We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not clean!”
Review of Summer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summer Lodge
Ranked #87 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights and it was grotty. The staff are nice but don't speak much English and I think they have a resident rat. The room's where not clean and the mattresses where very badly stained. WiFi was good, but I didn't feel safe the outer door didn't lock. I was very surprise to see this hostel in the Lonely Planet!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trekkieboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 41 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Small budget hostel located in a very good spot. Rooms are tiny, some with no windows, a bit run-down. We've encountered some bed bugs/ants in our room, forcing us to change to other room on higher floor. Staff is friendly and helpful, wifi is good. Breakfasts are very basic-coffee/tea and toast. For a short stay in a cheap place-acceptable spot.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kumak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

It's a budget hotel, so you get what you pay for.
We stayed in a windowless double with private bathroom for 60MR.
Very well located. The city bus stop is a 3 min walk. There are food and bars nearby.
The room was relatively clean- certainly clean linen, floor and bathroom. Sure the rooms are a little run down- but for only 60MR we couldn't really complain.
We skipped the 'free breakfast' but I believe it was coffee and toast.
Wifi connection was ok.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victron23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I liked this place. easy to find and close to everyting. its not the most fancy place i have been staying at, but in some way i feel really comfortable here. some bad things about this place is for exampel that you need to pay for the blankets and towels, but a very simple breakfast and lockers are included.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anelai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed with my family at this place 5 years ago. We simply loved it. Very clean and nice staff. Especially we liked the "lobby" with the cats and the breakfast with the Kaya spread. So it was a big disappointment when we dropped in this time. Almost everything changed to worse. Elly was the only exception, she was nice and helpful. It seems that as they have changed the entry to the back side and moved the lobby to a different site everything has degraded...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Found this place quite by accident while unexpectedly stuck in KK for one nite.

Security gate with a camera up front was locked and only unlocked by the reception two flights of stairs up. As I didn't want to stay in a dorm after having been in a long rainy trip down from Kota Kinabalu, I asked for and got a private room with an attached bathroom, but no windows.

Check in was pretty straight forward and prompt. Rate was just RM69, including breakfast. The communcal hall was cosy with a television, couches & computers with free internet usage. The entire facility was also provided with free wi-fi which works just fine even in the room. No footwear was allowed which is fine as the place seems pretty well-kept. Smoking is only allowed either on the open rooftop or downstairs.

Room is basic, with a double bed (clean white sheets!) and a side-table, full air-con which you can leave on after leaving. Attached bathroom is of a substantial size with hot/cold shower and the water volume is fantastic. Breakfast is basic, with juice & bread with some jam but its a free-for-all, eat however much you want.

The vibe of this place is pretty laid-back, typical of a backpackers' lodge. A variety of travellers on the way to somewhere. Most of them keep to themselves, with a majority of lone travellers who use the free internet to book connecting trips. A tour desk in the lodge is also open in the day, with pretty reasonable prices.

Good place to start off your tour of Borneo, splurge abit for a private room as I heard the common baths & dorms are not as comfy.

Room Tip: Call ahead to check for rooms availability as the location is a pretty good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

the lady giving advice here, Betty, was wonderful and friendly. Full of knowledge and real help not just pushing you onto tours. The place was generally unclean and the lodge staff were lazy. the staff responsible for providing service just didn't. You have to ask for clean sheets, towels and don't bother with floor cleaner, bleach or disinfectant buy a bottle of your own if you're staying awhile. IT IS CHEAP! the staff often had friends in who used spare rooms and made noise. But a quick complaint would sort this the next day. They need a good manager here and it could be great!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
3.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,533 reviews
9.4 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Lodge

Address: 4th Floor Lot 120 2nd, 3rd, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Class:2 star — Summer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Summer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing