We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The street noise is definitely audible”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wah May Hotel

Wah May Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wah May Hotel
Ranked #72 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“The street noise is definitely audible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

As a budget hotel, I found the sleep quality quite alright minus the street noise. It seemed as if there were in fact no windows, or they were open. So, bring your earplugs! Despite that the beds were comfortable and they provided quality sized towels. The room came with a dinky TV, which we never used, and a water heater, although no tea bags or coffee bags were provided.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vertrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

As a person who needs to come to Kota Kinabalu on a yearly basis, this hotel is definitely the best choice in terms of budget, location and service. It is located within walking distance from Suria Sabah Shopping Mall and also a few restaurants and fast food joints. It has one of the cheapest rates in town - only RM78 for a queen-sized bed! The room is a bit small but otherwise it's clean and comfy. This hotel has a lift which you don't always find in budget hotels. Plus, water pressure is very good which you also don't normally find in cheap hotels. Taxis are easily available as the taxi stand is just next to the hotel. The only downside to this hotel is it does not provide accommodation for more than 2 pax as they only have queen beds and twin single beds. Also, only 1 towel is allocated for each room but you can always request for extra towels at the reception counter.

Room Tip: You can request for an extra bed for only RM30 if I'm not mistaken.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We booked KK at the last minute having had to re-locate from Semporna due to trouble. We were unable to book our preferred hotel due to the marathon. Very pleasantly surprised. The bed was very large and comfortable, the fridge was unexpected bonus and the room was very clean with a good shower. There was no real noise despite our room being near the lift and on a busy street.

It is very centrally located and near the dive shops for scuba divers. Also next door is a very good bakery and a supermarket is close by.

Would definitely use again if in KK. Good value for money. Safe in reception.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EvelynEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

we hv a room with two windows facing jalan Haji Saman..very noisy. Not suitable for light sleeper. but location ia very convenient. there are a laundry shop next door for 3.8/kg.
Cleanliness is ok. Small box TV and wifi very slow even tough signal is strong.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annovix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Due to some reason, we book this hotel at very very last minute. The room are very cheap! Rm80 to 100 only! Room very clear, very good location! All the shopping center, market, restaurant withIn walking distant. This hotel are bit old, but if u just want to have a place to sleep overnight, this is better that those pack packer hostel.

Of course u have to becareful will ur bags and belonging. Is better to lock ur bags even u stay at 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cytan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

After staying only one night, we left our luggage at the reception to have a stroll around town and, as it never happened to me before, when we came back, all our backpacks have been opened and looked through - we were missing earphones and a camera (I forgot, that I had my tiny CANON IXUS in one of the backpacks, otherwise I would have kept it with me, as I dont leave any valuables behind). You could tell that the zippers have been opened as they had been closed differently.
So guys, watch out!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank SimsGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
High Street Inn
High Street Inn
#71 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#42 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hii-5 Hotel
Hii-5 Hotel
#67 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lucky 11 Hotel
Lucky 11 Hotel
#51 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#55 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Winner Hotel
Winner Hotel
#68 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wah May Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wah May Hotel

Property: Wah May Hotel
Address: Wah May Hotel 36 Jalan Haji Saman, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wah May Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wah May Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wah May Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing