We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Very serious and good organized one-day trip!

Awesome experience. They pick you up at your hotel / hostel and drive you to the harbour. Their... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Tobias K
Great diving experience with our children

We had a wonderful experience at the Downbelow Dive Centre with our children who aged 14, 12 and 10... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Odyssey43254096699
via mobile
Read all 1,314 reviews
  
Reviews (1,314)
Filter reviews
1,261 results
Traveler rating
1,152
91
14
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,152
91
14
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gaya island dive centre myne resort divemaster internship open water between dives fun diving these guys diving experience fish kinabatangan river office staff dive course went smoothly awesome experience whole team sea life
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,261 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Awesome experience. They pick you up at your hotel / hostel and drive you to the harbour. Their dive shop on Gaya Island is very well maintained has a lot of place to hang around. Between the dives you get either small snacks and on midday a good rich lunch.

Thank Tobias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We had a wonderful experience at the Downbelow Dive Centre with our children who aged 14, 12 and 10 were diving for the first time while my wife and I dived sperately. The centre facilities and the dive instructors were great and we had a wonderful experience culminating with a day to dive all together at the end. With their PADI diving licenses in hand, our children can’t wait to go dive again.

1  Thank Odyssey43254096699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

Booked a dive package with Downbelow. They organized everything, from the pickup at the airport to the stay in Manukan Resort and 2 days of diving. Everything went like clockwork. The staff were really good and professional. The dive leaders were all very good and didn’t rush us. The equipment was good.
We did 3 dives each day and were taken to different locations each time. The corals weren’t in great shape but this is a result of overfishing and global warming.
In between dives, there was a break and drinks provided. We had plenty of time to relax after the diving as well.

Thank Nalini A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Booked 1 day diving trip to Pulau Gaya. 3 dives averaging around 40 minutes per dive. The service, facilities, equipment and staff attitude were good. Food served was ok; just basic. Worth the price; considering I was on solo trip. They'll pair you up with other divers. But probably November is not a good time to dive. Visibility was terrible; about 3m for most of the dives. There was current and silt. I saw a shadow of turtle at Turtle's House but the fella quickly swam away. If the visibility was good, probably I would see more marine life.

Thank AnnakholatA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed on Manukan Island for two days as part of a trip in Sabah with intrepid adventures. I had two great dives around a sunken ship and also along a reef. The staff were really friendly and dive master fantastic

Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a day's snorkelling with Downbelow, we chose them because the programme for the day seemed to focus on the activity and not beach BBQs, partying, etc. as we are serious snorkelers.
We were not disappointed at all with our choice, from the hotel pick-up right through to the drop-off, the whole day was professional and slick. Safety is clearly the priority, but not to the detriment of our enjoyment, we were travelling with another couple and they also attended the day, but the four of us were the only snorkelers, so the day had a real exclusive feel to it.
Special mention to Clarence who was our Guide for the day, his briefings of the snorkels and description of what we would see were spot-on. He also snorkelled with us and pointed out things we may not of seen, otherwise.
Overall, a first class day with a fantastic team, one aspect that really appealed to us was to hear how local youngsters were employed, initially as cooks, then given training to dive and eventually assist running the PADI courses. Thoroughly recommended.

1  Thank Fiona_Tug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Traveled to KK with a friend - have been meaning to get PADI certified for years and Downbelow made it happen. The course was professional, thorough and good value. Our instructor Clarence was outstanding. We felt confident and safe and the entire experience was fun. It helps that the dive centre on Gaya island is stunning - in October, out of the main season, it had a real desert island feel. Highly recommend for anyone looking for a convenient, attractive and cost effective place to do PADI open-water courses.

Thank Quest55228821693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Did the climd and decent( not to be underestimated). Booked via down below. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. Phylicia and the team added a personal touch to it which I liked.
All in all a great experience.

Thank 355robn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is our second trip with Downbelow and again, we had a great time. The staff from Downbelow as well as the whole team from Manukan Island Resort made our stay very enjoyable and memorable. Thanks, all!

Thank NightOwl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just come back from Borneo and could not fault the experience we received with Downbelow and their crew. Amazing experience, amazing service from lovely people who made our 3 days diving and qualification for myself a super experience. We would definitely recommend Downbelow to anyone wanting to go diving around Sabah. Excellent experience from booking, being picked up at our hotel, transfers to Gaya, instruction/guiding, food, etc etc. We would not hesitate in using Downbelow again. Special mentions go to Jack and Zul :-) who made our days extra special.

Thank Tracey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Manager at Downbelow Marine & Wildlife Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Tracey E, first of all, thank you so much for taking the time to write us this nice review. Nothing makes our team happier than to hear feedback like yours. We provide full service programs that are not only convenient for our clients but we also offer value for money for the quality and experience you will receive. Both of our dive centres are located only 5 minutes from the mainland and offer the flexibility to dive for a day or multiple days, you will not see the same dive site twice – unless you want to of course. We hope to welcome you again one day!

Best,
Natt & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews