We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable with good location and nice communal space”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable with good location and nice communal space”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Spent 4 nights in the dorms here, overall would recommend. Staff are friendly and knowledgable, location is fine (although KK is pretty small). Easy to get bus to and from airport.

Nice communal area with lots of space. It never felt crowded although the place seemed pretty full over Chinese new year. Would recommend for a few days stay in KK.

One downside was that the quality of the beds seemed pretty variable (moved around a bit due to it being full and used 3 beds, one of which was terrible, one was ok and one was good).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    45
    30
    9
    9
See reviews for
4
42
47
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

One of the best hostels I've stayed in in Southeast Asia!
Fan dorm 25R/night, AC dorm 30R/night, breakfast incl. Very good value!
Good facilities, big commonroom with free computer use, good wifi, TV, books, friendly and helpful staff, 24h free drinking water, tea and coffee, nice and clean dorms and bathrooms, good laundry service, good lokation.
Breakfast is only toast, but thats what's usual in Southeast Asia.
The only BUT...
Suspected bed bugs at my stay in Dec. Woke up with terribly itching rashes on my legs, looked suspiciously much lika bed bug bites... Told the staff who immediately took a look in my bed, cleaned it with some kind of chemicals and changed bed linen. They didn't find any trace of bed bugs, but there was sure something that bit my legs, NOT mosquitos. The staff was however very helpful and concerned.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEIKHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The toilets were very dirty and there wasnt AC, just fans on the ceilings. we had booked it for two nights (private room), but we stayed only for one night and went hotel. Location was good, breakfast was just a toast with jam, horrible butter and tee. Poor. This place not value for money. I wont recommend this for anyone, except if you dont mind bugs, terrible toilets (showers wasnt even worth to try) and dirty linens.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ainoinari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Location is perfect: Located in Gaya Street it is just few minutes walking time from varieties of local delicacies, bars, shopping complexes.
Security is good as they change the security password almost everyday.
There's also free wifi and pc with internet for our use.
Great price: With MYR30 it is one of the best value budget hostel around. They even serve breakfast FOC.
However sleeping is not an entirely desirable experience over here as there I woke up a lot during the night for scratching activities. I don't really sure what caused that but it sure look like bug bites after a check in the morning.
I would still recommend this place for people considering its superior location, price and service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChewPohsiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed here for a week (i was doing my padi open water) and it was one of the best hostels I stayed in around borneo. I originally stayed down the road at borneo gaya lodge which was not that great (no windows!) and I'm glad I did. the communal space is open where you can meet people or just chill out. the dorms are clean and cheap, 25 myr. close to good food restorans, try the laksa next door for breakfast! I also went to kuching for 3 days and they let me leave my big luggage bag for free.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livesimply5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The room is clean and it has a great living hall to chill or a chit chat talk. The receptionist is nice and have a lot of great deal of cheap tour packages compare to the outside market. Eg, 2D1N Mt Kinabalu climb. Free internet and wifi available too.

The location is good and right behind the Sunday market, which is one of the attraction of Gaya street. It's a good place to have a fun stay at KK.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WongHaYung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night , arrived at about 8pm. They only had mixed dorm with air con left which was fine . But 30 rm is a lot for a bed. But Malaysia is more expensive than the rest of Asia except Singapore . The main are was good with plenty of break out space . You get toast for breaky but the toaster was terrible. Free wifi and coffee when ever you want . Good locTion for most things . Was clean and fresh bedding . Toilets need a lil tlc apart from that wAs happy. Staff are friendly

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quins15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mandarin Hotel
Mandarin Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#4 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akinabalu Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akinabalu Youth Hostel

Property: Akinabalu Youth Hostel
Address: 1st Floor, No. 133 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Akinabalu Youth Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Akinabalu Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akinabalu Youth Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Akinabalu Youth Hostel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing