We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and spacious”
Review of Tang Dynasty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tang Dynasty Hotel
Ranked #82 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Staying for 3 nights in TD Plaza Family Deluxe.. really worth for money, room spacious, reception very friendly, hotel in the mall!!
the only comments to improve, the corridor carpet need to shampoo, housekeeping pls dont forget to place the bath mat, there is a note on the wall 'slippery floor'.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank syahmina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Tang Dynasty Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 63 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel. The only dissatisfied comment I'm giving is that my friend and I got a room with a shower room that has no door (thus, the water leaks out onto the whole floor in the washroom!), and there was no hot water coming from the shower.

When we pointed this out to the hotel staff upon checkout, the excuse given was most shower room have no doors and the hot water did not manage to reach our floor (8th floor) due to low water pressure.

How lame is that? It's a hotel, make sure it's maintained properly for the value you set up for the room and services provided as you advertised!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tabbybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Everything about their rooms are good, but be careful with their front service. Ive made a reservation two months before arrival. when I want to revise my booking just two days before arrival, they said there are no rooms booked by me. fortunately, there are still have rooms available.
When you book this hotel using special rate e.g gov rate, corporate rate, etc. please bring a proof or at least a card verify that. They are so fussy and like to bring small thing more crucial and complicated.
location of this hotel is good, in plaza wawasan where you can shopping, with a Giant hypermarket, parkson and small shops as well. a bit far to go to the center of attraction, but still in a walking distance.

Room Tip: only two lift available for 14 floor building. be patient when you wait for a lift.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanieaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Room: Stay at Superior room.. quite large but cannot accomodate for extra bed. At the corner of the building on 8th Floor.

Minibar: the only provided is instant coffee and tea.

Bathroom - Quite OK. Only provide limited amenities.quite spacious but no covet pipe. Clean but later found a cockroach crawling around.

Location: Located on Wawasan Plaza where only 2-3 minutes walk to Parkson and major convenient store around. The shopping mall attached with the building. 8-10 minutes walk to Hard Rock KK.

Service - Staff is friendly but check-in a bit slow. Maybe I'm check-in on 11.30pm, but still the hotel is quiet.

Value: just RM141 nett and you get a breakfast.

F&B: Limited choices. However it still can accepted for a average breakfast.

Room Tip: The last choice of hotel if hotels at KK fully book.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kennyahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at family suite. It cost only below RM200 for such a great suite. This hotel rated as a 3 star but room rates are great. Value for your money. The room is very big. Can accommodate up to 5-6 person. Strategic location. Near shopping malls and food court.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mzulkiflis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My worst experience staying in hotel in my life.

Stayed here 2 times, 6 nights for each time.

checked in this hotel at evening. No towels, no remote controls.

Requested for towel, but I never got it that night.
Requested for remote control, told them my TV is LG, they gave me PANASONIC remote control.

Second day I got my towels. But smells like garbage.

Open the window trying to get some fresh air, the window is full of bird droppings. Even the carpet near the window was stained with bird dropping.

Coackcroach infested, crawling up bed, bathroom, TV, on my laptop.
My request to change a room was ignore. Instead they sent a maid up to my room with a coakcroach spray asking where is the coakcroach.

So for 7 days I killed more than 10 coakcroach myself, by using their glass cup to trap the coackcroach, slip the Tang Dynasty's welcome note below, and flush them down the toilet.

The toilet bowl is the worst design I've ever encountered. It can't flush the full inside of the bowl and need to flush a few times to get all toilet papers down. I guess that's why the room is prepared with a small pail.

Don't mind to pay for internet access, but 4 out of 6 days internet was down.

I stayed for 6 days but I was only given 1 breakfast voucher on the first night.

The breakfast is terrible. It stinks in the restaurant, the food is bad, not much choice. So my main dish is milk with coco crunch. I have no idea how to use their bread toaster with conveyor belt.

My room's door does not close by itself. For a few days in the morning I noticed my door was not fully closed the whole night and the whole day while I was out for work.

Banned.

Room Tip: "Choose other hotel. "
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cshaopin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is situated near the Promenade, there was a shopping mall adjoining the lobby, Check in was fairly efficient, The rooms were clean and sparsely furnished. My room overlooked the main road and was a bit noisy (3rd floor) Maybe a higher floor would have been quieter.
There were 2 chairs, 2 beds, a small table and a TV.
The bathroom had a walk in shower which looked a bit dicey , nothing a bit of bleach wouldn't sort out, the hair drier was a bit mangled , but worked.Water could have been hotter
Breakfast was reasonable with Asian and western options - coffee could have been better.
Clientele at breakfast looked to be mostly business people.
It is only about 10 minutes drive from the airport.
I wouldn't want to stay longer than a night

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on lower floors can be noisy
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
9.1 mi away
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
#45 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
8 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#22 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#29 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#34 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#19 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
531 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Sabah Oriental Hotel
#41 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tang Dynasty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tang Dynasty Hotel

Address: Lot 1-1, Tang Dynasty Hotel Lorong Plaza Wawasan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tang Dynasty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tang Dynasty Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing