We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that Grand at all”
Review of Grand Borneo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Borneo Hotel
Ranked #64 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Was here Sept 21 to 23 2012, Grand Borneo Hotel is really not that grand at all, I have been to a number of 4 star rated hotel and this one is none at par with those I have been to. The facade and the lobby is nothing to be happy about, plain and typical. Wifi is only available on the ground floor and the 2 cafe/restaurant on the next 2 upper floors.

The rooms were dated and not maintained properly, stains on old carpet, laminates on furniture chipping off, safe box with no batteries (we asked to have new batteries to work). We went to KK in a group and we all paid the same type and rate for our room, but the room that was given to us is small compared to the other rooms, a non standard procedure comapred to other hotels (never complained about this anymore). Our room has a tiny work table just enough to place a laptop, no bath tub and toiletries include only a round soap, shampoo and a liquid body soap... I was expecting at least a set of cotton buds, a bottle of lotion, a comb and a shower cap, things that I was able to see even in a 3 star hotel.

Location of the hotel is a no-no for those who want nightlife coz it is quite far from the city area where bars and clubs can be seen. The hotel is on top of a not so huge shopping mall that closes at 9 pm, after that there is nothing much to do in the hotel. Though they (mall) have a shuttle service going into the city it is only till 930 pm, taxi cabs costs around 30 ringgit for a 20 mintute travel to city.

Breakfast buffet is rated 4 out of 10, asian food (nasi lemak) for 2 days and all are the same. Limited choices.
Swimming pool is small but enough for a few good laps.
Has a gym but I wasn't able to check it.

Given a choice, I would rather check in at a highly rated hotel in Tripadvisor at a lower price but better quality and location.

Room Tip: Choose higher level rooms facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nielskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 370 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed for 4nights with family of 5 (with young kids) and had booked 2 deluxe rooms. Reception staff were polite. Check in was ok (we arrived about 6pm, so no crowds) but we were put in 2 rooms on the 6th and 7th floor. The rooms were fairly decent in size, with a view of a parking lot. Furnishings of the hotel were generally tired-looking and worn. The pool (L3) was outdoors but sheltered, consisting of an adult pool and a children's pool adjoining it. Not much patronised while we were there so the kids had the pools pretty much to themselves. The gym was temporarily closed (not quite sure why) so hubby was rather disappointed as he wanted to work out.
Breakfast was served on L2 (Soul Out Restaurant), buffet style with a modest selection. The dishes were mostly asian but had standard fare like waffles, corn flakes, toast. The variety rarely changed for the days we were there.
The convenience of the hotel is because of the adjoining supermall. If you want to indulge in a bit of shopping, the mall might be a good alternative to the shops in KK centre. The mall also offers a fairly good range of fastfood restaurants and other eateries. There is also a Giant hypermarket, convenient if you need to pick up emergency supplies like toothpaste or just for snacks!
All in all, it had been a comfortable stay but I would probably not rate the hotel as 4 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTang17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank 509fcs509
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

It was an average hotel.room moderately spacious. some looks aging. bathroom lock spoilt and i was locked inside. lamina floor some part aging.. staff friendly. attached to a big shopping mall..but night life not much here. its not complete if u dont sit by the beach if u r in kk while having cold beer or wine. so this might not be perfect one.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrFlo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed in the Superior room here... Very deluxe rooms, incredibly clean, comfortable and with a touch of class. Polite and helpful staff. Fantastic food at the buffet and with a weekly stir-fry night they had on at the time.

It's located right on top of the Hypermall which is good for a little bit of shopping and entertainment. The city centre was about a 20 minute taxi ride from the hotel which I would probably say was the only slightly bad thing about our stay !

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renegade_angel85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Grand Borneo was great for our week's vacation. Our room was spacious with complete amenities and quite clean. The front desk staff was most helpful. It is some distance from the city center but there is a free hourly shuttle service ; during the off hours, taxis and commuter buses are readily available. Being within 1 Borneo Mall more than makes up for its being outside the city; there are enough boutiques to shop from, grocery for supplies, and a wide selection of food. At any rate, the city can be visited in one day; KK's 2 biggest attractions are the National Park and island-hopping and one's home-base has no bearing in doing this. Gaya Street Market is really fun so visiting on a Sunday is highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamierda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The room was cosy with modern decoration. I was staying at the executive suite room and definetly it was a great room. Everything was tip top except the food. Anyhow, it wasnt that matter because this hotel is located inside the 1Borneo Hypermall and you could walk out and eat outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for deluxe or superior deluxe room, or else go for suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cintame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
5.7 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#36 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
249 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#20 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
545 reviews
0 mi away
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
#78 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
346 reviews
6 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#22 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Klagan Regency
The Klagan Regency
#70 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Borneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Borneo Hotel

Address: D'Borneo Hotel TA-00-01, 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $35 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Borneo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Borneo Hotel, a fast growing home-grown brand, makes its debut in the pulsating tropical wonders of Kota Kinabalu. This 325-room property of modern chic deluxe class forms an integral part of the largest mall in Sabah - 1Borneo Hypermall - an entertainment complex with over 400 stores of leisure, entertainment and culinary delights. This international class hotel caters to business travelers as well as holiday makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Borneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing