We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Perfect!

Open water course with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife. Jack was a super helpful and professional... read more

Reviewed September 24, 2020
JSJ0689
great vibe

We did our OWC here with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife at Gaya Island, and just a few weeks after, we... read more

Reviewed September 23, 2020
4T2GO
Read all 1,489 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kota Kinabalu
from $53.24
More Info
from $700.00
More Info
Reviews (1,489)
Filter reviews
1,489 results
Traveler rating
1,361
102
16
3
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,361
102
16
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gaya island dive center open water scuba diving these guys dive course fish fun dives whole team went smoothly kinabalu climb sea life great company booking process kinabalu park instructor kerry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
591 - 596 of 1,489 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2016

My husband and I had a great day with the Downbelow team! My husband is a certified diver, and I only snorkel, but Downbelow was able to accommodate us both on the same day trip. They are located on the beautiful Gaya Island so you have somewhere serene and relaxing to go back to after each dive/snorkel session.
The instructors were extremely friendly and it was a pleasure spending the day with them. Would definitely recommend this team in the future!
Thank you, Downbelow, for a memorable day!

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank NabeelaG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Owner at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2016

HI Nabeela G,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We are very grateful.

Indeed our location and the way we conduct the day means we can accommodate couples, families and friends on different activities, yet you still spend the day together. We return to our island base between every activity. Our team are passionate about what they do and we share that passion.

We hope to welcome you back again one day :)

Kindest Regards,
Joanne & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016

I was really impressed with these guys who provided a professional fun service and 3 excellent dives. Id highly recommend them.

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank O2244PZjuliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Owner at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2016

Hi Julie C,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your day with us and felt we provided a fun and professional service.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate this.

Kindest,
Joanne & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016

My partner and I booked this tour last minute when we were in Kota Kinabalu, and we're so glad we did. Downbelow are such professional company and were a pleasure to deal with! We went out to three snorkel spots throughout the day and lunch which was plentiful was also provided. Cyril who was our snorkel guide was great, we got dropped out in the boat to amazing parts of the Marine park where there were no crowds of tourists. This tour was incredible, it was hands down the highlight of our Malaysian holiday. Thank you Downbelow for an amazing memorable experience!

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank theartofadventuring
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Owner at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2016

Hi Tanya W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate this.

The Tunku Abdul Rahman Park will often get a bad write up by people that go to the main "touristy" locations where the coral has sadly been destroyed. However when you book with us, we take you to the quieter, healthy locations and the day is a "must" when visiting for sure. The park has some beautiful coral and marine life if you know where to go. We are very grateful to be here and love to show people the beauty of the underwater world.

We hope that you can welcome you back again one day :)

Kindest,
Joanne & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2016

My boys (12 & 14) and I had a fantastic time with Downbelow. My boys had great fun completing a Padi Junior open water dive course, and I had a day snorkelling. It was the highlight of the holiday. We were really well looked after, the dive base is fantastic, and the team at Downbelow really professional, from start to finish. It's fun, feels safe and is enjoyable The boys enjoys it so much they went back for an extra day diving. Thank you Downbelow, it was a great experience.

Date of experience: August 2016
3  Thank 571stephenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Owner at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2016

Hi Stephen R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate this. We are so pleased that you and your boys enjoyed your time with us.

We hope that you can welcome you back again one day :)

Kindest,
Joanne & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

My girlfriend and I did the 2D1N Mount Kinabalu climb, which was just incredible. From the off, I have been very impressed with Downbelow, given the prompt responses and willingness to provide information along with what felt like a genuine desire to provide an unforgettable experience.

On the morning of the excursion, we were advised of a 06:30 pickup (which was the time breakfast started), we came down at 06:15 to try and grab a quite bite and the transport was already there - very impressive. The staff were friendly and chatty in the car, despite the ungodly hour they must've had to wake up for us.

At the 'base' of the mountain, all was well coordinated and we were introduced to our guide, provided our lunches and given time to stock up on last minute supplies. NOTE: The shops at this area are small, but have a lot of the 'essentials' you need, including head torches, snacks, water, clothing - this would have been useful for us to know as coming from Hong Kong, the cost of these supplies are way beyond the prices in these stores.

Our guide was just simply fantastic. 'June' (sorry for not noting how to spell you name!), was friendly, patient, informative and accommodating. We learned about the mountain, the experience from the earthquake, life as a local, the wildlife on the mountain and surrounding, along with recommendations for restaurants in KK and further travelling tips. We could not recommend June any higher, he made the trip as good as it was.

The climb on the first day is a fairly steady incline, you don't need more than 2L of water (we carried far too much and just made the hike harder).

At the resthouse, the food supplied is good (becomes a little repetitive) and there is enough for as many servings as you would like. We thought we had a private heated room, but that was my oversight, the dorm was fine but if you are sensitive the cold, make sure you have something to sleep in. We went to bed at around 18:00, as did everyone else in the dorm, as we were awake at 01:45 for the next meal.

The climb to the summit (2km but with about an 800m ascent) was pitch black and very cold. Again, coming from Hong Kong, I don't have the need for trousers outside of work and smart social sitautions, therefore I had no sporting trousers, nor did I want to buy any. As a 'typical male' I proceeded in my shorts and limited layers. I don't think I've ever been so cold! I would seriously recommend trousers, gloves, a hat and potentially something to protect your face from the wind.

The sunrise and following view from the summit is incredible and made braving the cold worthwhile!

As we began our descent, the views were stunning and we were tired by the time we returned to the resthouse and so we took a rather long break there, before the further 6km down to the base. The route down is all at a decline and it takes its toll on your knees (supports would be a good idea).

My girlfriend and I are pretty regular gym go-ers (3-6 times per week) and hike quite regularly too. The muscle soreness we experienced for the 3/4 days afterwards was something I've not felt in quite some time. Make sure you do some fitness preparation if you're not otherwise fit!

Date of experience: August 2016
4  Thank Abomb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Owner at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2016

Hi Abomb123,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate this. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your climb with us. Outdoor adventure sports is our passion and you are right we genuinely want our clients to have an amazing time, be well prepared and have an unforgettable experience. It does mean that there is quite a lot of documentation to read, we have included everything in our Preparation for Climbers and over the years have fine tuned this to ensure everyone is as prepared as they could be to climb a mountain that is almost half the height of Everest - quite an achievement !

We have hand picked our mountain guides and we conduct in-house training for them, they are part of our awesome team.

Living in Hong Kong, means you might come back again and if you do we'd love to welcome you back. Thanks for choosing to climb with us :)
Kindest,
Joanne & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews