We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the center, good for backpackers.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“In the center, good for backpackers.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is quite not bad hostel by Malaysian standard. Quite clean, but indeed very basic. Central location. The breakfast is limited to: water, tea(pre-made), coffee(brewed), white bread, margarine, sweat condensed milk, jam, peanut butter. You have toaster. 3 shared bathrooms, balcony, cord where you can had your clothes to dry. The price is:
60 for standard private double room
50 for basic private double room
45 for single room
20 for dormitory
Quite good, if for what ever reason you need to spend few couple days in the City itself.
Internet is good and included in the price.
Good for backpackers, but not for couples.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DmitryP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
12
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

KK backpackers lodge is everything you want in a simple hostel.
Fairly cheap beds (20r), basic breakfast included, warm showers, clean beds/rooms, air con included!. Staff were helpful if you needed anything, but if you didn't they pretty much left you alone. For longer stays, If you want linen changed, you will have to request it.

No real common room is the only downside, but they have wifi and 2 computers to use.

Can't complain about too much as it was good bang for the buck!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clamchowder16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The two girls were brilliant,lovely and very helpful.The place was spotless,clean and affordable.20ringit.Internet connection is great and location is super.the staff always smiling.
One thing if you stay ,just remind the girls to make sure the cleaning staff keep the door upstairs closed as they sometime open it and thats why it can be noisy.will stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay at the rooms at the back not next to the purple door on the second floor beside the open kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willimandala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozamiz City, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Clean and comfortable, and the staff was very accommodating and helpful, particularly Sitti and Carrie. Even during the pre-check in/reservation period, they were very attentive to our queries via email. The place is near jesselton point (about a 5-minute walk), atkinson tower, and signal observatory hill (just right across the lodge). the wi-fi signal is so-so, but good enough to check mails. Downside --- the bed bunks were kind of old and the screechy noise it makes when moved is kinda disturbing. the shower's got low pressure, and it's not as huge as you would think. Overall, it's cheap, neat, and secure, good value for what we paid for. :) Checked in from August 8-10 with a friend, dorm type with 8 beds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sendo_Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have stayed in Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge five days. The place is clean, homely and very intimate. I stayed in a dorm and most of the time there were just two people there. The girls taking care of the place are amazing - very helpful, friendly, flexible. Real help to a person who stays just a few days and does not have so much time to investigate on options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dagmara_poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kudat, Sabah, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is indeed a great place, very quiet, but not so clean as it used to be last year, unfortunately. I've stayed there a few times. The last two times I stayed the bedsheets hadn't been changed, so I had to ask them to get me clean ones. I also told them if they keep like this they will lose customers. It's a pity, so I hope they get serious about this again, because clealiness was what made the place so great.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank carolaosol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and stayed in 2 different rooms. We moved because the first was quite small ( but would have been perfectly adequate if we weren't staying for so long). Clean, lots of toast for breakfast, computers and wifi, hot showers, sitcom and a lovely lady who works all hours and cleans the communal areas every day!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HatPat89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Jesselton Cabin
Jesselton Cabin
#22 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B@21
B&B@21
#3 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#4 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Refarer Hostel
Refarer Hostel
#12 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bunk Gaya Street
The Bunk Gaya Street
#13 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lodge 58
Lodge 58
#5 of 79 in Kota Kinabalu
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge

Property: Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge
Address: Lot 4 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinabalu Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing