We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Perfect!

Open water course with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife. Jack was a super helpful and professional... read more

Reviewed September 24, 2020
JSJ0689
great vibe

We did our OWC here with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife at Gaya Island, and just a few weeks after, we... read more

Reviewed September 23, 2020
4T2GO
Read all 1,489 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kota Kinabalu
from $53.27
More Info
from $700.00
More Info
Reviews (1,489)
Filter reviews
1,489 results
Traveler rating
1,361
102
16
3
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,361
102
16
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gaya island dive center open water scuba diving these guys dive course fish fun dives whole team went smoothly kinabalu climb sea life great company booking process kinabalu park instructor kerry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 1,489 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2019 via mobile

Nothing but respect and gratitude because the staff was very helpful. Highly recomended for those who want to have a good experience here in Sabah!

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Saifu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Owner at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2019

Hi Saifu K, it is our pleasure to assist you, we all love travel ourselves which is so important when planning itineraries, we can put ourselves in our clients shoes. Thank you for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

We decided on the regions of Sabah, Borneo where we wanted to visit based on our research and the birds we would like to see. The next thing was to find a travel company which can help us to organize this trip. After contacting several travel companies in Sabah, Downbelow Marine & Wildlife responded to our request promptly. It happens to be among the highest rated company on TripAdvisor, so we felt quite comfortable corresponding with its staff. The process of e-mail communication, decision making, price quoting, etc. was quite proficient and pleasant. Our itinerary was soon finalized.
Our 9-day birding trip covered three lodges with quite far driving distance in between, yet the transfer between the lodges was seamless. We were very pleased with the friendly staff at each lodge and were impressed with the pre-arranged private birdwatching guiding services. The staff at Downbelow went the extra mile in making sure that our trip went well by calling to check with us on the first day when we arrived at each lodge. It is much appreciated to know that someone is making sure your trip is going well while you are travelling abroad among strangers. This leaves us with a very good impression with our first visit to Sabah, Malaysia.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Hank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Owner at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2019

Hi Hank T, Thank you for your awesome review! It is so good to know that you had a successful birding trip in Borneo, our dedicated tour consultant made sure that each itinerary is personalised - which means every tour is unique and caters to your interest. We also have partner lodges in the east coast which makes planning for your itinerary an ease! Thank you for trusting us with your trip and hope to welcome you again with more Downbelow Adventures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019

We booked a 12 day stay with this company to include 3 Borneo Lodges at Kinabatangan, Tabin and the Borneo Wildlife Lodge.The documentation was well prepared and the on-going dialogue which we required during the few month preceding our trip was always very promptly answered and helpful advice given as necessary.Jane was our link person and she excelled. Our trip went without a hitch and we very much enjoyed the contrast of our 3 locations each being ver different. We were delighted with all our experiences.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank Leighites
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Owner at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2019

Hi Leighites, thank you for trusting us with your Wildlife Adventure Program! We are glad to be able to provide you with amazing experience while exploring the vast rainforest and wetlands of Sabah. We do pride ourself for making all of our tours tailor made to suit your interest, Jane is an example of our dedicated tour consultant and creating your perfect holiday is her priority. We hope to welcome you to the Land Below The Wind again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

We booked the 3 day-2 night stay in the Tabin Wildlife Reserve and the 3 day-2 night snorkel safari stay at the Manukan Island Dive Resort this past Christmas. Both of those were excellent! The staff are all highly knowledgeable and friendly. The accommodations were excellent and we had an amazing trip. We are so glad we booked with "Down Below" and highly recommend them. Thank you for a fantastic experience!

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank Celeste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Owner at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2019

Hi Celeste M, how wonderful to hear your lovely feedback about your trip in Sabah, Borneo. The combination of island stay and snorkel as well as wildlife resort holiday was definitely the perfect Christmas getaway and we are glad that you have enjoyed it. Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back for your next Borneo Holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019

I used Downbelow for a recent long trip to Malaysia; I did the PADI OW course on Gaya, 3 days of fun diving off both Gaya and Manukan, the multiactivity day on Gaya, Kinabalu park trip, and Mahua Waterfall day trip. The Downbelow team are all lovely people, who always greet you by name from the moment they pick you up from your accomodation, until drop off at the end. They have great attention to detail - when my sizes for scuba gear were established on Day 1 they would always ensure I had the right equipment waiting for me when I turned up. The beach house on Gaya island is idyllic, and the food/drink is a nice touch. A special mention to Matt who taught my OW course, Clarence my scuba guide, Kerry the day trip guide. I would also like to thank Phylicia who was immensely helpful, organised everything and helped me plan our trip by organising a personalised package for myself and my partner.

I would advise people to book Gaya island for diving etc over Manukan, as it's more private, the food is nicer (though you don't get a choice of food) and it feels much more relaxed.

Would highly recommend Downbelow to anyone looking for diving/snorkelling/trips in Kota Kinabalu, and I will definitely use them again in the future.

Date of experience: March 2019
3  Thank jeherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Owner at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2019

Hi Jeherd, we are happy to be able to provide you with a most enjoyable trip! Our experienced tour consultant strives to deliver a punctual service to all our clients, glad that you can feel our professionalism throughout your tour. Both Kerry and Phylicia are delighted to know you have commended them greatly for making your trip memorable. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews