We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather shabby hotel on the outskirts of KK”
Review of The Klagan Regency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Klagan Regency
Ranked #68 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Hotel has rather distant location from both airport (taxi cost around 50-60 ringits) and city centre, so, location is definitely not this hotel's advantage. As for interiors - have never met Novotel property that shabby - furniture looks dated, basic amenities ( including slippers) are absent from room by default. Mall, which surrounds the hotel, is rather shabby, as well - still, it's ok for buying some necessities/food.

As for in-hotel dining options - we had had kinda disasterous experience - majority of dishes in Malay restaurant were absent ( their excuse was, that they've ran out of ingridients), had to end a day with french fries + sandwich with local beer (which, have to admit, was rather good).

With regards to room price - yes, it's low ( ~75 USD in case of booking just one day in advance), however, next time I would prefer to add some money and book less weary hotel with more central location.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Alexeich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Alexeich,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo. We do apologise and it is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with your room and facilities.

Your feedback has been shared with our relevant team members for their review and rectification, to ensure we meet the expectation of our guests. We sincerely also apologise for the obvious lapse in service during your in-hotel dining experience.

It is feedback such as yours that enables us to adjust and better serve our guests and meet their satisfaction. We hope this experience will not alter your confidence in Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo and that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 843 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

Upon arrival I was welcoming by Manager and Bellman at the entrance. The staff(lady) who checked in me was NO SMILE AT ALL OR NOT EVEN EXPLAIN MORE FACILITIES about hotel. In progress of check in, a Chinese Guest approaching the same counter with me and he reported something about his room maybe but in Chinese Speaking. The staff named, MILDRED replied him in very rude intonation and ask guest to explain in English. She IGNORE the guest until the guest left. This was first impression to me. What are the surprises when a Guide approaching counter and speak Chinese to the staff I had mentioned. She exactly CAN SPEAK CHINESE VERY, VERY WELL. Why she need pretending in front of guest which need help? What are the rude staff ! She not helpful and not professional at all. Her behavior wasn't EQUIVALENT to her position as Supervisor !
Related to room condition and environment is good, big and comfort bed and pillow. Excellent access to 1 Borneo Mall which means brilliant for shopping and leisure activities after work. SURE WE WILL BE STAYING HERE FOR OUR NEXT BUSINESS TRIP AGAIN .

Room Tip: Higher floor much better for Relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poerwanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Poerwanti,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and comments regarding your recent stay with us.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the problem you witnessed and experienced during your stay. Your feedback has been shared with the team for their review and rectification.

We're glad that you enjoyed the room and hope that it met with your comfort needs. We thank you for your patronage and hope to se you back with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I have previously stayed in this hotel and this time around I must say that the condition of the room has deteriorated and i am referring to the premier executive suites.
I stayed here for 6 nights and from the first day i highlighted the problem with the toilet which was never fully takencare of and the problem persisted until the last day of my stay.
The room was infested with ants which was shocking. The carpet was dirty and the bed linen didnt look very clean.
The water was clogged in the sink, bathtub and the toilet...
The buffet at the Square Restaurant was ok but the management should take the initiative to change the menu considering that you advertise yourself as a 4 star hotel. The only consolation was that there was an adjoining shopping complex with plenty of choices.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preedheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Preedheep

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu, 1Borneo!

We would like to thank you for staying with us at Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We sincerely apologise for the unpleasant experience during your recent stay. We're looking into the issues that you highlighted and will be reviewed and rectified to ensure such incident does not repeat itself.

We thank you once again for your feedback and patronage. Do let us know if you require any assistance from us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank jeremy a
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel with my sister family. We love that the hotel is attached with a shopping mall and cinema. Try the Novotel Burger at the Square, great taste. Special mention to one of the Engineering staff that fix our aircond the first night we stayed, Mr Sumasta. Will definitely come back.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Kittyparamore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for two wonderful nights. Friendly front office personnel. Special mention for the Sales Manager, Ms.Dawn who made our stay wonderful. Great food at the Square Restaurant. Convenient for shopping and food outlets.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muniswaran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
5.5 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#15 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#62 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
369 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#35 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
480 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
729 reviews
6 mi away
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Sabah Oriental Hotel
#44 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Klagan Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Regency

Address: Tb-00-01 | 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia (Formerly 1 Borneo Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $53 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Klagan Regency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 25-minute drive from the Kota Kinabalu International Airport, The Klagan Regency offers exceptional comfort and value in Kota Kinabalu. The hotel has direct access to 1Borneo Hypermall which houses a selection of over 300 shopping, leisure and dining outlets. The Klagan Regency is also an excellent venue for any events with the capacity to hold up to 1,800 persons. It's close proximity to many corporate and government offices as well as several tourist attractions in Kota Kinabalu, making this the preferred hotel for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Klagan Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Accor Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Novotel
The Klagan Regency Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing