We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet place, awesome staff... PLEASE fix the floorboards!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge

Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet place, awesome staff... PLEASE fix the floorboards!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

I spent a fair while investigating hostels before choosing Travellers light for my stay in KK. I love the Australia place location (all of the hostels here back onto the forest, and no traffic at all). And at 60 RM/night it was slightly cheaper than the two places next door. (Though there are better deals in KK, I don't think you will find better than 50RM/night for a double).

The staff, Jojo and Wilma, were super helpful, and really went out of their way to make my stay great.
Room had 4 beds, but they only charged me a double price. Hostel has two computers, but they charge 2RM/30min to use it (usually free at most guesthouses).

Bathrooms are all shared, but hostel is so small that you never need to wait for them. The only gripe I have is with the floorboards, which creak and complain outside your bedroom whenever anyone walks on them. During the day this is only a mild annoyance but it is a bit bothersome at night if people come home late. Try and pick a spot at the end of the hallway if you can. However, sleep was still no problem for me.

Not exactly a party place, but still a nice vibe, and I would definately stay here again. The only negative review of this place is from Feb, 2011, by someone who wanted to sook at TL, other than that this place would be 4 stars on Tripadvisor and ranked in the top #10.

Room Tip: Away from the street (i.e. facing the forest) and far down the hall as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutchcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
4
11
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Good place to be although they turn off aircon during the day. Clean rooms, free wifi, quiet place with a nice terrace.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakobane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

We found this place by chance after heading to the recommended place for KK (kota kinabulu) in one of the guide books and found is was terrible.
This place was the exact opposite! nice staff, nice clean rooms, granted we where in an 8 bed dorm but it was spotless and the aircon worked fine. The showers are on the upstairs patio area but they work fine and it's nice to feel the air on you whilst showering as KK is extremely hot and humid!
The guys here even helped us with a car rental we had arranged. For the prices for dorms in Malaysia that little bit higher than the rest of SEA this place is awesome!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daviddwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in a dorm. I have to say the room was rather small for an 8 bed dorm but was comfy with aircon. You do take a shower on the patio haha but it's ok. Clean and hot water is all you need. Close to town. Good value in Malaysia.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwilea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

Ok if you want a dorm room but don't bother with a double - they don't exist.

Despite what the staff tell you, the showers are not ensuite (although showering on the communal patio area might be considered 'private' by some?!

Shockingly bad value for money compared to other places within 2 mins walk.

AND I got bitten by bed-bugs.

AVOID!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matb4704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

uk
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

Finding this place was a little difficult, but worth the walking around. We stayed for one night before heading up the mountain, then came back for another night before leaving KK. It's incredibly quiet being away from the noisy traffic, unlike most of the other places. Clean and basic, but definitely value for money.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manj39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
#11 of 96 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bunk Gaya Street
The Bunk Gaya Street
#13 of 96 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masada Backpacker
Masada Backpacker
#2 of 96 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
#20 of 96 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
X-Plorer Backpackers
X-Plorer Backpackers
#51 of 96 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Borneo Backpackers
Borneo Backpackers
#16 of 96 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge

Property: Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge
Address: Lot 19 Lorong Dewan | Sabah (borneo), Kota Kinabalu 88300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WARM GREETING FROM BORNEO TRAVELLERS LIGHT¦ Travellers' Light is Clean, Cozy, Comfortable and one of the new lodge in city center. We are Safe and Convenience, the Police Station is our neighbor. Also having the exotic rain forest at our backyard garden which you will observe and hear the butterflies and birds in their natural habitat. 'CLEANLINESS IS OUR TOP PRIORITY' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing