We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A lovely find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Eden54

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Eden54
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We picked this hotel based on reviews by fellow Trip Advisor travellers, and we were not disappointed. We stayed a night in a window-less room, which was small but spotlessly clean, and adequate (including free wifi). The next morning we left early to climb Mt Kinabalu, and were able to leave our suitcase in storage for our return. We arrived back the following afternoon, and this time we had a larger room with a window. We were greeted with big smiles from everyone (in fact, all the staff are always smiling!) and our suitcase was already placed in our room. Great service! We enjoyed another 2 nights in Kota Kinabalu, exploring the quaint streets, eating great local food, all within easy walking distance from the hotel. Ling Ling and team were warm, friendly, and efficient. More than just another hotel, we felt like we were staying in a friend's home! We look forward to returning to Eden54 the next time we are in KK!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    364
    86
    10
    1
See reviews for
168
510
96
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Eden 54 for 2 nights and it satisfied our needs perfectly. It was slightly more upmarket than the rest of our trip but we had been trekking for a week and were looking for something slightly nicer. The room was spacious, the bed was amazing and the hot shower was the perfect welcome.

We went accross the road to speak to the tourism office about an excursion to see the rafelesia flowers and they knew far less than Ling. Infact they failed to let us know that it wasnt open for the times we had asked but luckily Ling told us before we set off. She then produced a whole range of options of sightseeing that we could consuct instead and put us back in the right direction.


We felt new again after leaving - even if it only lasted a few days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lairdo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Definitely a no for us.. The hotel looks modern and clean which it is to some extend.. Our room was nice however the water in the bathroom kept on coming up from the pipes so the bathroom was pretty much flooded all the time. Room was noisy as the hotel is situated on a busy road. Road traffic stops at about midnight and then starts again at 4am. So overall clean, noisy, poor quality laundry service and friendly but not extremely helpful people at the reception desk. Also, something to bear in mind if you pay over the phone. We booked hotel for one night prior arrival via phone and paid with a card. Then we decided to stay one more night for which we paid cash on departure. Only to find out when we came home that they actually charged us for two nights on the card.. For the rest of our stay in KK we moved to Le Meridien, it is more expensive but we had much pleasurable stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ostrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in April, great location - central to the city. Supermarket next door as well. Ling Ling is amazing, she can organise all your trips, she even sent us a package of a few things that we left behind to our next destination - thanks :). Alvin the taxi driver organised by Ling Ling was great, on time, and we had many laughs talking about the country. Pay the extra to stay in the Studio king with window, plenty of room, we paid for the room while we went to do the mountain climb, came back and the bed made, everything cleaned and welcomed by friendly staff. Great value for money.

Room Tip: studio king with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PiafSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

i stayed here for 4 nights in march and was so impressed with my stay here. it's about 15 minutes from the airport and is quite centrally located in the city - that being said, the city is not that big. the hotel is next to a nice, gourmet grocer with a small cafe attached inside. its also a block away from a huge mall with lots of dining options and a 5 minute walk to the jetty where you can visit the different islands (sapi, mamutik etc). the hotel is newly renovated and the rooms are very modern, i love the wooden floors. the front desk is so friendly, and so accommodating. they gave me advice on where to go, what to do and even gave me discount coupons for the ferry that visited the different islands. can't wait to go back here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Located right on Kaya Street where all the famous local food located and easily accessible. Jesselton Ferry is within 10 mins walk. A supermarket is right next to the hotel.

Clean room though a bit small, super helpful and friendly staff. You can actually speak in Cantonese, Mandarin or English with the staff.

Downside is you need to walk one-floor staircase in order to get to the reception. Get prepared if you're with a luggage case.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psyclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We've stayed a few nights at the Hotel Eden54, because we was looking for a good located place in Kota Kinabalu. The hotel is conveniently located near several shopping centres, a supermarket, ATM, restaurants etc. It's just a 5 minutes walk to Jesselton Point where you can grab a ferry to Sapi, Manukan, Mamutik or other islands.

If you are looking for an affordable place, which let you feel like home then Hotel Eden54 is the best choice. The hotel is tastefully decorated in a minimalist style. It is basic, clean and offer free WiFi.

Room Tip: For two persons, I recommend to book "Compact D, Queen Bed (with window)"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bthoenissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#12 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden54

Property: Hotel Eden54
Address: 54 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eden54 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden54 is a budget boutique hotel located in the city center of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, near major shopping malls, banks, supermarket, restaurants, tourism offices and jetty to Labuan and other famous islands in Sabah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Eden54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden54 Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing