We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in KK”
Review of Borneo Gaya Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borneo Gaya Lodge
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights and paid 60rm for a double with air con. The bed was amazing almost as good as mine back home. After staying in some pretty crap places we slept like babies. The only problem we had was the noise from the communal area outside our room. The management didn't tell people to turn the tv down and some American guy decided to call home on Skype at 3am in the morning. He wasn't talking he was shouting and I had to go out to tell him to keep the racket down. Other than that I would stay there again if we were ever in KK again. We ate at some great food at the night markets I would highly recommend the red and black snapper we had it was delicious. And we also went to the islands in the national park; our fave was Sape. The hostel give out vouchers for 10rm off the boat ticket which makes it a great deal.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Borneo Gaya Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 65 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, in a double room with aircon and private bathroom. Although the room was tiny, it was clean and very quiet at night. The bed was also okay. Staff was friendly after a while, they seem a bit distracted because of mobile phones etc.

We booked our trip to the kinabatangan river trough them (2 nights, 3 days) which we would really recommend! After taking a bus we were picked up at a restaurant stop. Form there it was about 1 hour to the river. We stayed at a nice little wooden house. Which was clean and comfortable. The owner were very very friendly and the food was absolutely great, all homemade and plenty. Cruises and tracking was also good, we saw some wild elephants! Would recommend booking trough them if you plan to go here!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jellybel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

i stayed here for a few days, has no atmosphere, the girls working in the night are helpful, the rooms are spacious and safe and since there is hardly anyone here is good in a way..
i got kicked out because " A big group was coming" which sucks cause if you are staying for a few days is not fair..
good place to crash and move on..

Room Tip: next door cheaper!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egnogra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This Lodge offers a definitly good price-performance ratio. After checking out a lot of Lodges, which were unacceptable and more expensive, we were glad to find the Borneo Gaya Lodge. We had an double room with AC and privat bathroom and a window (which was rare in KK, even at the Best Western Hotel, we got a room without a window). The room was very clean and the wireless internetconnection workes very well.
The reception was open 24 hours and the Staff was absolutely courteous and helpful with organisation in any belongngs.
We enjoyed our stay in KK in the Borneo Gaya Lodge and we defenitely recommand it ti any other visitors of KK.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tisy_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We hunted high and low for accommodation in KK and this was the best of a bad bunch. Apart from the places that are quite far out (like Masadas and the Beach places) the standard in KK really isn't very high at these prices. We got frustrated with other people on tripadvisor saying you could get better elsewhere, as they never say where you can get these elusive places....and as plenty of worse places were full, which probably indicates that the accommodation owners in KK do not really need to make much effort.

BGL was not your typical backpackers, like a hotel/office/student house combination. It was clean, and we had the family room which was huge. The staff were friendly and keen to help, although not always very knowledgeable or able to help!

The common area is OK, and the internet access is cheap. Location is fabulous, the Gaya street market starts on your doorstep, and the chinese restaurants are great - try the steamed buns if you get bored of the BGL breakfast which is the same as the western breakfasts you always get in hostels in Malaysia.

My advice? If you want to find a great place to stay in KK, then arrive early and shop around and try to find it. But if you can't find somewhere really special, then BGL is a reliable option.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Trurzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I stayed here after a trip to Sepilok as the NBC next door was full.
the room was OK but there was no-where really to put my things. I had a private shower leaked on the floor but it worked OK and there was liquid soap in a dispenser. The shared shoewers are next to the kitchen and if you want to use a mirror, it's over the kitchen sink! The living room area is pretty small and when I was there it was taken over by 2 girls watching a DVD on their laptop (they just turned off the TV). there is no separate dining table so it feels pretty squashed in.
My room had a window to the carpark area behind Jalan Gaya and it was definitely noisier than the room I had at NBC which overlooked Jalan Gaya.
I stayed here for the 2 nights I had booked but will not come back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed here for two nights, and I quite liked it. We stayed in the dorm which had 5 bunk beds (10 beds) in a room. It was a bit cramped but there was a/c and everyone was very helpful and accomodating. There is a small but functional hot water shower, and there is a basic breakfast of toast, jams, egg every day, as well as wifi, tv and a few pcs, as well as a lot of reading material of things to do in Kinabalu. The 'front desk' were friendly and helpful as well. All in all a good stay for a backpacker or the budget traveller.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 mi away
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
#10 of 105 in Kota Kinabalu
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#4 of 105 in Kota Kinabalu
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Halo Hostel
Halo Hostel
#5 of 105 in Kota Kinabalu
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Borneo Backpackers
Borneo Backpackers
#23 of 105 in Kota Kinabalu
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
#17 of 105 in Kota Kinabalu
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jesselton Cabin
Jesselton Cabin
#21 of 105 in Kota Kinabalu
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Gaya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Gaya Lodge

Address: 1st Floor No 78, Jalan Gaya, P.O.BOX 10131, Sabah, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $13 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Borneo Gaya Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Borneo Gaya Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Gaya Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Borneo Gaya Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing