We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Borneo Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa(Kota Kinabalu)
$286
$275
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
Free cancellation until 06/02
Book now, pay at stay
$124
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Grandis(Kota Kinabalu)
Free cancellation until 05/30
$100
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
Free cancellation until 06/01
Book now, pay at stay
$100
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Klagan Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
$49
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
$82
$61
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$368
$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
$56
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sixty3(Kota Kinabalu)
$124
$80
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveler rating
44
156
101
48
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
156
101
48
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshopping mallborneo hypermallgrand deluxebooked a superior roombusiness trippleasant stayhotel is locatedbuffet breakfasttown centrecinemaclinicconvenienceeateries
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 376 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in Jan for 4 nights. It has a big Lobby, right next to 7-11 and is in a big shopping mall. It is quite far from the city, hotel to city cost RM30 by taxi and around 20mins. Customer services are acceptable. Big spider and its map in the toilet, not yet connect to the power of the refrigerator, seems long time people don’t use this room…Poor sound insulation. There is a big gap under the main door of the room, you can clearly hear when people go and back, even their chatting. The swimming pool is okay and clean but no warm water, we feel very cold when we swim there in Jan. They cost me Rm2 to borrow a towel from the lobby to Island, which I never need in Phuket. It is still okay if you need a cheaper hotel…..您分享的親身經驗讓其他旅客受益良多。謝謝!您分享的親身經驗讓其他旅客受益良多。謝謝!您分享的親身經驗讓其他旅客受益良多。謝謝!您分享的親身經驗讓其他旅客受益良多。謝謝!您分享的親身經驗讓其他旅客受益良多。謝謝!您分享的親身經驗讓其他旅客受益良多。謝謝!您分享的親身經驗讓其他旅客受益良多。謝謝!您分享的親身經驗讓其他旅客受益良多。謝謝!您分享的親身經驗讓其他旅客受益良多。謝謝!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momo123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The price is very reasonable, room is fantastic, especially the bathroom with view. Location just upstairs the shopping mall, very convenient looking for the food or do some shopping. Just below the hotel got one travel agency also not so bad about the price, and we use their service to visit Mount Kinabalu.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrueForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We chose this hotel because it is intergrated with shoppong mall. And Hence making shopping and eating convenient as we have 2 elderly with us with unable to walk far. If you want to make a trip to the city there is a shutter bus service provided at the mall. It would be better and convenient if the hotel provide booking of free shuttle at the hotel front desk.

The gallerry room is small just enough for 2 pax and with no view. Our boys and parents have to settle for that. Its clean. modern and comfortable just is too small.

The Deluxe room would be more spacious if you need to have extra bedding. We took the offer to upgrade to the Grand deluxe suite and the view owesome!

Breakfast average....t not quite of 4 star standard. I expect it to be better.

Overall its a convenient stay for family!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelisious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here for 7 days ,arrived early to book in, great welcome but spent nearly 45 minutes trying to get a room that my family could fit into.I booked this hotel through Air Asia Go with flights. Air Asia Go accepted my booking for a Gallery Room with free breakfast for 2 adults & 1 child.The hotel advised us an extra bed would not fit in this room, then wanted us to pay for another larger room & childs breakfast.
I pointed out as per the terms & conditions of the booking with Air Asia Go the booking and monies had been accepted and no mention of the fact that 3 people could not fit in this room,I pointed out a clause that stated once the booking had been accepted there would be no further charges. I advised the Manager (Jet ) that he needed to sort this out with Air Asia Go. After not getting anwhere with a larger room I advised the manager we where tired from our flights and went up to the room but not before i advised the manager i would be sleeping in the foyer on the couch tonight.Within being in our room 10 minutes management phoned and advised they had a larger room with no extra charge but had to pay for my daughters breakfast by this stage i accepted this. I have since lodged a complaint with Air Asia Go but have only recieved an apology and that management would look into this.
Access to 1 Borneo shopping mall is through the rear entrance of the hotel and we found this very convienent and ate in the mall most nights at various establishments. the rooms where a bit tired the bed and pillows were comfortable. housekeeping was a bit slap and dash and we had to ask for items at times. wifi was free , breakfast was the same every morning with little change to choices a lot of asian choices but not much for westerners. breakfast was acceptable the quality was only average.the passage ways in the hotel where tired and worn and the air conditioning never seemed to work in these areas. the pool area was good. OK for a short stay but 7 km from town and the beachfront so unless you like shopping not much else to do.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grumpee-58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed at the Grand Borneo for two nights from 6th December 2012 mainly to catch up with friends who live and work in KK. Check-in was quick and professional and with a smile. The hotel layout is strange with a massive lobby and lifts hidden along a short corridor and around a corner. There is a door from this corridor straight into the huge mall which adjoins the hotel. The de-luxe room on the 12th floor was on a corner of the building and very spacious with a large bathroom. Fixtures and fittings looked a little tired and battered here and there but were fine. Some idiot had touched up the white ceiling paint and spattered the brown leather-look armchair. It's a shame how this happens all too often. The bed was firm but comfortable and with spare pillows available. I enjoyed the bath and separate shower with rainhead and plenty of hot water. An in-room safe was useful and accommodated a 15inch laptop computer with ease. The battery in the safe was on the blink and needed replacing. Towels were threadbare and scruffy on the first day but replaced with fluffy ones on the second day. Free in-room wired internet access (with your own computer) was either only just adequate or a complete waste of time. Free wi-fi in the lobby worked very well and many guests seemed to use this facility. Breakfast was typical Asian fare with some western items such as stone-cold baked beans and fried frankfurter sausages. An egg station produced the usual items but I found them all a bit oily for my taste. I got the impression that the western items were all done on the cheap as the cornflakes were of poor quality as was the bread, jam and marmalade etc. More like two star food than four star. The first morning the breakfast room was like a sauna even though the air-con seemed to be blowing. The second morning was much better, though still quite warm. Breakfast room staff were attentive and pleasant. After the second day's breakfast I was locked out of the room by the keycard system. I trundled down to the lobby to rectify this problem and found I was not alone. Fortunately it only happened once. The room doors are very heavy and well sprung. This led to a some noise from other guests banging doors closed at all hours. Sadly, those same guests thought little about others as they shouted and conversed loudly in the corridors. As others point out this hotel is not in a prime location but for a short stay it is fine. If you want to be on the KK seafront this is not the hotel for you...

Room Tip: Although I did not enjoy a Mount Kinabalu view it might be something to ask for when booking....
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews