We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Hostel, Great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge

Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Good Hostel, Great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here in a private room with 3 friends, 4 people private rooms costs 98R which is a reasonable price and it is in a decent location. The showers were outside and had good pressure and temperature. The beds were average dorms beds and there was good air con. The staff were very helpful with directions and suggestions.

A very good hostel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacko111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
4
11
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

It were some nice stays except the floorboards and the weakly insulated wall panels. Others than that, awesome! nice staff!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yowong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here, at three different times. The longest being a week.
The deck out back was great for relaxing, the staff were awesome! Really helpful and knowledgable.

I noticed a review on here mentioned they have no double rooms, that's incorrect, my double room is sunny, and the bed is a King.
It's popular and the double rooms book out quickly.

Shared bathrooms are cleaned daily. 2 showers, 2 toilets.

The free breakfast is sufficient, but I found a great place for Roti close by.

Cable TV

Not too busy, no rowdy groups of young backpackers hanging around drinking and smoking to disturb your slumber.

Good for couples, families, and friends traveling in pairs.

Short walk to restaurants, malls, the harbour and Sunday Market.

Wifi reasonable speed when you have it to yourself.

No bed bugs.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R_Kitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

I spent a fair while investigating hostels before choosing Travellers light for my stay in KK. I love the Australia place location (all of the hostels here back onto the forest, and no traffic at all). And at 60 RM/night it was slightly cheaper than the two places next door. (Though there are better deals in KK, I don't think you will find better than 50RM/night for a double).

The staff, Jojo and Wilma, were super helpful, and really went out of their way to make my stay great.
Room had 4 beds, but they only charged me a double price. Hostel has two computers, but they charge 2RM/30min to use it (usually free at most guesthouses).

Bathrooms are all shared, but hostel is so small that you never need to wait for them. The only gripe I have is with the floorboards, which creak and complain outside your bedroom whenever anyone walks on them. During the day this is only a mild annoyance but it is a bit bothersome at night if people come home late. Try and pick a spot at the end of the hallway if you can. However, sleep was still no problem for me.

Not exactly a party place, but still a nice vibe, and I would definately stay here again. The only negative review of this place is from Feb, 2011, by someone who wanted to sook at TL, other than that this place would be 4 stars on Tripadvisor and ranked in the top #10.

Room Tip: Away from the street (i.e. facing the forest) and far down the hall as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutchcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Good place to be although they turn off aircon during the day. Clean rooms, free wifi, quiet place with a nice terrace.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakobane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

We found this place by chance after heading to the recommended place for KK (kota kinabulu) in one of the guide books and found is was terrible.
This place was the exact opposite! nice staff, nice clean rooms, granted we where in an 8 bed dorm but it was spotless and the aircon worked fine. The showers are on the upstairs patio area but they work fine and it's nice to feel the air on you whilst showering as KK is extremely hot and humid!
The guys here even helped us with a car rental we had arranged. For the prices for dorms in Malaysia that little bit higher than the rest of SEA this place is awesome!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daviddwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in a dorm. I have to say the room was rather small for an 8 bed dorm but was comfy with aircon. You do take a shower on the patio haha but it's ok. Clean and hot water is all you need. Close to town. Good value in Malaysia.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwilea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Borneo Backpackers
Borneo Backpackers
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.6 mi away
PODs The Backpackers Home
PODs The Backpackers Home
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
#19 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masada Backpacker
Masada Backpacker
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
6.4 mi away
SKYPOD Hostel
SKYPOD Hostel
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge

Property: Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge
Address: Lot 19 Lorong Dewan | Sabah (borneo), Kota Kinabalu 88300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WARM GREETING FROM BORNEO TRAVELLERS LIGHT¦ Travellers' Light is Clean, Cozy, Comfortable and one of the new lodge in city center. We are Safe and Convenience, the Police Station is our neighbor. Also having the exotic rain forest at our backyard garden which you will observe and hear the butterflies and birds in their natural habitat. 'CLEANLINESS IS OUR TOP PRIORITY' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing