We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suang Tain Seafood Restaurant

Suang Tain Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 555 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Established since 1983.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Seafood Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a must do in KK.
Go to Sedco Square (Kampung Air) and Twin Sky or Suang Tian is the biggest and busiest restaurant.
The waitresses were helpful and explained how to go about making an order and recommended dishes we would life.
Over two different nights we had soft shelled crabs (eat them whole, delicious), tiger prawns, BBQ squid, and white clams all with fresh vegetable dishes and rice, and some cold beer to wash the food down.
It was fun selecting the seafood from the live tanks and the food quickly came out hot and scrumptious.
Price was very reasonable. I just wish we had a few more nights to try more food, especially some of the dishes we saw locals having.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Clare_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    111
    36
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
München, Deutschland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Super fresh seafood for a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is seafood Heaven .make sure that you go early to have time to choose one of the Restaurant ,more Chinese than malaysian owner.we choose the malaysian one on the front right side.we had a wonderful quick Service and the seafood what we choosed from Chili crabs,to Tiger prawns and fresh fish and lobster was all super fresh and really tasty.price for seafood and drinks are okay.
Come back again next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank romario1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Super-fresh seafood in a shed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Most of the seafood is live in tanks. It is fascinating just wandering around looking at the huge variety first before ordering. A waitress helped us make a selection. The food was delicious (we had a crab dish that was amazing) but not cheap. The place is just a huge shed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank David_Hindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a must try seafood restaurant and not pricy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

excellent chinese style seafood cuisine with warm service and fresh food.
we tried twice with different dishes and we liked all of them.
but the environment is not that good for babies.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wei W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
403 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not cheap, popular to tourist”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We knew Twin-Sky is not cheap at all before our visit. But it had more variety of seafood than other places. We ordered Giant tiger prawn sashimi (RM70 each), 2 steamed crab (Rm48 for 800g), steamed Marble goby (RM90 for 600g), fried vegetables, two drinks. ended up at RM220. Marble goby was a bit disappointed. Fish meat itself is not so tasty (maybe too small). crab is very fresh. tiger prawn sashimi is good but expensive. You can sit outdoor or indoor air-con room. Worth a try if you want to try different varieties of seafood.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricky_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suang Tain Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Suang Tain Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing