We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blowing bubbles in Malaysia ”

Downbelow Marine & Wildlife Adventures - Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 98 Tours in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Under the umbrella of Downbelow Marine & Wildlife Adventures is Downbelow PADI 5 Star Instructor Development Dive Centre. The Downbelow Travel Centre, an Official Tour & Travel operator for Sabah based in KK Times Square. Our Downbelow Adventure Lodge, an expedition style lodge catering for group & independent adventure travel and the largest scuba diving & adventure shop. Our PADI 5 Star IDC Dive Centre is a slice of paradise, nestled in a quiet bay on Gaya Island in the TAR Park just 8 minutes by boat from Kota Kinabalu city. We are the only operator at this location so you will enjoy your activity without the crowds. Our highly qualified team of friendly professional instructors & instructor trainers are managed by our resident PADI Course Director (CD), the highest rating in recreational diving.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful time diving in Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park with Downbelow Adventures. Four days with three boat dives each day. Surface intervals were spent on land at one of their two dive locations on Manukan or Gaya Island. Visibility was a bit challenging from time to time at the beginning of Monsoon, but the dives were fantastic. Very professional dive operation, every aspect was top notch. Two different sightings of the elusive frogfish!

Super crew and guides! - Oli, Vic, Chris, Zul on the water, and Phylicia at the main office set everything up perfectly. An example of the great personal service and a special thanks to Oli (Oliver): I left the Manukan Island Resort in a rush after getting three more dives in my last day, and left my iPad in my room. Ben, the on-site Resort Manager got the iPad to Oli, who took time out of his off work evening time to personally bring it by my hotel in KK to make sure I received it safely. Effort above and beyond normal responsibilities!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank ExpatPeteSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Manager at Downbelow Marine & Wildlife Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello ExpatPeteSue, thank you for your time to review us. It’s amazing that you remember everyone, thank you for such a lovely feedback. Our team are very well known for great fun without jeopardizing safety and professionalism and we are pleased to read that it is reflected during your time with us. It’s been a pleasure having you, we hope to welcome you again one day and maybe next to explore more than just the marine world.

Best
Natt & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"gaya island"
in 238 reviews
"dive centre"
in 95 reviews
"myne resort"
in 22 reviews
"instructor development"
in 15 reviews
"open water"
in 66 reviews
"scuba diving"
in 67 reviews
"these guys"
in 49 reviews
"fish"
in 83 reviews
"dive course"
in 16 reviews
"kinabatangan river"
in 37 reviews
"office staff"
in 16 reviews
"fun dives"
in 28 reviews
"great diving"
in 23 reviews
"awesome experience"
in 16 reviews
"went smoothly"
in 15 reviews
"whole team"
in 13 reviews
"via email"
in 21 reviews
Filter

29 - 33 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Did snorkeling at Gaya. Turned out I was the only one snorkeling (rest of the group was there to dive) so I got my personal guide, Zul, Super friendly and professional instructor took great care of me . Great snorkeling. Highly reccommend!

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Odyssey03865551788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Manager at Downbelow Marine & Wildlife Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Odyssey03865551788, thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you were well taken care of. In our island program, snorkelers and divers can enjoy a private instructor service if they like. While some would enjoy a grouping experience, there are a good bunch of guest prefer a private session for their program and our team is ready to accommodate. It’s been a pleasure having you with us and hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Natt & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I took my open water diving license here, best ever diving site tho, they have buffet style lunch, great instructors with awesome coaching and fun, magnificent sites for diving and snorkeling, overall is not bad 8.3/10

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank farhan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Manager at Downbelow Marine & Wildlife Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi FarhanN, first of all congratulations on your OWC and thank you for diving with us. We have to agree with you that you have dived at the best dive site in TARP! Our team always make sure that we select the best dive site every day to provide the utmost experience to our client. We are happy to read that you also had a great time with your instructor. Now that you are certified, we look forward to dive with you again in the future. All the best in your studies and thank you for your review.

Best,
Natt & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

and it was worth the price.Considering this was a world known diving company,the instructors were very friendly and professional.The diving sites were also suitable for new divers.Will visit there again when i have the chance!(or money)

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Culture42554209096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Manager at Downbelow Marine & Wildlife Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Culture42554209096, thank you for your kind words to the team and your time to review us. It makes us so proud to know that while getting professional service and treatment, you are also having a great time during your course. Congratulations on your OWC and we would love to dive with you again soon!

Best,
Natt & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My friends and i were taking our open water diving licence at pulau gaya last week, the instructors and the staffs are so funny and friendly, we had so much fun!! Probably will get our advanced diving with them too!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Chai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Manager at Downbelow Marine & Wildlife Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Chai L, congratulations on your OWC! One of our favourite feedback is when our clients truly enjoy their time with our time during their program in the island. Thank you for letting us know and we appreciate your review. We would love to have you back to relive the good times and get you certified as Advanced Open Water Diver! See you real soon.

Best,
Natt & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downbelow Marine & Wildlife Adventures - Day Tours also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Downbelow Marine & Wildlife Adventures - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing