We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Perfect!

Open water course with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife. Jack was a super helpful and professional... read more

Reviewed September 24, 2020
JSJ0689
great vibe

We did our OWC here with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife at Gaya Island, and just a few weeks after, we... read more

Reviewed September 23, 2020
4T2GO
Read all 1,489 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kota Kinabalu
from $53.24
More Info
from $700.00
More Info
Reviews (1,489)
Filter reviews
1,489 results
Traveler rating
1,361
102
16
3
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,361
102
16
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gaya island dive center open water scuba diving these guys dive course fish fun dives whole team went smoothly kinabalu climb sea life great company booking process kinabalu park instructor kerry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 1,489 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2019 via mobile

I did the three activity day on Gaya island with trekking/snorkeling and sea kayaking and the next day flew to Sandakan for the sepilok experience.
Downbelow are FANTASTIC, I had Alex and Lulu as our snorkeling and kayak instructors and Robert as my sepilok guide, all are friendly and helpful and the absolute loveliest people, even though I was traveling alone I felt so welcomed and by the end of the day felt as though we were leaving a family. If you find yourself on KK it would be a mistake to not book a tour with these guys.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank _hcrawford28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Manager at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2019

Hello _hcrawford28, thank you for your lovely words on your program. It’s been a pleasure having you here in Borneo for your holiday. Our Headquarter based Kota Kinabalu is a one stop center for our client to plan their holiday throughout Borneo. We customise travel & itineraries for our clients which save money and maximise time. Every client have special and unique interest and needs, our dedicated travel consultant will guide you through in planning your dream holiday here in Borneo. It’s been a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again next time to explore more exciting places! Thank you for taking the time to review us, til next time.

Best,
Natt & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2019 via mobile

We booked a 3D2N poring hot springs and mount Kinabalu trip.

The team on the phone and email are great - smiley voices and friendly.

The suggestion to take in poring hot springs on the trip was poorly made. This is a local bathing house rather than a hot spring experience. We were dropped off 1 hour before it closed.

The mountain climb info was generic and basic - there’s a hard coded process for moving 100 or so people up the mountain and back so they know what they are doing but they won’t tell you much about it even when you ask. I got a reply about storage options the day after I’d made the climb.

There are easy and hard ways to do the climb depending on your fitness, speed and kit - some advice on this can make a big difference to the experience. A good example was the summit climb - we were in the first group to depart at 230am and reached the summit at about 430am an hour and a half before sunrise - it’s sub zero up there and windy you would want serious cold weather kit to keep body heat. Alternatively you. Could leave later and spend less time waiting in the cold at the summit.

The mountain itself ? Sublime, amazing, incredible.

Date of experience: February 2019
3  Thank TheIrishmaninSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Manager at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2019

Hi TheIrishmaninSing, thank you for the time taken to review us. We take feedback seriously here in Downbelow and would like to respond to your points respectively.

During your program with us, I have personally spoken to you twice to make sure all the arrangement is going well and your feedback was very positive and unfortunately there were no indication of you not being happy as portrayed on your review.

Regarding your comment about Poring Hot Spring, we should have picked up that the shuttle schedule by Sutera Sanctuary Lodges will only allow you to have an hour at best in Poring Hot Spring, this is a very recent change and unfortunately you were the first client on this new timing schedule. This has been a short fall from us and we apologise. The shuttle schedule was managed and operated by Sutera Sanctuary Lodges, we have forwarded the result of this unfavourable situation to them. Also as a result we have re-structured our departure times for our clients.

Your comment on luggage storage is a little un-fair as you emailed us late, after office hours the night before your climb. We had provided you our hotline number to contact for circumstances like this, however, we did not receive any call from you nor did you mention this during both of my courtesy calls to you before and after your climb. Your mountain guide has assisted you on the luggage storage and it was all sorted out before your ascend. You also met our staff member in the morning of your ascent and he would have been able to assist you on the luggage too. After confirming that your luggage situation was actually sorted, we still reply the email accordingly on Monday morning. Were you meaning to say that you only manage to see the email after your climb?

We do actually fully prepare our clients expectation for Poring Hotsprings on our website, maybe you did not read it.

Thank you for your feedback and it allowing us to justify it. It’s been a pleasure having you and congratulations again on summiting the highest peak of Borneo.

Best,
Natt & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2019

We were 2 adults and 2 children travelling mid January 2019. We booked last minute for the following day and did a snorkel and island stay. The service by all the team at DownBelow was just as all the other reviews said and we are glad we chose them for our tour. The clarity was terrific and the reef sensational (we live on the Ningaloo Reef WA), so much to see.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Manager at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2019

Hi Liz W, thank you for taking time to review us. One of the perks of us running our own dive centres is that we are able to accommodate and be flexible with last minute bookings. Many of our clients also enjoy the fact that we are the only operator in Gaya Island where privacy and isolation from main stream tourist crowd is cherished.

We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. Total customer satisfaction is our goal every time.

We look forward to welcome you again in the future!

Best
Natt & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2019

i and my friend took a open diver course with PADI at Gaya island. the scenery and instructors are very nice. surely recommend.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank faisrikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Manager at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2019

Hello Faisrikan, we get that a lot! That our instructors are lovely and so much fun during course, making the learning process relaxing and memorable. We are happy to learn that you have experienced that too. We have various daily fun dives program from both of our dive centre, now that you are certified, you will be planning more diving trip so do keep us in mind for next time.

Congratulations again on your OWC, we hope to dive with you again soon! Thank you for the review!
Best,
Natt & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2019

Thumbs up to Downbelow Marine for providing excellent service to our very last minute 1 day trips for snorkelling and fun dives. I messaged whatsapp at 7.20am on the day, (three of us) we decided to go for 1 day island trip. Received very quick reply and they arranged everything from hotel transfer, boat transfer , everything from equipment, lunch, surface interval, rinse our snorkels/fins till we back to our hotel. We had 3x of snorkelling (for 2 pax) and 1x fun dive (for 1 pax). All private guided and well managed.

Firstly they bring us to dive center in Gaya island for briefing of snorkelling and fun dive, then they allow and teach both of my friends to try snorkelling before we go for open sea. For 2nd surface interval, they bring us to Manukan resort and break for a while. We went back to Gaya island for lunch. At 2.00pm we went for third time snorkelling and fun dive.

Gaya Dive Center - facilities - washrooms, shower rooms, dive center.
Manukann resort - facilities - resort, swimming pools, restaurant and dive center.

The most we like are their service, cleanliness of the dive center and the privacy (compared to other companies that bring many tourists and mixed at the beach and snorkelling activities). Brings towel, clothes, camera, sun block, sunglasses and wear beach slippers. We are very satisfied with services they provided.
Thank you for Zul for guiding me during fun dives. The water was very cold. He did his best to find interesting marine life - cuttlefish, string ray, lionfish. He make sure my safety and comfortable during our dives. Thank you to Clarence - for guiding my two friends. They were satisfied with your guide and help. They both are very good, friendly and keep up your professional services and good hospitality. Overall i rate them 5 star. Well done!.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Nori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Manager at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2019

Hello Nori N, thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. As you have already said, we take care of all our client from the point of booking, to pick up and you will be under the great care of our highly trained instructors in the island throughout your program. Many of our client enjoy the fact that we are the only operator in Gaya Island where privacy and isolation from main stream tourist crowd is cherished. We would love to welcome you again one day and til then, take care and come back soon!

Best,
Natt & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews