We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jesselton Cabin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jesselton Cabin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Basic, clean and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Very good hostel. Conveniebtly located in the heart if Sabah within waking distance of the local bus terminal and ferry port.

Stayed in the 12 bed dorm though there were only 3 of us staying there. Air con worked well. Breakfast consist of usual tea and coffee and toast. Lockers in reception. Showers clean and worked well.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaG2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    36
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
2
26
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay in a dorm but booked a double room with fan only as we don't like the air con. The room was clean, big with a huge window to gaya street. It was the biggest window we've got in 6 month travelling around Asia :) The bathroom is shared, 2 toilets and good shower with hot water on each floor.
We payed 50RM for the room and there was a simple breakfast included -toast, butter, jam, tea or coffee and help yourself. There is a great eurobakery on the same street, just few steps away, if you want something fancier :-)
Staff is just great and very helpful. Even if you don't book anything with them, share your plans as you can get some discounts. We got 10RM discount voucher per person for a boat to mamutik and other close islands (normal price is 23 per person plus 7 jetty fee plus 10 island entry).

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Berrz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights either side of a Kinabalu climb. Nothing special as far as backpackers go, but very cheap and a nice hot shower! Staff were really lovely and helpful. Great location, walking distance to waterfront, shops and bus stop. Most tour companies seem to know it so organising a pick up for Mt Kinabalu was no problem. Air conditioning is freezing if you get it in your room, so try to nab the remote to change it when you can!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The location is very good. The best you can find in Kota Kinabalu. Restaurants, supermarkets, the Filipino Market and even the ferry terminal are nearby. Slept in here for two nights and had my own room. It was clean, but very basic. Anyway that's what i expected for that low price. The staff was very very friendly and helpful.
There were people from all over the world in this place, so I had a great time talking, drinking and watching TV.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank realrv6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The location is good. There are lots of nice restaurant nearby, such as the bak kut teh restaurant "佑记肉骨茶" which is only downstair, "富源" which is located opposite to it, Little Ittaly with nice pizza and spaghetti which just a few step away from it. The tourist infomation centre is also very nearby to it. A shopping mall - Suria sabah mall is also very close to there, there are great seaview at the 3rd floor food court. It is also not far to the Jesselton Point where you can go snorkelling and take ferry to labuan.

The room is very basic and clean, the first night we live at there, there are 6 bunk beds in the room, but second day only 5 because of most people have left. There are only one plug in the dorm room, but there are more downstair at the common area. There are TV at the common area, a computer and they provide simple breakfast.

Overall is very good place to stay with if you just want a basic place to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lhw0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The rooms are overcrowded with bunk beds. The air con room has a window which opens to the smoking area. So the air con rooms smells of cigarette smoke. Only one plug point in the room with 14 beds !!! The breakfast is ok. Its a very very basic hostel. They dont even give you proper blankets (just a small sarong like cloth). Its 4 floors up.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

it was awesome!.my holiday was very great here...the staff was very helpfull,
always there 4 you..and they was very friendly..
i spend 1 week here and i didn't have any idea 4 what to do,
then the staff suggest me to do some trip....i've been to mari-mari cultural village, the proboscis monkey and kinabalu park also padas rafting.
it was really2 cool and awesome........
this is the great place to spend your holiday in borneo..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank benrich_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#1 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#3 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Jesselton Hotel
The Jesselton Hotel
#9 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gaya Centre Hotel
Gaya Centre Hotel
#19 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#12 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#17 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesselton Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesselton Cabin

Property: Jesselton Cabin
Address: 1st and 2nd Floor, No.74, Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly North Borneo Cabin)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jesselton Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jesselton Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesselton Cabin Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing