We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful native Borneo orchids”
Review of Orchid De Villa

Orchid De Villa
Fremantle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful native Borneo orchids”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our second visit to Orchid de Villa (first was in 2009). The place has changed hands and is somewhat rundown compared to its former state (they no longer farm hybrids to fund it). The guide is enthusiastic and very knowledgeable about the orchids, often apologising for the fact that the plants only have Latin names. Those that were out the day we visited varied enormously, some species only flower for a day and we saw three of them. One had the smallest flower of any orchid in Borneo, and we saw two vanilla orchids (not native to Borneo) - one was in flower and the other had a vanilla pod on it! there were also hoyas, waterlillies and wonderful ferns. They even had 2 Xanthorrhoeas growing, great fillip to Aussies!! If you have any interest in native specie orchids, this place is great, short distance from KK (you do need taxi as way is not well signed) and you can do it in about 3 hours go to whoh!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    14
    3
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gardeners Delight”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you love orchids then you should go visit this attraction. A little run down but look past that and learn from the man who tends these beautiful plants. Thoroughly enjoy my 2 hours in his company.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FrogTravellingOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Over Priced & Inflated Pamphleterring”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Visited this place in early April 2013. Directions fairly poor but this is typical of Kota Kinabalu. Road signs where they exist are only for locals. It is located about 100 metres off a rough road up a rougher side entrance. The first impression is quite good but the two fold on duty a younger guy and older woman failed to extract MR80 ($USD26). Both could hardly speak English and there was a guided tour on offer. Cleared out of there within 5minutes after this attempt at extortion.

Compare with say the Orchidarium in Nagoya, Japan or the Ratchapreusek Orchid Show in Chiang Mai, Thailand. Like so many things in KK it is completely oversold and an irritating disappointment

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank 214PaulA214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Only if you love orchids”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

As many tripadvosors said go there only if you LOVE orchids. This trip is a little bit pricey: entrance fee and guided tour 80 rym per person, roundtrip taxi ride 120 rym (taxi driver asked 150 rym at first). The whole trip took us appr. 3 hours. Plan to go there early in the morning when it's not too hot. Orchid De Villa closed on Mondays.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Zhenia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Paradise but only for Orchid enthusiastic's”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Based on the reviews here on Tripadvisor, I decided to have a walk around through the Orchid Villa as my girlfriend loves Orchids.

I assumed, that we'll be walked around through a garden or something else.

First be warned:
If you're not an enthusastic lover of Orchid's, you will be surely disappointed.
Most Orchid's we all know from the flower shops are so called 'hybrids' which are especially made for growing at home.
The Orchids you will found there are the native one and nearly all of them are totally different to the Hybrid ones.

Further, it's not easy to find and quite abroad.
In total, we spent
- 50MYR for the ride from KK City Center
- 20MYR that the taxi driver waited to bring us back
- 80MYR/person as entry fee
- 50MYR for bringing us back to KK

As it's more located close to the jungle, you should bring good shoes with you and protect yourself against Mosquitos.
For us, it was interesting but too expensive as we had any kind of knowledge of Orchids :)

Nevertheless, the guide is very experienced and for all, who like to learn more about it, it's perfect.

Helpful?
6 Thank Invocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchid De Villa also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Orchid De Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing