what can be achieved by a modest property when large amounts of helpfulness and service (with a smile) are applied.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. I highly recommend this hotel - it's in a good location (northern end of the CBD) , it's well maintained, and your host Ling Ling is the most helpful person that has ever worked at a hotel. Being a smaller hotel it of course doesn't have things like a gym, restaurant or a pool - but I honestly think the helpfulness of the staff and the fact that it's a bargain make up for it.

It's in a good location - not far from the jetty where you can catch a boat to the nearby islands, and since it's in the town centre it's near shopping centres like Suria Sabah.

There's some good restaurants close by, and for a good western breakfast just try next door at (believe it or not) the supermarket Tong Hing. It opens at 8. The eggs Benedict blew my mind and the coffee was good too. 30RM for both! That's less than 10 USD.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mdpickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived at hotel eden54 we received top service and had our every need taken care of! Ling Ling, the owner, was extremely helpful and will book tours for you, organise taxis (including telling the driver your destination and arranging the fare) and help you any other way she can.

There is no restaurant on site but many close by. For breakfast, Tong Hing, the gourmet supermarket next door, has a cafe that serves from 8am (eggs benedict & coffee rm27), and 'old town white coffee' 2 blocks away serves from 6:30am.

We had a king double room with window. The beds and pillows were comfortable, and the room, whole small, was very clean. Shower not super hot but definitely sufficient. Tv was fuzzy at first but a jiggle of the cable at the wall fixed that. Overall, we are very very happy with our choice and will come again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinalovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This little hotel was such a comfort after 17 hours in a plane from the UK. I cannot believe how friendly the staff were. They went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our trip. It made our holiday. We basically used it as a base to visit all over Sabah and because it was such good value for money, so clean and comfy we came back on several occasions. Highly recommended. Don't miss out on this place.xxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: all our rooms were lovely. those in the new wing were slightly newerhowever
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Everything you can ask for a hotel. Affordable, clean, great location and friendly staff. Very near to the Jesselton point, around 15 mins walk, 5 mins walk to Suria mall and there's also a nice supermarket just below the hotel. The bed was awesome, very comfortable, sleep was no problem at all. Really worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholasLim07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

During my stay at Hotel Eden54, I had a problem with my flights on Malaysia Airlines. The staff went above and beyond to help me resolve the problem; they were truly concerned about me and I don't know what I would have done without them! The room was also clean, comfortable, and secure with excellent wifi. Hotel Eden54 is a terrific place to stay and it is run by some of the kindest people. As a solo traveler, it felt great to know that I could count on the staff if I needed assistance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chilopoda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden54

Property: Hotel Eden54
Address: 54 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eden54 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden54 is a budget boutique hotel located in the city center of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, near major shopping malls, banks, supermarket, restaurants, tourism offices and jetty to Labuan and other famous islands in Sabah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Eden54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden54 Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing