We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded location with lousy staffs”
Review of Manja Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manja Hotel
Ranked #23 of 79 Kota Kinabalu B&B and Inns
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Secluded location with lousy staffs”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Lousy staffs/ customer service . Confirm airport transfer but no one was at the airport to pick us up. Call up the hotel and they ask for airport terminal which I've already told them the flight no. and flight arrival timing . 2nd day room key not working so went to reception to validate it again . Reception staff not around so told one of the other staff who was there and he immediate told the reception staff as he was walking back towards the reception. I stand infront of the reception waiting for him to revalidate the key and after almost 10 minutes and it was still not done ! So I look at him and ask him, but he was like don't know what is happening and ask me what I want ? I've been standing there for so long right in front of him and he didn't bother to ask ! Nvr book this hotel ! Lousy and not cheap either at RM244 per night without breakfast and no toiletries provided in the room. Gaya Centre Hotel is much better choice with super good location and good service

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peg888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    18
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
9
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Location:
Located at Block E, right inside KK Times Square, it faces the inside of the square or courtyard, so you can't really see it from the outside. Just tell the cabbie it's directly behind Block A, or first alley on the right from the main road into Times Square, or just stop in front of Kingston Hotel and walk towards the inside of the square and it's the first corner on your right.

I checked in late at almost 9pm. That was painless as I booked through Agoda. To get to the rooms, you have to walk out of the reception area, through the main door and take the lift on the side of the building. This is typical of most KK hotels of this genre.

The Room:
Very nice, sleek, clean and most importantly, NO MILDEWY SMELL. I got one on the fourth floor that faced the inside of the square, which I liked because I could look down and watch people walking around, sitting outside the bars and eateries downstairs.

The bathroom was huge, nicely spaced out. Clean with no unnecessary bells and whistles. The hot water needs to be hotter though, and there were no towels. Not one, not even floor mats or hand towels. Not a big deal, but I'd just driven four hours from Kudat and was already half ready for my shower. At that point, I just wanted to wash and flop.

I can imagine that noise from the pubs below would be a problem on weekends, so...do bear that in mind. Noise was not an issue during my stay though.

Room Rate:
RM138 (~USD40) on Agoda, with free airport transfer.

Free Airport Transfer:
Aha. This was my little adventure. I asked for a 6.30am transfer when I checked in. All well & good the staff are friendly and very pleasant, all of them. Come morning, I checked out early and the driver was nowhere to be found. Not good for nervous travellers like me.

Fifteen minutes in, and the reception staff was still frantically calling for their colleague, who was not picking up his phone. At that point, I made a fuss and asked them to call me a cab. Some more frantic running around. I insisted on a cab again.

Long story short, cab came. Staff must have called a cabbie friend. "Am I paying for this or is the hotel paying?" I asked as I stepped out the door.

Graciously, they said the hotel was paying.


Pros and Cons:
1. Pleasant room
2. Pleasant staff
Clean
3. Not easy to get cabs. You need phone for a pick-up.
4. A little out of town centre but convenient for business trips if your meetings are near Times Square or Sutera Harbour, or if you're just stopping over to catch a flight the next day
5. Potential noise pollution on weekends because of the pubs
6. The airport transfer kerfaffle should never have happened. They need to have a word with their driver, or the night reception staff never told him he had a first thing next morning. My advice: if you decide to stay here, make sure you imprint your airport transfer or cab times into the reception staff's head.

I didn't have an unpleasant experience. I just felt all that fuss and stroppiness on my part could have been avoided.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynfulwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Didn't quite like the room, although big and spacious but it lacks the furnishing and other amenities.

Also since it is situated on the above a restaurant, room on the second floor has got this food / oil smell. Not really pleasant.

Stayed for 2 nights... House keeping NEVER came to clean the room, even with the sign put out.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NKeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Nice city boutique hotel with clean room and modern design.Great value for money with breakfast buffet .. hotel provided free airport transfer and staff was helpful with local attraction info.
Hot & powerful shower....an excellent touch !!
will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weiqitong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampong Jerudong, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Not highly suggested, I was making my booking through Agoda and was told by the hotel that they do not have our booking as well the room was fully booked. After a long trip from mount Kinabalu and what we have is no rooms without any solution. We have booked a family room with 2 queens bed and after more than an hour they manage to get a Deluxe room to change our original room which not sure how they get it. The room was not great (gloomy) and looks like they did not change the linen.

will not recommend or coming back again for this one.

Dini

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Located at new business square , surrounded with restaurant, 24 hours convenient stores and nightclubs. Clean, cozy, low price and suit the tight budget of certain group travellers. Note that a missing link between the business park and the main bus station shall make you walk longer towards the city center.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fadli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The first thing I look for in hotels are functional phones in my room. Unfortunately, the hotel room phones are not set-up that will allow hotel guests to make outside local calls. The only number you can call from this hotel's phone is front desk. Nevertheless, the room is very descent. The hotel's location is convenient. If you like to jog, the hotel's compound and its surrounding area are good areas for jogging. Front desk officers are friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanlovesnorkeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
0.1 mi away
KK Times Square Hotel
KK Times Square Hotel
#37 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
82 reviews
0.8 mi away
Asiana Hotel
Asiana Hotel
#46 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
16 reviews
5.4 mi away
Putatan Platinum Hotel
Putatan Platinum Hotel
#2 of 2 in Putatan
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
182 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ease Hotel Sdn Bhd
Ease Hotel Sdn Bhd
#25 of 79 in Kota Kinabalu
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Accord Regency Serviced Apartments
Accord Regency Serviced Apartmen...
#60 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manja Hotel

Property: Manja Hotel
Address: 26 Block E, KK Times Square | Off Coastal Highway,, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manja Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Manja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manja Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing