We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach at the door”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tuaran Beach Resort
Ranked #61 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Beach at the door”
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Our family of 5 just spent 5 days at Tuaran Beach Resort and had a fantastic time. This is a decidedly 3 star resort but has many things to offer. Firstly, the beach was just outside the door of our 3 bedroom villa which our kids took full advantage of. The pool was beautifully kept, the food was of a good standard particularly the local dishes. Prescilla the guest liaison officer was first class and all the tours arranged both by her and our travel agent at home were well organised, on time, great fun and good value. Tuaran is not very close to Kota Kinabalu but we found that the transport organised by the resort to be efficient. One downside is the road into the resort itself which is a bit of a goat track. Overall, a good value family holiday destination.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siboney444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
5
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I recently stayed here aug 2010 with my partner. We booked 6 days and left after 2 days here is why.....

1) We where told it was 45mins away - Its more like an hour!
2) You have to book the shuttle bus 24 hours in advance and before 5pm so if like us you get there after 5pm on sat and want to go to the city for a few drinks you cant because you did not book 24 hours in advance and you cant do anything on the sunday either because its too late to book that either. Even though it says on their website you can book within a couple of hours!
3) Taxis needs to be booked 2 hours in advance. 100RM one way to city. 15RM one way using their shuttle bus.
4) They only seem to have 1 bus which holds about 10 people but the resort has about 100rooms so if like us you book late but within the time if all the seats are taken then you cant go!
5) Cant stay longer than 9pm in the city if getting the shuttle back as thats the last time of the shuttle from the city.
6) They have a man made beach about 50meters long. The only way to access the rest of the real beach is to either go through the sea of jump a fence which we had to do as the water level was too high to go through the sea.
7) Internet is very very poor there and hardly worked and the staff had no clue how to fix it, luckily I work with computers and was able to fix it once!
8) NO Amenities - only one little shop in the resort. Nearest shop is 30mins drive away.
9) No money exchange or cashpoint around so if you want to book a tour and have no cash - tough luck!
10) Its 10RM to hire the bicycles for 1 hours but there is no where to go ridding! Joke!!

We wasted 3 days there and left on the 3rd day and enjoyed the hotel's and islands in the city! We where sooo happy we left. If you want to see the city or other island don't go here!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rn5aq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

melborne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Tuaran Beach Resort is very give the fantastic experience through their services and the staff that definitely very friendly and helpful..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cintha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

In November of last year my partner and myself organised a trip for 26 friends all couples to Kota Kinabulu and stayed at the Tauran Beach Resort for six nights our group love the Hotel and friendly Staff, Ronnie and Pracilla where great help. It is one of the best 3 star hotel ive stayed in and ios good value

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomlookgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

This hotel wasa basic 3 star set on the beach, the pool area was small and had there been more people there it would have been difficult to find a sun lounger. However the level of cleanliness and the service from the staff was 5 star. There was a good choice of food although breakfast was a bit disappointing. The hotel was quite isolated and the approach road was apalling! so we went on a couple of organised trips but the rest of the time we just chilled. The holiday was with Saga and I have to say they were excellent, very organised and always had a rep on site who was happy to be of service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanuBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Like others, having read earlier reviews, we were hesitant about the hotel, but in the event our concerns were unfounded.

We travelled with SAGA and found the organisation very good. The journey to/from Kota Kinabalu is long and tiring, but the provision of a day room at the Sheraton in Brunei was most welcome. The local representatives Melanie and Gilbert were both knowledgeable and very helpful. In the two weeks we were there we don't recall them not being around if we needed them (which we didn't!).

The hotel will not win any awards for its food, but having said that there was plenty of choice and what we had was good; a mixture of Malay and western food. The pizza's in the pool bar at lunchtime were great. The hotel's biggest asset was the staff; always smiling. always friendly, always very attentive. It is the only hotel we have stayed at where, when we were leaving, all the staff gathered in reception to say goodbye. You could tell this was genuine sentiment and not a management directive.

Our room was very comfortable with excellent air conditioning. We had a TV with BBC World, a fridge and tea making facilities - fresh milk was available from the main restaurant. Every morning we were left two bottles of water, which were replenished as necessary when housekeeping came back in the evening to turn down the beds.

We tended to sit on the beach where we had the benefit of a cool breeze, but the pool area was also nice to sit around. We walked down the beach in both directions - an hour out and back each time -other than other guests doing the same walk we saw no-one apart from a couple of lads fishing in the sea and some horses.

The hotel is quite remote and this makes it a great place to relax; there is certainly no heavy night life, just a duo singing most nights who were very nice to listen to. The hotel provides a shuttle bus into Kota Kinabalu several times a day, another into Tuaran Village and one on Sundays to the local horse racing course. With the included SAGA tours there were only five days out of the two weeks that we did not have something planned for at least part of the day. If you are a bird watcher then remember to take some binoculars.

The hotel has no money changing facilities to change some at the airport on the way in. It does have free WIFI in reception which we used to talk to our family over the internet regularly.

We didn't make the trip to Sepilok to see the Orang-utans as it would have been a very long day and quite expensive. Instead Melanie organised for us to go a neighbouring hotel, the Rasa Ria, which has its own small Oran tang sanctuary attached to Sepilok. It was brilliant; we saw more Oran-utans than those that actually made the long trip to Sepilok!

In summary we had a great time. The hotel is quiet and basic; more three star than five star. The food will not get any Michelin stars, but is more than adequate with lots of choice. There is plenty to see and do from the hotel if you are prepared to make the effort. The staff are fantastic. We would (and probably will) go again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_Paul_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

was a little worried by some poor reviews before we left but had a wonderful holiday. The staff were all friendly and helpful, within a couple of days they had memorised our room numbers and drinks preferences and loved to chat and joke with us. The food was delicious there were 3 separate menus but you could mix and match by taking any course from any of the 3 menus not a facility I have been offered anywhere else. The girls in the animation team were always around but never pushy, happy to just chat or to teach you local games such as mah jong.A few insect bites but no more than in any other exotic resort. all in all highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adnilSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
9.5 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
4.6 mi away
The Klagan Regency
The Klagan Regency
#59 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Beringgis Beach Resort
Beringgis Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Kinarut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
11.4 mi away
Langkah Syabas Beach Resort
10.4 mi away
Sabah Beach Villas & Suites
Sabah Beach Villas & Suites
#22 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuaran Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuaran Beach Resort

Property: Tuaran Beach Resort
Address: Off Jln Pantai Dalit, Jalan Sabandar | PO Box 242,Tuaran, Kota Kinabalu 89208, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tuaran Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tuaran Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuaran Beach Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tuaran Beach Resort Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing