We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Traveller

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Traveller
Ranked #38 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed in the standard room. No windows, which is always a drag. Rooms have tv's, but I think they're older than me! Tiny tv's with aweful signal.
Mosquitoes x 10 in room. The reason ror that is that cleaning personel leaves the door to the room open before new guests arrive. Nice!
Staff were just okay. Not very welcoming. More busy with their phones.
Best thing about this hotel is the location. Near everything.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelandkine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
12
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zhanjiang, China
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Hotel Traveller is a great budget hotel that is situated right in the heart of the city. Everything is in easy walking distance from this hotel, and if you have to go further afar, it is right beside a taxi rank, and the southern buses depart only 100m away. The rooms are well appointed, there is a lift which is great for a budget hotel, and the staff are welcoming and friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinchina2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I actually have a residence proper in keningau so there are times business meetings drag till near midnite...then I have to lay to rest till the dawn.I found the hotel for the first time going to the hospital at queen elizabeth 2 and I had a long queue till eight at night.I have stayed in the small room and had a comfy stay.the fact they have a lift is convenient. The taxi is also next to the building 24 kfc so relieving when hunger strikes at night. Next occasions meant for the family room and even when my mum and son was coming along with me to my buisness meeting they stayed in the hotel happily even when i was busy at the office.The budget was friendly there was sundry shops nearby plus pharmacies for pensioners or the sickly elderly.if travelling with old folks this hotel is very convenient.A solace for caregivers a retreat for elders.

Room Tip: for smokers do get the room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zarina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel is kind of old, but what i liked most about it is its location - the restaurants, malls/money changers, night market are just a few steps away. There's also a taxi stand right next to the hotel. The room was pretty average, but it's okay given the fact that it is a budget hotel and you'll probably be outdoors the whole day, anyway. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabah, Borneo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

I recently stayed in a single room with windows. Feel regret with what I am paying for, sometimes. The services need improvement!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ir_1shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2010

I recently stayed in a room with no windows. It was dark, stunk like dirty socks and the air felt kinda moist. We moved to a new room. It stunk worse. Maybe the rooms with windows are better though I didn't try. I don't think its the hotels fault. They are newly opened. But its an old building and the mold must just be in the walls.

All the rooms are very clean, have A/C, free wifi and TV with HBO and the hotel is in a great area and the staff are super nice. If you are allergic to mold or don't want to put up with the stink, you might want to check out the room before booking.

I would recommend the rooms with windows. It is better than some of the other hotels for the same price in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

This hotel just opened some time around Feb 2009. Prices are lower than others in the area. Good location. Taxi stand, shopping, and eateries nearby. I stayed here for 1 night (Rm68 for a room without window and a queen-sized bed, attached bathroom). Rooms with windows cost slightly more. Unlike other hotels (I viewed a number of rooms in budget hotels), this one is very new and clean. I had a room reserved via email.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank working4vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hii-5 Hotel
Hii-5 Hotel
#67 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Story Tel
Story Tel
#40 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#42 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Switz Paradise Hotel
Switz Paradise Hotel
#77 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
A & J Budget Hotel
A & J Budget Hotel
#84 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kinabalu
Hotel Kinabalu
#50 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Traveller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Traveller

Property: Hotel Traveller
Address: Shoplot 27 & 28. Jalan Tugu, Kg Air, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Traveller 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Traveller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Traveller Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing