We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #19 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed here in May during one of my business trip. I would recommend their studio room which cost you about USD 100-120. But its worth much more than that. its a suit with full fledged kitchen, believe me you will love it. If you have little bit interest in cooking,thats the place you should be.
At the same time if you choose some other rooms it will equally disappoint you.

Would love to be here in this hotel and this room as and when I travel to KK

Room Tip: Go for Studio Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skhanna441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CititelExpressKK, Hotel Manager at Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu and thank you for sharing your feedback.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed staying in our Studio. For your information, if you do not want to do cooking in your next trip or Studio is not available, you may also consider our Superior triple that is located on the same floor with Studio. The rooms are more spacious than our standard room in lower floors and also equipped with better facilities such as ironing facilities in the room, minibar, kettle etc.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again in the near future.


Sherry Yee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    244
    165
    30
    18
See reviews for
72
127
80
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Overall for this hotel is good for comfortable room even though it is quite small, acceptable price and good location. However, it is terrible for breakfast. d ingredient they use in breakfast is smelly & expiry. i got food poisoning & gastric after having their breakfast. Pls dun take their food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janepung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CititelExpressKK, Hotel Manager at Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu and thank you for sharing your feedback.

We regret to hear that you have got food poisoning during your recent trip to Kota Kinabalu and feel sorry that the breakfast smells bad to you. However, it is impossible that the restaurant will use expired ingredients. Our restaurant is currently tenanted to Japanese owner who runs many famous chain outlets in West Malaysia. The variety of breakfast is limited but it is freshly cooked everyday using fresh ingredients. The kitchen staff and the management staff of the restaurant also taste the food everyday after they cook but no food poisoning case is reported.
The food poisoning may have caused from other food taken somewhere else which is not suitable to some individuals.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again.

Sherry Yee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Apart from the small rooms, everything else was fine. Booked my room through Agoda.com and stayed there on three separate occasions in the past 2 years. Rooms were nice and clean. Staffs were very professional. Within walking distance to almost everything in Kota Kinabalu. A bit dodgy to walk around at night, but use common sense and you will be grand.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MELVIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2014

i chose this hotel because of my friend told me he had lives before, with a ticket package the price was excellent, the staff of hotel were polite, the room was clean and simple, the big window let the room being capacious.

Room Tip: non smoking room, with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getwayhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

we chose a standard room through our travel agency.=( consisting of a queen bedroom ).Upon arrival,we were so shocked to see the size of the room.Its too small for a family of three.You need to get your plain water ( mineral water supply ) from a common area and ironing to be done in a common area as well.The walkway from the front door to the bed is so narrow ( especially if you are big and tall) .In short its too cramp.

We upgraded to a triple room which is the size of your usual hotel( roomy with daily top up of two mineral water bottles ) and personal ironing board and iron( iam a muslim wearing with a hijab therefore iam not comfortable ironing outside by myself) .

The standard of cleanliness is good and the staffs ( from housekeeping to front desk are amazing) .Very efficient indeed. We use the laundry services for few days and we are happy that the clean laundry came back the same day at no extra charge unlike other hotels we have stayed in.( we did not request for same day delivery).

Buffet breakfast was decent,same meal every morning but hey you get what you payright?.If you are keen to try local delicacies ,opposite star city mall, the y have pasar tani( morning market ) every Monday,wednesday and Saturday.Or you can have your breakfast at the nearby stalls which is really cheap ( 7 pieces of banana fritters for one ringgit , 3 big donuts for one ringgit and few other local delicacies such as kuih kuih,coconut rice,yellow rice with dishes.really cheap indeed and halal too.

You can also have your lunch at the starcity mall mixed rice shop which is again halal.If you are a durian lover, you should also try the durian pancake ( you can get it at the very entrance of the star city mall.

overall,we enjoy our stay at cititel express .we will come again in the nearest future ..good location,good value for money and good services from the hotel staffs

Room Tip: get a triple room if you are travelling with more than 3 person.and if you are travelling as a coupl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jangankepoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

I can say its just meant for sleep and rest if you have works to do near the hotel.

Its quite far if you intend to walk from the hotel to Pasar Vietnam where the goodies of pearl are sold as a main attraction.

The room is clean and comfy.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Zakisarpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

The room is very clean, new furniture. Clean toilet. Very small in size. Modern design and good interior set up, so you won't feel the room is that 'small'. Buffet breakfast was decent, but same menu every morning. We stayed 3 nights, our last breakfast became boring... wish they could have change some of the food..

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank XRuChiaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu

Property: Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Address: No. 1 Jalan Singgah Mata, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing