We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Sleeping Bed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Klagan Regency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Klagan Regency
Ranked #56 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Bangkok
1 review
“Best Sleeping Bed”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

This is my first time to a Novotel hotel on Business and having traveled a long journey. I must stay the beds at the Novotel is so comfotable and the rooms are clean. From the moment of check in the Reception staff are so friendly and always smiling.. Check in was speedy and the Bellboys were so helpful in assisting me with my luggage.
I am very impressed with the Service standards and will certainly return as my stay here was great.... comfortable clean rooms and wonderful staff.....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandablues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    288
    207
    94
    60
See reviews for
205
193
55
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2011

I am always traveling around for business and meeting, so its important for me to have a good night sleep. Choosing a hotel its always a hassle for me. Thank you for tripadvisor recommendation I come to find NOVOTEL. Despite all the bad comments written, I choose this hotel.
I am really impressed and glad actually to stay in this hotel. All the hotel staff are friendly, rooms are clean and free internet in the room. I actually have a good night sleep, the bed are so comfy...
Keep it up!!!! Your hotel rocks!!! I'll be coming back again this time with my family...
Thank you Novotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaChu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Good Meeting and Great time in this Hotel with our Partners
Great Room as Novotel
Thanks to all staff's.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

I have spent three nightrs at the Novotel with my partner. Tip when reading the reviews be wary of the 1 contribution tripadvisor reports for this hotel!
There is much to like about this hotel but also many minor annoyances.
I'll start with the positive. The room rate is very good value, especially if you get a deal with free wifi in your room and breakfast. Breakfast is the standard 4 sar hotel fare. It does though most of the cooked food tends to be more in line with asian tastes - not even beef bacon. The freshly cooked eggs are very good! The rooms though on the small side are very clean, well maintained, good flat screen tv but only 5 channels for english speakers, 2 sport, disney, bbc and movie station. The pillows are excellent bu those who prefer a softer bed will find the beds very unforgiving - my wife prefers a hard mattress and found it a non issue - opoosite for me. The hotel pool is an aceptable area - it is though not an inviting area, few plants, starting to show it has not been maintained in a while and very few lounge decks. If you are lucky enough to get one they are very comfy. We found all but 1 of the staff to be very friendly and helpful - especially the waiters in the restaurant. The lifts are quick and efficient. The hotel is attched to a very large shopping Mall. The mall has a lot of shops but not many shoppers! It has a few good things for children, bowling, internet games and a very good picture theatre with latest release movies - very cheap! There are no quality restaurants, the KK food blog are correct when they say that most of the restaurants are 2 to 3 stars out of 5! There are the usual food chain restaurants from KFC, Pizza Hut to malaysian chians such as secret reicpe. The La Feunte near the entrance to Novotel is ok and the Fish Market near the Grand Borneo ahs very good fish and chips for $6.

Not so good. It is long way from KK and anything else. If travelling in Sabah and this your base I would recommend hiringa car. Malaysian tour prices are expensive - almost wetsern prices. i.e a tour to the Monosipiad Cultural Centre is 175 rm a person. 65 entrance and 110 RM to get their which is a 30 minute bus ride!! Tip negotiate a a fare with taxi driver and check the times for the shows ( i only rate the centre a 2.5 out of 5 at best though!)
The special new year seve buffet was a joke. Advertised turkey, tenderloin and seafood on ice at 88RM but none of these items were available. Tip look at what is on offer before agreeing to the meal. The new Years day Buffet at 32 RM though was good value!
Our only complaint was on check in we were allocated the wrong room. Booked a Premier Club Room on top floors, were allocated a standard room on the 7th. Very tired from travelling so we waited to next day to argue the point. The mistake was corrected immediately and we were allocated an upgarde to their very nice Premier Suite Room!
The Premer Room benefits are not good value though! The rooms are nicer and do have good views but the Premier Room is ordinary when compaed to other Novotels we have stayed in. Too cold in the room, no view, canapes are very poor and you only get mocktails not cocktails - the mocktails are nice though.I suggest the hotel manager send someone to a place like Novotel Clark Quay to see how a good premier room operates!!
My recommendadtions is that this hotel best suite s families who are after a nice hotel with good facilities at a very fair price or as a stop over hotel for 1 - 3 nights if you are on a budget - as it is 100 rm or so less than comparable in the city hotels

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Thank for your warm welcome and your very good care of your guest .
Hope to camback soon

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Multicash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2010

The service was exclent 7 friendly staffs,room was clean& linen were so clean &fresh,the room maids are very helpful,my room smell so fresh .Thank you so much to the excellent housekeeping staffs,great staffs. Thank you to supervisor Dickson and Roslind for your excllent service.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kumaribrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#67 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
354 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
304 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#48 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
413 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
420 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Klagan Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Regency

Property: The Klagan Regency
Address: Tb-00-01 | 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia (Formerly 1 Borneo Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Klagan Regency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 25-minute drive from the Kota Kinabalu International Airport, The Klagan Regency offers exceptional comfort and value in Kota Kinabalu. The hotel has direct access to 1Borneo Hypermall which houses a selection of over 300 shopping, leisure and dining outlets. The Klagan Regency is also an excellent venue for any events with the capacity to hold up to 1,800 persons. It's close proximity to many corporate and government offices as well as several tourist attractions in Kota Kinabalu, making this the preferred hotel for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Klagan Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Accor Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Novotel
The Klagan Regency Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing