We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and good location”
Review of Hotel Asia City

Hotel Asia City
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Asia City
Ranked #74 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here for one night with a friend, pre our intripid tour. Rooms are basic but do the job so getting u a nights rest and ensuit bathroom with running water. Its not the cleanest sheets or carpet but its fine. The room we were in was very nosiy from 3am to 5am Sunday morning and we were kept up. Use early plugs if u are unlikely enough to encounter all the noise.
wifi in reception
good location, walking distance to market near the sea where you can get the best pinapple i have ever eaten and bbq food and various other really good food for very little. if you want to to go to the place where you get boats too the other islands, this is a much longer walk and maybe worth gettting a taxi, should be no more than 20rng. Centre point shopping centre nearby has most things u would need including banks and money exchange.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhungryLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2011

my partner and i always choose this hotel when we go to kk. we stayed at this hotel twice (for new year 2010 & new year 2011). for just rm80 per night, it is the best budget hotel for us so far. we stayed for 4 days and 3 nights on both trips. if you are looking for a cheap, basic and clean hotel room, this is the one..

on our first trip, the check in and out were very smooth.. very happy with the room and toilet (except for the a bit moldy shower curtain, but still ok for me).. the area outside the window was not so clean (again, still ok for me since it was outside)..

check in and out was not so smooth on the second trip (maybe the receptionist was new).. room and toilet were again very clean (including a clean shower curtain).. but the pipe on the sink leaked a bit, but not a problem to me at all..

the hot water system in the toilet always take time and sometimes not so hot.. sometimes you could hear noise from the next room and from outside.. but we still had a nice sleep thou..

the reception area (kind of small) and lift were not so nice-smelling (we don't mind, it's not like that we are going to be there for more than 5 minutes)..

this hotel is indeed in a good location.. just walk to api-api area (less than 5 minutes from the hotel) and there you can find restaurants, bars, cinema, taxi, 24-hours shop and shopping centre.. if we need a taxi to go to the airport, we just ask from the receptionist.. the taxi then arrived for like after 5 minutes..

if this hotel could maintain this quality consistently, we will definitely choose this hotel again in the future.. if you want to stay at this hotel, just booked from their website..and make early booking,this hotel is always full especialy during the new year or any other busy season..

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drOp-dead-bunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

This hotel is in a great location, close to everything, with a great seafood market just across the road.

The rooms were comfortable enough but the corridors and shared spaces felt a bit grotty. No breakfast provided, and a bit of an old smoke smell in some parts of it. My shower wasn't working.

My experience was OK but there are much better places in KK for the same price.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

I just went to Kota Kinabalu for 6 Days and 5 nights stay with my partner and we stayed in Hotel Asia City,It was easy for us to find because it is just located behind Golden Screen Cinema Asia City.The hotel is mainly near shopping malls and bus station which made things easier for us.

We check into Deluxe Room which only cost Rm80(USD 22.50).The room are comfortable,not too small for the 2 of us,they also provided bathtub with hot and cold water system.Which impress me the most is toilet are really clean.I could not imagine myself in a dirty toilet.There is air conditioning,tv with around 6 channel to watch,tea making facilities.The bed are really comfortable too.
If i am not mistaken,this hotel is still brand new,oened around 2 years ago.For the 5 nights i stayed,the hotel is always full house.

Overall,i have no complaint for this hotel and they do provide good customer service,the housekeeper was very friendly.There is only one problem for me,i have to let the water run for 5 minutes just to wait for hot shower.

3  Thank Jessica8712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayushan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hii-5 Hotel
Hii-5 Hotel
#53 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Switz Paradise Hotel
Switz Paradise Hotel
#75 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#26 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#68 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kinabalu
Hotel Kinabalu
#59 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Storytel Kota Kinabalu
Storytel Kota Kinabalu
#25 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asia City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asia City

Address: Jalan Kampung Air 2 | Lot 1-3, Block A, Asia City Phase 1A, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $20 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Asia City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Asia City Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing