We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location, Great Value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1 City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
1 City Hotel
Ranked #29 of 89 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Without fail, top Tripadvisor hotels lives to its reputation. I book the family room and fit 5 adults into the room. This hotel is a shop lot hotel, and it surpass our expectation. The room has a King and Single bed, and we aded 2 more additional bed. The room was clean, and the sheets and pillow were clean without any smell. The toilet is also clean and the surprising thing is that they change the towels everyday. We did not expect that.

The location of the hotel is at Segama, which is a few minutes walk to the Peer, Gaya St. and Markets. Its one of the best location as you do not need any other kind of transport to explore the city. Its close to Gaya St, Chinatown, thus close to many local Chinese food.

The only reason I am not scoring 5star is because of the windows. They are single glazed, and so the sound of the streets did bother us the first night. Our first night was Saturday night, and the Karaoke oposite the hotel blaze till late at night. Subsequent nights, there as no late night singing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KewLAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    49
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
32
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in april 2013 for more than a week: excellent hotel, clean, unexpensive rooms and very friendly staff, especially the welcoming smiles of the 3 ladies Fetty, Diana and Sandra.
From your greatest belgian fans: Kim, Ilja and Mr. Sami.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed at the 1 City Hotel for four nights in March 2013.

I arrived late at night at KKIA, and I was a bit apprehensive about a taxi as the hotel is fairly small and I feared it might not be well know. No bother though. The taxi voucher lady quickly recognized it and I purchased the voucher for RM30, fixed price.

The location of the hotel is good. It's in a central area close to most of the main shopping centres and restaurants. There is no breakfast at the hotel, so three times I went to the Old Town coffee shop which was about 5 mins walk away. Also it was very close to the starting point of a scuba diving excursion that I took (which was excellent, Divedown Below).

I opted for a Superior King room. The room was on the first floor. The decor and fittings of the room were adequate, and the bathroom was quite good. Housekeeping and cleanliness were average. My main complaint was that the building next door was under renovation, and drilling started at about 8am every day. It didn't matter too much to me because I was waking up that early anyways. Although this is not within the hotel's control I can see how someone would be seriously annoyed by this as the room was literally shaking once the drilling and banging started.

The staff at the hotel are friendly, the fluency of English spoken varies considerably. However I never had a problem.

Overall, I had a good experience, but the construction noise was quite bothersome. I might want to confirm that this was complete before staying again. But otherwise it was a good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpdc1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel, I booked it at the last minute and had low expectations, I just needed somewhere to stay before catching a flight.

The hotel turned out to be very good. It's in a brilliant location, close to the waterfront and one of the main shopping center, perfect if you are coming to kk for that purpose. The room was small but had more than I was expecting, a really good shower and bathroom and good aircon. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank CatherineAileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

In the center of the city, easy walking distance to Gaya Street, the waterfront, shopping and eating. Some maintenance work would make the appearance better; paint, resticking peeled wallpaper, reattach bathroom shelving that was falling off the wall, all minor things. The Queen room was pretty tight, we upgraded to a king and had space for our luggage. The price is definitely right. No mini fridge in the rooms, but the friendly staff stored our beer in theirs. Cleaning crew was a little spotty, our toilet remained unclean for several days, they did however change the linens regularly. More modern than other rooms we looked at other hotels in similar price range.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2trvlabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband booked this hotel for Feb 9th to Feb 13th this year but due to personal reasons, our trip was cancelled. When asked for refunds, there was none due to their policy. But it was fair enough that we were given a year of open voucher,which meant that we still could replan our holiday. And we thought it was great. Just by last week, we managed to spend a week in the hotel with great services. We were especially happy with the holiday spots which they had arranged for us. Wonderful trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaysavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Customer Service, specifically Diana is heartless and unsympathetic. I booked on December 20,2012 for a June 18,2013 booking. Unfortunately, Air Asia announced that effectively February 1,2013 they were cancelling the Clark-Kota Kinabalu (and vice versa) route. Meaning no more flights going there.
Now, I got this trip as this was in super promo and I don't have money. It is hard for me to fly with any other carrier to go there and pay the regular rate.
I emailed Diana numerously letter her know of the cancellation of the airline for the route as no more planes would fly there. I requested a refund for my booking as it's not like I intentionally and erroneously just changed my mind. I was actually very devastated and stressed with this situation.
Anyways, her reply was I cannot give you a refund as their hotel has a no refund policy. "we are giving an option to change the date check-in and check out for our valued guest, or changing the name of person staying in your reservation".
WTF! Change the date of my check in? I can't fly there anymore! Give the room to somebody else? I don't have money to just give away to somebody else. And come on, this was booked on December for June 18. Why can't they just cancel the booking and give the room to somebody else? Is business so bad that that they can't re-book that one room (in June)? Are they so uptight on that rule even though it was booked 6 months ago (not a week ago!) and be compassionate and understanding and just give the refund considering the situation that was forced upon us? HAVE SOME SYMPATHY!

Room Tip: Customer Service, specifically Diana is hearless and unsympathetic. I booked on December 20,2012...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank niteslyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#23 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#45 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.3 mi away
D'Borneo Hotel
D'Borneo Hotel
#54 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#30 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#15 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gaya Centre Hotel
Gaya Centre Hotel
#19 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1 City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 City Hotel

Property: 1 City Hotel
Address: Lot 1 Block B, Ground Floor | Segama Complex, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 89 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1 City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your 1 City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 City Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing